We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Game Drives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Priors Marston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Game Drives”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We (family of 2 adults and 3 children 14,12,10) stayed at the bush camp in December. The location is stunning being high set with a great view over the bush. We were greeted by a giraffe ambling along in the distance. The camp is very professionally run, the food quality is good, and the rooms, though not as luxurious as in some of the places we stayed, are tasteful and comfortable. The game drives were outstanding with ranger Piet and tracker Prem going to great lengths to get us views of a black rhino. In one magical drive we went from seeing lion, to giraffe and elephant on the plains, to hippo in the river swimming next to us against the current. Piet was great company and a mine of information on the animals, birds and flora. The next morning there were very few animals to be seen but it was fascinating watching the tracker and ranger working out the movement and location of the game. We stayed 2 days which I would say is the minimum time one should spend here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    39
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
284
537
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Naledi Enkoveni Camp is absolutely everything it proclaims and some... We weren't sure what to expect going into the Bush, but we were completely satisfied with every aspect of our stay (even the bugs...lol). They made for that authenticity of the wild... From Rozanne at reception and throughout the entire stay being the most gracious host; to Shaun and his dry humor weaved in between a wealth of information bestowed on everyone around the breakfast and dinner table; to the house staff who was overly joyed as they tended to our every need with great energy; to the chefs and their masterful creations; to Sydwell and Opua and their knowledge of the bush and the animals; to the bush, where through magnificent creation, God makes obvious His presence as well as His mind and intentions for the world. Thanks to the Baboons in the trees right outside of our lodge and on the roof of every morning serving as natures alarm clock. lol. Thank you Limpy the Lion for allowing us a close up encounter with her and her cubs in the middle of dining on some fresh Impala. Thanks to the Wild Dogs for vacationing at Naledi at the same time we were there making up for the Leopard and his inconspicuousness. And, thanks to all of the other guest from around the world (America, Europe, Asia, Africa...) who confirm that when the cameras stop rolling and the curtains come down, we are all the same and want the same things. Naledi, YOU ROCK! I can't wait to return...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RL1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and had 6 game drives. All the drives were fantastic thanks to the great ranger shaun and tracker oupa. You were great and we loved your stories shaun.

The hotel was managed with a great enthusiasm.
The staff was extremely friendly. Roxanne, the mangeresse, even surprised us with a candle light dinner.

All the guests are having their meals together. This might not be everyones taste, we however liked it as there were lovely people in the group.

Thx,
Lars and Nina

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nire1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at Naledi Enkoveni in October 2013 for our honeymoon. We had the most incredible experience. We arrived late at night, and the staff were kind enough to have saved dinner and set up our own romantic dinner in our room that night. The food is amazing and the staff are even better. Everyone is so friendly, kind, and awesome to talk to. The game drives are wonderful and the drivers and trackers are extremely knowledgable. We had the Impala Lily Suite and the room was beautiful with a great view of the river. We would definitely visit Naledi again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnhomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We just completed a fantastic trip to Naledi. Definitely a fantastic way to do safari in South Africa. For context: I am from Los Angeles, California and traveled with extended family (group of 6) to safari. We stayed for three days at the Bush Camp part of Naledi. I definitely was not an experienced safari traveler. I would not consider myself someone who likes to "rough it" and was skeptical about the idea of spending three days out in the bush. The thought of walking around a "zoo" for three days without any guarantee of seeing the animals did not sound super appealing. I nonetheless joined the family since safari was on the "bucket list." Needless to say, the trip far surpassed what I expected. It was a perfect way to do safari.

Things to know about Naledi. First, the accommodations are fantastic. The pictures on the website do not do the place justice. The rooms are comfortable, air-conditioned, and had a spa-like, luxurious feel to them. I was not "roughing" it at all. There are two camp sites. We are told that Enkoveni is the newer one. We were at Bush Camp, in the Leadwood and Paperbush rooms. They were super comfortable, spacious, clean, cool, etc. They were the type of rooms you'd want to just relax in all day. Second, the food was great. This was the best food we had all trip in South Africa. Third, and this was a surprise, the internet was first rate. I was dreading be out of internet contact the whole time, but the internet here in the bush was better than it was in Capetown at the hotel. The owner used to be an international business traveler and is a strong believer in fast/free internet for guests. It made a huge difference for those of us who have trouble unplugging. I was in the wilderness--yet felt fully connected to the world. It was also great for the kids who were able to do whatever they wanted on the internet while being out on safari.

Naledi is not the most expensive place. It's not the cheapest place. I feel like it's perfectly priced if you don't want budget, but also don't want to pay top dollar for the sake of paying top dollar. I definitely felt pampered and catered to in a first-class fashion, without having to pay top-of-market prices. Talking to the other guests who stayed at multiple places (including places where you pay more), it seemed like we were fortunate enough to find the right place the very first time. Naledi offers luxury at very reasonable prices.

The daily drives/activities are all based in English. The entire camp (which is 6-10 people at Bush Camp; a little more at Enkoveni) goes together. If you have a big enough group, I fully recommend buying out the entire camp. That way you have every meal, every activity, the whole place to your group. This is especially helpful if you have language/cultural differences. I would imagine some difficulty if there was a non-English speaker in a larger English-speaking group. For example, if a group of Chinese speakers or Italian speakers wanted to come, it probably would be easier if there was a group of 6-10; buy out the camp; and have one of the group translate. The mixed group situation might be more complicated.

Definitely stay at least 2 to 3 days. There's no guarantee you'll see the animals you want to see on any particular drive. And even though I thought I wouldn't want to see elephants more than once, the safari changes you. Spend the time here. (Three days is probably max for me, since I'm not a nature nut.) It takes a long time to get there, so spending only one day seems like torture. It also takes a few days to get into the spirit of the place. On the one hand, you want to get into the spirit of a "tracker" who tries to find the animals. On the other hand, you want to get into the spirit of just relaxing in nature. Even if you don't see animals, going on the drives in the beautiful environment, taking naps in the afternoon, swimming in the pool, and feasting on dinner, is a great way to spend the day. It was like spending time at a zen spa retreat.

One last thing I didn't understand before coming: the private game reserve borders Krueger National Park. The animals freely roam from one to the other. The terrain is largely the same. The private game park is plenty large--we spend hours driving around as it is, so didn't miss out on anything. The benefit of the private game park is that the guides can actually drive off-road and follow any animal you spot. At Krueger, you have to stay on the paved roads. And if you spot an animal, it's usually accompanied by twenty other cars in the picture. Now that I've experienced it, this is definitely the way to go.

Definitely a strong recommendation.

Room Tip: Enkoveni is the more renovated camp. Bush Camp is great though. Leadwood is perfect for families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victor90049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at Naledi Enkoveni on our honeymoon for three nights and they were definitely the highlight of our two weeks in South Africa.The entire experience was nothing short of superlative and perfect - right from the outset , the absolutely stunning setting ..our suite overlooking the river where Elephants, Hippos ,Giraffes were spotted. The interiors of the suite so beautifully done up ..one night they decorated the entire place with flowers and candles , set up the bath and left us some wine to enjoy a romantic day in. The drives are fabulous - with the tracker and the guide superbly hospitable and knowledgeable ..we were extremely lucky to see the BIG FIVE as well as out pack of wild dogs. The food at the lodge is out of Masterchef with such attention to detail, presentation, dietary requirements and absolutely divine.
The entire staff is just so extremely polite and go out of their way to make your experience unforgetable. We will definitely recommend Naledi to all friends and family.. what a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrarthanaKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Everything about Naledi is amazing - the staff, accommodation, food, location. I highly recommend a stay at Bushcamp. The Leadwood suite is absolutely amazing.

During our first trip to Kruger, a group of us stayed for our first 2 nights at Naledi and then spent the two following nights on a self drive through the park. Being on safari with the extremely knowledgeable guide & tracker at Naeldi helped us get our bearings prior to setting off on our own inside the park.

Make sure to get explicit directions from the reserve gate upon arrival and follow them closely. Finding the camp can be a bit tricky if your not paying attention (we were distracted by all the animals on the way in and got a bit lost).

Room Tip: The Leadwood suite is a beautiful 2 bedroom cottage. The rooms are separated by a shared kitchen/ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
3.9 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
257 reviews
20.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,684 reviews
23.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
434 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#2 of 20 in Balule Nature Reserve
641 reviews
22.6 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp

Property: Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Address: R40 | Balule Nature reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just four magnificently appointed chalets sleeping only eight people, right in the heart of Big Five country within the borders of the greater Kruger National Park!!!! Without a doubt, Naledi offers you the most personal, intimate experience anywhere In the region – and at a price often less than half of what you would expect to pay elsewhere! At Naledi we only ever have a maximum of eight guests on our game viewer, only eight relaxing on our beautiful swimming pool deck overlooking the river bed and our private waterhole where one can enjoy the daily parade of animals and birds coming to drink and feed in total peace and tranquility. Our lodge is our passion, showing people our private piece of wild Africa our greatest pleasure, and that means introducing you to the bush and all its creatures, from lions and elephants, to antelope and birds is something we always look forward to ! At Naledi you’ll find aircon throughout, delicious meals, elegant surroundings, a fabulously stocked bar, fun, relaxation and excitement in equal portions, but best of all, you’ll arrive as strangers, and leave as friends!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp South Africa/Balule Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing