We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to experience the bush ...will you make you want more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Overall dealing with the Naledi team and staying in the camp was such a great experience that I would definitely recommend it to anyone!
The Naledi team were extremely helpful from answering inquiries prior my booking, accommodating last minute meal changes, preparing a birthday cake for my brother, to making sure we have the best pictures in the bush.
In terms of the camp, we stayed in Enkoveni which had a beautiful view of the river. The atmosphere of the camp was very friendly, cosy, and laid back given the small number of guests which helped make the experience feel more personalized. Meals would be served on 1 table which made it easy for me to meet the other guests and swap stories plus pictures about our drives. Shawn the manager would join us for dinner which gave me an opportunity to ask questions of not just about the animals but about living South Africa itself.
As for the game drives, seeing the animals up close was just amazing! I was able to see the black rhino during my first drive. Since we were in the open bush, we were able to drive up close to the animals... there was an instance that we had a lioness literally less than a feet away from our jeep. Make sure you also try doing the walks in between the drives you'll not only learn a lot about the natural flora and fauna from Vuyani but it gives you a chance to walk off all that great food that they'll serve you.
As someone who's never done a safari before, Naledi was such a great experience that I'll definitely come back for more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Di_CuriousTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,090)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

This place is amazing, there is nothing that is wrong in this lodge.The staff were there for you at all times,they couldn't do enough for you. The food is fantastic, you sit down for every meal around a large table and talk to different people from around the world.Shaun has a wealth of knowledge about the animals etc. We saw and took some great photo's which will remind us of our stay, we will be back.

Room Tip: The impala room was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shennette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Prior to making a reservation at Naledi, I had read the Tripadvisor reviews of the Camp as well as receiving an enthusiastic recommendation from a friend. Neither the reviewers nor the friend were wrong. The Naledi Enkoveni Camp could not have been more comfortable, beautifully situated or hospitable. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were safe, beautifully fed (thank you Max!) and happy. Shaun, our guide and his tracker used every means at their disposal to make sure that we saw the animals we were hoping to see. We enjoyed the beautiful suite we were given, the lovely decks, pool and grounds. Very intimate and lovely. We highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetHarperLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Naledi was recommended by the team at Parker Cottage and Gisela at African Twist Travel and their recommendation was certainly not wrong.

The drive to the lodge was a mini game drive in itself and after a welcome drink and a warning not to leave the doors of our room open, because of some rather mischievous local monkeys, we were shown to a room with plunge pool overlooking the wilds of Balule complete with canopy mosquito net. After a 2 night stay at Bushcamp, we moved locations to Enkoveni for 2 nights with a room overlooking the Oliphants river and nights falling a sleep to the sounds of lions, hippos and baboons in the vicinity.

Despite the comfort of the rooms (and they are really very plush and well equipt), don't expect time to relax whilst you stay as the team have a full agenda for you - an agenda of game drives, eating incredible food, walking safaris or an afternoon on watch at a hide overlooking one of the many waterholes - watch out for visiting elephants and examine the bird life.

The energy and enthusiasm of the teams at both locations make the stay even more special - Kjell, Craig, Sipho and Oupa are out in the bush every day and night and yet you would be forgiven for thinking that they were safari novices as they are as excited by every animal sighting as their guests. A particular highlight was seeing the Big 5 in one game drive and 2 lion cubs within 2ms of the jeep - and this was primarily down to the fact that the Cruisers have a driver and a tracker so you have 2 experts looking for everything that you want to see - from the smallest snake in a tree to a massive bull elephant - whatever you want to see, the team know everything there is to know about them.

After a game drive comes either an incredible breakfast (3 courses) or a light lunch or a 3 course dinner - all loving presented both on the plate and in person by the chefs - before an early night due to a very early start in the morning. 5am wake up call might sounds harsh but the sunrise followed by the excitement of seeing Africa come to life makes it all worthwhile.

The biggest problem with Naledi is that you have to leave - and you will have withdrawal symptoms because Kjell, Craig, Sean, Alicia, Rozanne, Sipho, Oupa and all the others who work behind the scenes make this a true paradise on earth - revealing, caring for and sharing a little piece of magic with their guests - it is a real treat and an honour to be allowed to share it with them all. The sounds of London are really not a patch on the sounds of the bush at night.

We have raved about Naledi since we got back and will continue to do so for many years to come as our photos, taken so close because of the brilliance of the tracker team, will adorn the walls of our home - and maybe, Kjell and team permitting, we will be back because it really is an oasis of calm and worth every penny.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great facilities but Leadwood at Bushcamp has a private plunge pool and views acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adamandkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Naledi was recommended by my brother and wife who live in Jo'burg. 5 of us (John, Jane, Matthew, Mark and Sarah) stayed in the Tusker suite at Enkoveni for two nights and three days and we will go back as soon as we can (It is quite a long way from home in the UK). The position is fantastic, the food fabulous, you are made to feel special from the moment you get there and the wildlife was just great. Alicia and her team were great hosts, and Craig and Oupa showed us some sights that were truly memorable. Limpy (the lioness) and her two cubs were a highlight, a bushwalk with Oupa taught us a lot about local traditions, animals and plants, sundowners with the other guests was great fun and watching giraffes crossing the river in from of you from the pool area makes you realise how close you are to the bush. You are kept busy from dawn to after dusk but it is really worth the experience. I think that when you compare the cost of Naledi with an average London hotel you realise how god value it is.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tusker suite which had a main bedroom overlooking the river with an extra bed for S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Newell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 wonderful nights at Naledi Enkoveni in September this year. From the moment we arrived, we knew we were going to have trouble leaving. Rozanne’s words were ‘welcome to paradise’ and that’s exactly what it was. Everything about this place is just perfect. I spend quite a while reading reviews before choosing a place to stay and we weren’t sure whether to go for Naledi or choose something within Kruger NP (Naledi is located in Balule which is within the Greater Kruger region but there are no fences between Balule and Kruger NP). We wanted to see the big 5 and wanted a luxury accommodation for a few nights (highly recommend you do this, worth the extra $). We’re so glad we went with Naledi in the end – we were lucky enough to see all of the big 5 plus more. Note that while the big 5 (lion, leopard, rhino, buffalo, elephant) are awesome to see – they are not the be all and end all. The term was coined because these were the most dangerous animals to hunt, not because they are the most amazing to see in the wild. I personally loved watching Giraffes, Zebras & especially Hippos. Staying at a private reserve has two main advantages in terms of game viewing... (1) there are less vehicles on the road, therefore no congestion, you almost have the animals all to yourself (2) the guides can drive everywhere (as opposed to being restricted to the road as is the case within Kruger NP). I read this in reviews before we went but only really saw what a massive advantage it is when we were there – our guide and tracker (Sidwell & Ouppa ) got us ridiculously close to the animals – they literally bash through the bush until we are metres away, at which point they turn off the car and we watch the animal in its natural habitat. We were literally a few metres away from a rhino, buffalo and two elephants – that experience is phenomenal.

The day runs as follows…. 5.30am you get a wake up knock at the door, quick coffee then onto the game vehicle at 6am. The game drive lasts about 3.5 hours including a coffee break in the middle of the bush, return to the lodge for breakfast afterwhich you can go on an optional walk or go bird watching or just relax by the pool at the lodge. Lunch is at 2.30pm, followed by the afternoon game drive at 4pm which is again about 3.5 hours, some of which is done in the pitch black darkness with a spotlight – awesome. Back at the lodge, you freshen up and then dinner is served. Cycle repeats the next day.

The food at Naledi deserves a special mention - the chef comes out to introduce each meal and each meal was so delicious and so perfectly presented. It’s set out beautifully on the deck overlooking the Olifants river. Impressive attention to detail too with different table settings for every meal and we never had repetition either – each meal was different. We were never hungry with 3 courses at dinner and plenty at breakfast and lunch too. Food was amazing.

I have to mention the managers – Rozanne and Shaun. Shaun is also a guide and I thought it was nice that he joined us for meals as he always had interesting stories to share and answered all our wildlife questions! Rozanne is the perfect hostess – she is so bubbly and knows how to make your stay unforgettable.

We were in two rooms due to availability as we booked quite late (get in early!) but it was fine as both rooms were stunning – the fishing owl and then the lily impala. Huge, comfortable rooms both with a massive deck overlooking the river. Comfortable king size bed, air conditioning, lounge areas, wifi everywhere in the lodge.

An important point as well if you’re thinking of going for a budget place – I’m pretty sure that they only have a driver and not a tracker. Ouppa, our tracker is the reason we found the lioness… he spotted the tracks and then got out to follow them on foot .

The last point I’ll make is that if you do your research, I think you’ll find that Naledi is actually quite affordable compared to some of the other private reserves. And when you think about what you’re getting for the price… two game drives per day, a beautiful lodge, 5 star meals – all included.. really, just book it.

We still think about Naledi and hope to return one day. Thank you to Rozanne, Shaun, Ouppa and Sidwell and all the wonderful staff who made our stay truly unforgettable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you are considering Naledi - just book it. It's a magical place, fabulous people, ridiculously good food. We were fortunate enough to see the Big 5 (and so so so many more). Alicia, the Manager sees to your every need.

From the Enkoveni location on the river you get to see a lot of wildlife, hippos, impalas, babboons, monkeys.

We flew from Joburg into Hoedspruit airport. From there it's only a 45 minute drive (or shuttle).

We liked Bush Camp but loved Enkoveni - try for the Impala Lily room. The outdoor shower is divine.

Room Tip: I would skip bush camp and stay at Enkoveni for your whole stay. Try the Impala Lily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
23.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
418 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#1 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
289 reviews
20 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
701 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
754 reviews
22.6 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp

Address: R40 | Balule Nature reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: $444 - $1,087 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just four magnificently appointed chalets sleeping only eight people, right in the heart of Big Five country within the borders of the greater Kruger National Park!!!! Without a doubt, Naledi offers you the most personal, intimate experience anywhere In the region – and at a price often less than half of what you would expect to pay elsewhere! At Naledi we only ever have a maximum of eight guests on our game viewer, only eight relaxing on our beautiful swimming pool deck overlooking the river bed and our private waterhole where one can enjoy the daily parade of animals and birds coming to drink and feed in total peace and tranquility. Our lodge is our passion, showing people our private piece of wild Africa our greatest pleasure, and that means introducing you to the bush and all its creatures, from lions and elephants, to antelope and birds is something we always look forward to ! At Naledi you’ll find aircon throughout, delicious meals, elegant surroundings, a fabulously stocked bar, fun, relaxation and excitement in equal portions, but best of all, you’ll arrive as strangers, and leave as friends!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp South Africa/Balule Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing