We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great camp with stunning view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a great safari camp with stunning views, delicious meals, very friendly and accommodating staff and comfortable luxury tents in a beautiful environment. It has only 4 luxury tents accommodating 2 people each and therefore makes it a very personal experience. The food is fresh, home-baked and deliciously cooked and the chef changed the menu for us in order to accommdate our special wishes with only a few hours notice. For the new owners this camp is a dream come true and you can feel this in any respect as they put all their efforts and love into everything they do to guarantee an unforgettable stay for their guests.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
There are newer reviews for Sausage Tree Safari Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 662 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

I stayed a weekend at the sausage tree lodge and took part on two game drives with the wonderful guides. The staff were warm and inviting, and as a vegetarian I was exceptionally well catered for. The chef was very talented. I saw 4 out of the big 5 as well as a honey badger, which is a rarity in the wild. The guides were exceptional, especially as one spotted a chameleon the size of his palm in the middle of the night. I would definitely recommend this as a getaway, the location is magnificent with wonderful views over the beautiful South African Landscape.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MridulaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

My husband and I spend a night at the sausage Tree Safari camp and were so impressed by the magic view from the deck at our arrival. Our hosts made us part of the family and we appreciated the friendly atmosphere they created. The tents are very cosy and clean with nice linen and a very comfortable bed. We were lucky to hear lions roaring during the night and our very experienced ranger found them for us on the drive in the morning.
We had a fabulous time in this camp and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M_Merrifield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I paricipated in a photography workshop last July, and this camp was the location selected for the workshop.

I flew to the Hoedspruit airport, and was picked up by Sean Pattrick, the photo instructor. I understand, that the camp will also make arrangements to collect you and take you back for a reasonable fee. This is an all-inclusive camp, regarding your meals, but drinks are extra, but very reasonably priced!

The camp caters to families and individuals as well. The camp is fenced in, and while children should be watched at all times, it is fairly safe to walk around without a companion from the camp

My tent (I was traveling solo) had two double beds, two night tables, a huge lockable trunk to secure valuables, and a separate proper bathroom (permanent), with a bathtub, and an outdoor shower, and the hot water is plentiful. The toiletries are upscale, and enjoyed using them.

I was there in early July 2011, and it was bitterly cold, but somehow, under all the blankets, I slept warmly. I noticed there are two large standing fans in the tent, for the warm months, but, having stayed in other camps without A/C in the summer, let me warn you, that it gets hot in the Kruger area!

The dining was wonderful... it felt more like eating with a large group of friends or family. The meals are well-prepared, and delicious! I was introduced to some delicious South African dishes (thank you).

Dan, the manager, takes great pride in this camp, and everything is kept immaculately. Dan also drove us for our photo sessions, and he is very keen and stubborn when it comes to finding the wildlife (a good attribute)!

Truthfully, I spent four wonderful nights in this place. I recommend this camp without any hesitation. I only wish I could go back soon enough... missing the bush!

Room Tip: All the tents seem to have a very good location... let them know in advance if you have dietary rest...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank reginafug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Clean, kindless, professional.
I will go back there next year:)
You have a guide who can organize for you bush drive, there is a lot things to see.
It is better to go there from Nelspruit airport than fron Johannesburg airport, too long trip specially after 10 hours of planes ...
And the food is excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThierryIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We choose this Bush camp mainly because of it's price because we found many of the camps overpriced or just to expensive.
We did not make a mistake. JB was wating for us at the gate and the moment we entered the gate we were in a different world and the safari immidiatly started as well as our guide with explaining the type of annimals we saw and also trees and flowers. Regarding the accomodation; very good and being in a luxury tent also gives you the opportunity to hear all the sounds at night. The bathroom was big and we also had an outsite shower. Regarding the food; excelent and with a good bottle fo wine it was being in a good restaurant. The staff was really amazing and Daniel and the new ranger JB gave us well woth for our money with an total of 7 hours safari trip each day.
If you want the full Kruger experience with the animals, good acomodation, setting and food but without the ridiculous prices most of them charge; Sausagetree is a very good option.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlhenrverh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This camp is right in the heart of the Reserve and boasts stunning views of the mountains. They provided the perfect backdrop for all the amazing wildlife we saw during our trip, including an awesome encounter with 3 white rhino whilst on foot. We were also extremely lucky to see african wild dog 3 times during our stay! The camp staff were exceptional, and the food was excellent. Our room had a stunning view of a waterhole which attracts a wide array of animals and birds. The pool and deck area are a fantastic place to relax. It felt like a home away from home, we didn't want to leave and are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rajhLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
4.1 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
264 reviews
16.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,752 reviews
19.9 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,064 reviews
20.6 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
274 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#3 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sausage Tree Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sausage Tree Safari Camp

Address: Cambridge 25, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: $428 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sausage Tree Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Balule Nature Reserve, Sausage Tree Safari Camp promises rich game viewing and spectacular views, as our boundary with Kruger National Park is open and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains form a majestic back drop. This family operated safari camp pride itself on the warm atmosphere and African safari tented accommodation it offers. Enjoy lantern lit dinners in our boma or open deck under the star studded African sky. Sunrise and sunset safaris in open 4x4 vehicles are the highlights of the day.The Safari Camp:Our African safari-styled tents are nestled in between Marula, Knobthorn Acacia and Sausage Trees and overlook a dry river bed, the bush and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains. Each tent is spacious and built in an elevated position with it's own special view. The tents are fully furnished and have their own private deck and ensuite bathroom with a bath and outdoor shower. Inverter or Eco based Air-conditioners are fitted in each tent ensuring that you stay cool during those warm summer nights... and can even be set to warm during those colder nights in winter. Insect gauze on all the windows and doors keep the insects outside where they belong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sausage Tree Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sausage Tree Safari Camp South Africa/Balule Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing