We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible - great food, facilities, animals and people - and good value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Balule Nature Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Our first safari and our top family trip - ever. Steve along with Vusi are excellent game drivers and we saw Cheetahs, Hippo, Giraffe, Birds, Wildebeest, Warthog, Lions, Zebra, Mongoose, Monkeys, and Elephants - all right around where we stayed. Nicole worries about everything so every detail is covered - she is also a great Massage therapist. The food was fantastic and the rooms large and very nice. Up at 5:30 for a game drive then back for breakfast at 9:30 - down time for swimming, napping, reading or games until lunch then off for evening game drive at 4:30 followed by dinner around a campfire. With only 6 rooms it is a very personal experience - and Nicole and her team do an amazing job of making you feel at home. You can easily pay twice as much - but you won't find a better place to spend your time or money - you will not want to leave!

Room Tip: 2 sleep houses w 3 rooms each all ground level
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flickerstickets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 350 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2011

We had a wonderful time there and during the game drives with steve and wusi. It was our first nights in South Africa and being in the middle of the bush was just incredible! The place is very nice, the people as well and the food was great! Thank you again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emeline_Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We had such a great time at Toro Yaka but only stayed 2 nights, I wish we could have stayed longer. It is a small lodge, very intimate and the owners do everything themselves making us feel very special. They definately know how to run a fantastic lodge.

Steve and Vosi took us out on the game drives and are very very knowlegable and try all they can for you to see as many animals as possible. They are very good at their job and have an excellent eye when it comes to spotting animals!
All of the staff are very nice and they all are more than happy to do as much possible to make sure we have the best possible time there.
I definately want to go back soon and to stay longer, we felt rejuvenated after our stay here as I'm sure we wouldn't have felt if we stayed at a large lodge.
If you want to stay in a lodge at the Kruger, definately stay at Toro Yaka. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MJP85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Terrific stay. Hosts are very friendly, staff great. Beautiful small lodge with personal attention.
Food was fantastic with delicious vegetarian options too. Game drives were great, saw many animals and rarely any other people or vehicles. Steve has a vast knowledge of the bush and we learned a lot! Saw 3 of big5. No lions this time, but they are around, roaming free.
We definitely were pampered here, away from it all, and at a great value.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TCN2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Toutes les chambres sont belles
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaW134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lena97438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Alicia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
21.0 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
405 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
264 reviews
22.6 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,753 reviews
21.5 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
613 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toro Yaka Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toro Yaka Bush Lodge

Address: Sable Road, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: $230 - $954 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner/Manager team Steve & Nicole Baillie would like to invite you to visit Toro Yaka Bush Lodge. This special lodge is nestled in the heart of the Balule Nature Reserve, a 38 000 hectare conservancy, which forms part of the Greater Kruger National Park area. ToroYaka means “My Dream” in Northern Sotho, one of South Africa’s local languages, and the creation of Toro Yaka Bush Lodge has fulfilled the dreams of Steve and Nicole, by establishing a haven of peace and tranquility from which to share their passion for nature. The lodge has been designed in a modern elegant style, with a relaxed atmosphere, allowing guests to sit back, relax and feel at home. The six en-suite double rooms ensure tranquility and comfort at all times. Steve has spent more than a decade sharing his knowledge and love for the bush with clients from all over the world at luxury game lodges throughout South Africa. Nicole is a qualified holistic massage therapist and takes care of all the tiny details. Together with the Toro Yaka Staff, they will ensure your stay to be a memorable one. Balule is home to a large variety of plants and animals. From the smallest spider to the largest elephant, from the tiniest flower to a 1000 year old Leadwood tree, owls at night and eagles by day, every aspect of the ecosystem is explored. The Olifants River, which flows year round through the Balule, is home to hippos and crocodiles, and the whole area is one of scenic splendor, with the northern tip of the Drakensberg mountain range being visible from many points. Together with all of this, Toro Yaka Bush Lodge offers you good home cooked food, friendly service, warm South African Hospitality and loads of enthusiasm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge South Africa/Balule Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing