We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Maun, Botswana
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“wonderful surprise”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This jewel close to Kruger Park surprised us all over: the view on arrival, the sighting of lions and wild dogs within the first game drive, the quality and originality of the food, the warm family feeling, the face to face with black rhino on a walk, the view from our tent over the waterhole, the only 4 tents which doesn't allow for crowds, ... I had to write this down ! Hope you ever get there to be surprised.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Everaerdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    38
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
166
325
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Sausage Tree Safari camp is a great place for an intimate and very personal "owner managed" bush experience in luxury tents. James and Sonya and their adorable 2 dogs make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive and throughout your stay. The chef, Orlando, knows his way around a kitchen and served the most delicious food and freshly baked bread, rolls and rusks daily. With only 4 tents and a maximum of 8 guests, the experience is very personal and intimate. We only stayed for 2 days and had 4 great game drives with Mike the ranger and Temba the tracker. The highlight for us was to see a black rhino in the wild - a very special treat! We had a great and most enjoyable visit and would highly recommend the camp.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

First of all let me tell you, whatever you're expecting, the experience at Sausage Tree Safari Camp exceeds it. We spent two weeks travelling accross South Africa and Sausge Tree Camp was our first stop...the place is cosy and small (just few tents) and so we were lucky enough to be alone, just two families with kids, in the middle of one of the most spectacular wild scenery I have ever seen! Indeed from the balcony of the main house your eyes roam until the Drakenberg mountains sweeping a huge area of bush. We had a wonderful guide,,, we felt it was not just a job for him to take guests through safaris.... it was his life and this makes the difference. I would like to talk about the dinners around the fire,,, what a memorable malva pudding! and Sonia, a special host who made us really fall in love with South Africa! You must choose this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo30061967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

What can I say...

It was pure joy!

Two puppies, Mildred and Josephine, run up to the car to greet us, followed by the hostess of our two night stay, Sonja. She welcomes us with open arms. We felt at home the moment we set foot in the camp as we are served with delicious fruity drinks after our long drive.

We arrived just in time for the last game drive of the day and lucky for us, it was a drive to remember. The sight of a huge buffalo herd and a beautiful african sunset was quickly followed by the sight of a young male lion chewing his way through a fresh, young giraffe kill! Our brave tracker, Themba, sat and watched from the front of the land cruiser only 3m away! Amazing. But this young lion didnt wander alone... Not far from where he was enjoying his dinner, 3 lionesses and 4 very young cubs waited for their turn to eat! The cubs came very close to our land cruiser, sniffing at the air, and checking us out. Their little kitten growls and purrs echo in the night and we all giggle at how adorable they are. What a blessing to see these animals so at peace and healthy. They didnt mind our presence at all. Mike, our game ranger, showed such respect for the animals and proceeded with care and caution as not to disturb these beautiful creatures. You can certainly tell that he loves the animals that crosses his path.

A Civet welcomes us home at the gate of our camp. A VERY rare sighting. We returned home for our own delicious dinner made by our very capable chef, Orlando. It is his fault that I could barely breath that night. I can't remeber the last time i enjoyed my dinner so much. Falling asleep to the sound of jackals and lions, with a belly full of gourmet munchies, inside a luxury tent isn't something that happens everyday. One must savor these moments.

A welcome 6am wakeup call. Seems very early for a holiday morning, but our first game drive of the day delivers, as we spot an array of smaller creatures and beautiful birds but probably the most unexpected sighting was that of an enormous female red roman spider, heavily pregnant and blinded by the daylight, she burrows into our game drivers hands as she tries to find a safe place to lay her eggs. We must have interupted her in her quest. Mike returns her to safety of the shade. We return home for breakfast. Orlando has prepared all the favorites, including cherry muffins! Yummy!

We have some time at leisure after breakfast, so we spend it on reading, playing with the puppies, and long naps. One also has the option to go for a swim, or make use of the WiFi network to send some emails. Or one could just lie on the deck next to the pool, with a large cocktail, and enjoy the view of the bushveld at your feet.

A quick light lunch and soon we are off to our final game drive of our short stay. Mike and Themba are up to something again... We know this because we cant understand what they are saying to each other, and the radio signals them into a direction and the land cruiser speeds up. A few minutes later we come to a sliding halt as Themba spots the lone Black Rhino. He stares at us for a minute or two and approaches slowly, but he loses his nerve. We got here just in time before he scoots into the thick of the bush. Time for some sundowners. We enjoy our drinks on a large look out point over a small dam on the bush flats. The sunset is breathtaking. Our last evening is turning out to be a wonderful success, but its not over. When we get back into the land cruiser we get lucky again. Two lionesses on the move! They walk next to our land cruiser for some time and we get to take some amazing photographs of the one laying in the grass right next to the car. We couldnt ask for more. Only the amazing steak and portuguese chicken dinner waiting at home could make this evening even better.

After dinner, I feel relaxed, stuffed to the brim and a little sad. We are leaving the next morning. I go to bed thinking of how soon we can make plans to return.

As we say goodbye to Sonja, James (owner), Themba and Mike, i realize how fortunate we've been to have had such amazing accommodations. The puppies are there for the sendoff, and I kiss them good bye (secretly i want to take them home with me. They're so cute)
But i leave knowing that i'll see them again soon... This place is amazing and I am coming back. No doubt.

Thank you so much for an amazing two night stay. It was perfection.

Room Tip: They are all equally wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Hi,

Easy to find, James and his wife are fantastic, they know how to make you confortable.
The tents are nice, confortable and we have the possibility to take the shower outside.
There is two Game drive per day, and if you are lucky (I was not) you will be able to see big boy.
Please enjoy.

Thx

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThierryIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We spent two weeks touring Southern Africa and chose Sausage Tree as our final destination before heading home. We wanted game drives as well as a relaxing location and Sausage Tree didn't disappoint. The camp is intimate having four pretty lodges; we had a hammock on our private terrace which was easy to fall asleep upon to the sounds of Africa all around you. Dinner is served around the boma and the chef, Orlando, never failed to impress. At first we thought the game drives might be a bit tame as we had been around Botswana and Kruger the past 12 days and thought we had seen it all, however we were wrong! We had the best lion encounter on a night drive - two male lions were so close to the vehicle we could've touched them! Sonja, James, Shadrack, Mandy and Richard were awesome and made our last night in Africa one to remember - a definite must see!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank C and S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Had a great stay at Sausage Tree. very friendly staff, good accommodation, and to top it off....a pool! really enjoyed watching animals come to the nearby waterhole. only thing to watch out for are the odd break ins from the monkeys/ squirrels that like to eat anything that smells good. really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieEllis91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
4.1 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
260 reviews
16.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,718 reviews
19.9 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
437 reviews
3.2 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#1 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,050 reviews
22.3 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sausage Tree Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sausage Tree Safari Camp

Property: Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Address: Cambridge 25, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sausage Tree Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Balule Nature Reserve, Sausage Tree Safari Camp promises rich game viewing and spectacular views, as our boundary with Kruger National Park is open and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains form a majestic back drop. This family operated safari camp pride itself on the warm atmosphere and African safari tented accommodation it offers. Enjoy lantern lit dinners in our boma or open deck under the star studded African sky. Sunrise and sunset safaris in open 4x4 vehicles are the highlights of the day.The Safari Camp:Our African safari-styled tents are nestled in between Marula, Knobthorn Acacia and Sausage Trees and overlook a dry river bed, the bush and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains. Each tent is spacious and built in an elevated position with it's own special view. The tents are fully furnished and have their own private deck and ensuite bathroom with a bath and outdoor shower. Inverter or Eco based Air-conditioners are fitted in each tent ensuring that you stay cool during those warm summer nights... and can even be set to warm during those colder nights in winter. Insect gauze on all the windows and doors keep the insects outside where they belong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Sausage Tree Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sausage Tree Safari Camp South Africa/Balule Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing