We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely brilliant - can't wait to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Absolutely brilliant - can't wait to return!”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Our return visit was as impressive as our first visit some 16 months ago. This time we stayed for 7 days. We had an amazing time and we cannot fault anything about Naledi.
The accommodation is first class, the suite is serviced regularly. Kjell was always asking about our rooms and meals, to ensure that they continue to meet his high standards. We were in the beautifully refurbished Paperbark Suite and especially loved the king sized bed; and using the outdoor shower every day, something we have not done on previous visits to South Africa.
The quality, variety and presentation of food was excellent. We were a little nervous on the food side because of dietary restrictions that excluded dairy products, yeast, sugar, salt and mushrooms for one of our party. We were very impressed with and appreciative of the trouble that had been taken to plan, purchase and prepare menus for meals and snacks that took into account the exclusions.
Our safaris were exciting and there was a buzz of excitement on “what shall we see on this trip”. Thanks to Kjell and Sidwell we saw the “Big Five” nearly twice but missed out on the Leopard the second time round. We were especially impressed with the sighting of a civet during the day. Even the bush walk produced a sighting that we did not expect; Sidwell’s exceptional observations skills enabled us to see a Dung Beetle, even though there had not been much rain, and we managed to get video footage of it.
We would highly recommend Naledi Bushcamp, the attention to detail, the accommodation, the food, the personalized service is second to none. Thank you to Kjell and all the staff for a wonderful and memorable revisit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamilton57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    39
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
278
528
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anglesey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Where do I start………… My fiancé (we got engaged in SA) and I stayed at Naledi mid August at the start of our SA drivng tour. The accommodation is spot on, huge bed, indoor and outdoor shower area and patio doors looking on to the bush on the other side of the fence. The food was beautiful, from the presentation to the flavours and any dietary requirements were catered for – nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Kim!
The animals………. We saw 4 of the big 5 in our first sunset drive! Sydwel is an immense tracker and managed to find 3 white rhinos in thick brush and within seconds Kjell had manouvered the large truck off road and we were metres away from them, sat in silence with the only sound to be heard was the rhinos breathing! Later we came across a few hundred buffalo, and once again Kjell traversed into the bush and we sat there listening to the buffalo munch away all around us – so memorable! My fiance and I had an unforgettable time here and just wished we could have stayed for longer – we’ll just have to return for our honeymoon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sezka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

My partner and I travelled for the 1st time to Africa and Naledi was our 1st stop after traveling some 20 hours from New York City. I cannot say enough about this very first experience of Africa. The food, was literally "out of this world", gourmet 5 star, and the view (OMG!!!!), the spaciousness of the wild, the hosts, the animals and the most wonderful people we met. It was beyond our expectations. My only regret is that we only stayed 2nites, it is a must to stay at least 3, as it takes a while to adjust to the beautiful way of the bush, and one longs for the beauty and stillness of the wild. Kjeii and his staff work tirelessly to accomodate you as their guest, and boy can I be fussy. Yet, I let go of so much of what I demand, because I was just so content in this world. To see the animals, up close, and with so few people was such a gift. Yes, and we saw 4 of the big 5, but truthfully it is about the experience. Oh yes, and the sky, the stars. AND THEY REALLY CARE, this family about the bush and the environment. I would go into more detail, but the joy of the little suprises, I will not spoil for you. Would we go back? In a heart beat!!!!! Pictures soon, but I wanted to get this review out, and we are still adjusting to being back in America.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2011

My family and I spent two nights at Naledi Bushcamp, and we had a sensational time! No detail was overlooked; The villas and the grounds are beautifully designed and maintained, The food was superb and beautifully presented and Kjell and his team were the most gracious hosts. They accommodated our every need at a moment's notice, and Kjell worked tirelessly to ensure that we got to see as much wildlife as possible. Their passion for sharing Africa's natural beauty with their guests is evident every step of the way, and we have left with memories that we will treasure forever.

Room Tip: All of the villas are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iman N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Having been born and raised in Africa, going on safaris regularly I am always extremely critical of the camps that I stay at. Eventually the quality of the camp becomes just as important, if not more so, than the wildlife. Naledi surpassed all my expectations with their extremely personalized service, attention to detail and quality of the food and beverages. They were able to accomodate all our needs at a moment's notice, ensuring that we felt at home.

I must reiterate that this small family owned and operated camp is not one to miss out on, I am already planning my next trip back...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadeem N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We spent 3 nights at Naledi as a family with 16 year old daughter. We had a magical stay. Our bush trips were exciting, eventful and adventurous. We saw 4 of the big 5 but more importantly we learned a lot about the area, the animals, flora and fauna. Spectacular views, great stops - fabulous, if somewhat hair raising night trips - first night in between 10 lions and a buffalo herd! Had two brilliant trackers (Prem and Shadwell). Visits from elephants to our lodge etc etc
Attention to detail and comfort are the order of the day without forgetting that you are in the bush and there to experience the bush - drinks and blankets in the car; very spacious and comfortable rooms attended to before you could even think of thinking about what they should look like. Nice touches in terms of environmentally sound toiletries, torches, flares etc.
For me as a gluten, lactose and fructose intolerant eater life was pure paradise. Kim had gone to extraordinary lengths to ensure that I would be catered for during our stay. The food was superb in every respect - fresh, unusual, adventurous, incredibly tasty, beautifully presented - fabulous table linen and serviettes too!!! Was very spoiled and hugely appreciative of the effort put into ensuring my diet was more than catered for - eg pure juices, soy creams and custards, muffins, pancakes, corn bread, sorghum bread, fabulous deserts etc etc.
The lodge only caters for 8 people so we had lovely easy going time together with 2 other couples. Nice international mix.
HIghly recommend this as a subtle experience of luxury in the bush. COme away feeling you have really tasted Africa, albeit for too short a time! Thanks Kjell and Kim, plus all the staff behind the scene who made our stay such a pleasure

Room Tip: we had a suite of two rooms with an outdoor lounge and spa in between, plus kitchen which was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveller417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

While hopeful on our first safari trip that we would see all the big 5, to experience the thrill of seeing 3, (including an off road dash through the bush to see a leopard- such an aventure!) on our very first game drive was beyond our expectations. Kjell and Prem never gave up looking for animals until the very last minute of each game drive when Craig would be waiting with a glass of Kahula as we arrived back at the lodge. The next few days (we stayed 4 nights which I would strongly recommend) continued with the most lovely and beautifully presented food, breakfast, lunch and dinner served at different areas of the lodge with Kjell and Craig and other lovely guests at a communal table where we shared stories about the fun of the day and generally put the world to rights! Kjell and Craig (Kim was away for a few days) obviously take a genuine interest in all their guests and remembering everyone's name, regardless of nationality or dialect, seems effortless.
Our cabin was beautifully decorated and the only sounds to be heard were the distant roars of a lion during the night. We had an indoor and outdoor shower separated by glass doors. Imagine standing looking in the bathroom mirror while brushing your teeth and you see a giraffe watching you from over the garden wall!! Yes really!
Kjell is so knowledgable about all the wildlife and we felt we learnt a lot during the drives. Finally, on the last day when I was sitting on the veranda watching impala at the watering hole, Kjell called me saying he had a surprise. We quickly followed, not sure what to expect,. Was he going to show us the style of the larger cabin? We did not have to wait long to find out as we turned the corner onto the cabin terrace, a whole family of elephants were chomping on the trees right before our eyes!! You would have thought they had been positioned there especially!! What a treasure this man is - he knew how much I was longing to see the elephants. No time to wait for the last game drive, with such a magic, majestic sight
right here at the lodge. Kjell brought the 2 other guests, our friends from New York to enjoy this too, and after lunch took us on a trip alongside these wonderful elephants as they made their way along the riverside.
There is no way I can explain how fantastic this place is - Everyone at the lodge is so kind, helpful and happy, I am sure they will make your dreams come true too.

Joan & Jim

Room Tip: All beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
20.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,593 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
248 reviews
23.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
207 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
613 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#3 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp

Property: Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Address: R40 | Balule Nature reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just four magnificently appointed chalets sleeping only eight people, right in the heart of Big Five country within the borders of the greater Kruger National Park!!!! Without a doubt, Naledi offers you the most personal, intimate experience anywhere In the region – and at a price often less than half of what you would expect to pay elsewhere! At Naledi we only ever have a maximum of eight guests on our game viewer, only eight relaxing on our beautiful swimming pool deck overlooking the river bed and our private waterhole where one can enjoy the daily parade of animals and birds coming to drink and feed in total peace and tranquility. Our lodge is our passion, showing people our private piece of wild Africa our greatest pleasure, and that means introducing you to the bush and all its creatures, from lions and elephants, to antelope and birds is something we always look forward to ! At Naledi you’ll find aircon throughout, delicious meals, elegant surroundings, a fabulously stocked bar, fun, relaxation and excitement in equal portions, but best of all, you’ll arrive as strangers, and leave as friends!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp South Africa/Balule Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing