We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Paradise!!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed with Sanders and Kim for only a night, but it was amazing. Their property and hospitality were spectacular. The property is on the Oliphant river and there was a momma and three week old Hippo in the river. They BBQed out side on a beautiful deck and we lounged in the pool over looking the river. Sanders made pancakes for breakfast and we really could have stayed longer, absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigerlilykelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    35
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
152
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Soest, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at Kurhula for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay. The owners, Kim & Sander, make you feel as a real guest and do anything possible to make your stay unforgettable. Combined with excellent food and service this is really a place to come back to.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Janp-willem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

My friend and I spent a single night at Kurhula Wildlife Lodge and wished that we had booked more. The surroundings in themselves are magnificent with an overlook of the Olifants river from the nice pool. And the lovely owners Kim and Sander do everything to make you feel welcome and well taken care of! Also the superb accomodation, the three course meal we had in the evening and the big breakfast the next morning (they make it for you whenever you open your eyes and feel like it) were delicous. If you are in the area you shouldnt miss out on a stay at Kurhula Wildlife Lodge :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majsen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

It was a best hotel in our trip in SA. The atmosphere like in one big family! The food were very delicious. Bungalow very clean and tidy. Kim and Sander is very friendly and polite. Very enjoyable place. We will come back, no doubt!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra_Kozhedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wateringen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Great lodge on the olifantsriver. Great view, from your terras you can see the hippo's walking in the river. Very friendly people. Delisious food. price/quality is top. The road to the lodge is a problem for very low cars.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FerryJansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The lodge itself was very nice and the location was also superb! The service provided was also top of the bill and the people there were really very friendly!

Also a nice bonus was that our car was washed every day by the staff for free.

I would highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Arne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed in Kurhula Lodge for 6 nights. Owner couple were friendly and helpful and we got very personal service. With the help of their knowledge we had amazing holiday in Kruger area, and Mozambique. The cottages and lodge area with pool was clean and lovely, food was made from local organic ingredients and it was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mart Väljaots V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
19.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,657 reviews
22.0 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
386 reviews
23.0 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
#1 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
345 reviews
22.1 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
575 reviews
7.3 mi away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurhula Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurhula Wildlife Lodge

Property: Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Address: Parsons Nature Reserve, plot no. 25 | PO Box 1929, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kurhula Wildlife Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge is situated on the banks of the Olifants River in Balule, Parsons Nature Reserve. Balule Private Nature Reserve borders the Kruger Nation Park. Most of the fences between the Kruger Park and bordering private nature reserves have been removed so animals can move around freely. From Kurhula Wildlife Lodge you can acces the Kruger Park for a day trip via the Phalaborwa ((1 hour drive) or Orpen gate (1.5 hour drive). Kurhula Wildlife Lodge is particularly valued for its high personal service, excellent home cooked cuisine and beautiful surroundings. Our aim is not to show our guests the Big Five, but to educate them about the synergy between animals, flora and human being. The best of ‘in the heart of nature’ in combination with western comforts, contributes to a unique experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Kurhula Wildlife Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge South Africa/Balule Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing