We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveler rating
133
19
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
19
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kruger national park great sleep wood fire olifants river relaxing vacation great hosts roam freely game drives south african adventure camp fire close to nature big cats thank you so much wonderful memories a wonderful stay wild animals soups
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 156 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2017

My wife, teenage girls and I stayed at Baluleni for 4 nights and had the most fantastic time, it was beyond our expectations, a very special place. We have never been so sad to leave anywhere! The owners Elke and Evert couldn't have been more hospitable, nothing was too much effort. It is a truly wild, remote place yet still very comfortable and luxurious. Just driving down the track to the lodge we saw countless antelope and a herd of 6 elephants in the road! There was even giraffe outside the girls glamping tent as we approached it.
The rangers/guides were brilliant and so knowledgeable, they made it really fun and interesting (even to two teenage girls!) We did evening and morning game drives in Balule (around the lodge) which has the most amazing density of wildlife and we saw lots including elephant and lion there, both under 20 metres from the safari car. We spent the day in and around the lovely swimming pool watching a family of warthogs.
We'd also highly recommend the trip we did with the lodge ranger Matthew to the public part of the Kruger, we had a brilliant day and saw the Big Five as well as lots of other rare species. Also recommended is the Panoramic tour we did with guide Jan. Even with some low cloud the views were stunning.
The food was simply fantastic, 3 course Cordon Bleu dinners etc and lovely to sit outside around the fire in the boma with a sundowner. The talented chef and all of the camp staff were very nice and helpful.
We hired an SUV and, as they had had some very heavy showers it was useful getting up some of the steep slopes on the drive yet some guests managed fine in normal x2 wheel drive cars.
Simply an amazing place. Nick & Elizabeth

Room tip: The chalets at the front have the best views of the game trails and the river but all are surrounded by wildlife.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

Dear Nick, Elizabeth and daughters,

What can we say after receiving a review like yours? A BIG THANK YOU for your kind words!

You are a lovely family and we are happy that you could enjoy your stay with us. It is our motto to provide our guests with a little experience of what Africa can still offer in the wild. When our guests experience the wildlife and nature and we can see and feel their joy, then we can also again appreciate everything through their eyes.
Our staff appreciate what the guests give them - not only in a tip but also in the happiness they see in our guests faces. Many times they would tell us that the guests are kind and happy at Baluleni.
We miss you already and hope we can welcome you one day again at Baluleni.
Love,
Evert, Elke and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017

We stayed at Baluleni as part of our honeymoon trip to South Africa - we didn't know exactly what to expect, but it blew us out of the water!

Elke and Evert have created a little slice of heaven. It was a 4 days of sheer bliss - a relaxing vacation atmosphere in the middle of nature. The property itself was covered in butterflies, and we regularly saw a plethora of animals making their way through the grounds (including fireflies at night!)

Breakfast, lunch, and dinner were all scrumptious, from the delicious soups to the mouthwatering deserts. The staff were all friendly and accommodating, making us feel at home the entire time. We were lucky to have mostly sunny days (perfect for relaxing by the pool), and got an exciting rainstorm as well.

The safari rangers Matthew and Yani were both extremely friendly and knowledgeable. We got lucky enough to see a modicum of animals on every drive, and it's made even better because the rangers excitement is so infectious.

We went for a full day drive in Kruger National Park with Matthew, where we got lucky enough to see the big five all in one day. Although the "big five" seems to get a lot of attention, we found that every animal/tree seems to offer something cool/new to learn from!

Thank you to everyone at Baluleni for providing a highlight to our honeymoon adventure. We hope to make it back one day!

-Patrick and Elisabeth

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

Dear Patrick,

Thank you for your choosing Baluleni for your honeymoon and a BIG thank you for your wonderful review! We and the staff enjoyed your company and already miss you.
We are proud of our staff who try very hard to create a place where our guests can relax in nature and experience the creation, animals, birds, and all the little things.
We wish you a lovely 2017 filled with joy and happiness and are looking forward to welcome you one day again at Baluleni.
Kind regards and love,
Evert, Elke and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2016

A wonderful two-night stay and the only regret, not being able to stay longer this trip. A beautiful setting with delightful hosts, Elke and Evert doing all they can to make you feel at home in their home. I thoroughly recommend to anyone considering a personal safari experience, about as far from a corporate experience as you can find. The two rangers are highly knowledgeable and know the best spots for the wildlife. Special thanks to Matthew for making my stay truly memorable, a wonderful sighting of a mother elephant and her baby - up close and personal.

Room tip: Room 3 has a river view and sitting on the terrace, you'll see a great variety of animals wandering through.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank sw11mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2017

Dear Michael,

Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your review and we also enjoyed your company. We are so happy that you experienced the mother and baby elephant very close to you! Have a wonderful 2017!

Kind regards
Elke , Evert and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2016

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights at Baluleni and our expectations were exceeded! The camp is very relaxing and intimate. Food was delicious, the staff accommodating, clean & comfortable chalets. Our safari guide (and all the staff) were extremely knowledgeable. Wish we were still there and would recommend this safari camp to anyone who wants a more personal, amazing and affordable safari experience. We hope to come back one day!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank s4franci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2016

Dear Spenser and Susan,

Thank you for a wonderful review. We enjoyed your company here at Baluleni. We still wonder how you guessed the shikwambana dessert right! We would like to welcome you back at Baluleni!

Elke and (Evert) and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2016

We picked this place for the reviews that mentioned the possibility to observe wildlife without even venturing on a game drive - we weren't disappointed!
 
Our cottage was a good size, clean and comfortable with a small terrace where we spent a lot of time in the late afternoons watching various animals pass by or chillout by the river.
 
The meals served at set times were very good, and the afternoon tea (with cake) in the main building and the little jars of biscuits and rusks in the room made us feel very well looked after (and well fed!).
 
The hosts are lovely, open and warm, they welcomed us and made us feel right at home from day one.
The game drives were always informative, rewarding and fun. We only meant to have some chillout time here, but ended by going on a few, even on the morning of our flight back to London (thus squeezing the last bit of safari action out of our hols!)
 
It was the perfect place to spend the last 3 days of our South African adventure. Top marks!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank railtripper333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2016

Dear Railtripper,
We are very happy that you were not disappointed when visiting Baluleni Safari Lodge, choosing it on reviews, mentioning the possibility to observe wildlife without even venturing on a game drive. We feel proud to be at the place where you spend your last 3 days of your South African adventure.Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate it. It was a great pleasure to have you here as guests and we enjoyed your company! Hope to see you one day again!
Evert and Elke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews