We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in a bushcamp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This is by far one the of the best experience I had in my travels over the last 4 years.I god knows I travel too much. Naledi is one of the most affordable lodge you can find in Kruger that can provide this sort of accommodation and services. Free internet is provided.

The rooms are huge, very nicely decorated and comfortable. Loved the shower. I categorize the food as fine cuisine and delicious. We saw 4 out of the Big 5 (Lions eating a giraffe, Buffalo, Rhino, Elephant). Only one missing was the Leopard, and it`s not because we didn't try! We saw Giraffes (alives), Zebras, Eagles, Vultures, Chacals, Warthogs, Impalas, an hippo running, etc... We had 2 game drives a day.

Thanks to Kjell for his humor and derdication, his wife for the best food, Greg for the amarulas and the chocolates (we know that`s all he does...) and all the staff of Naledi! It was amazing :-)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expatsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,076)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

788 - 794 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Naledi for 3 nights in July. We had a wonderful experience and cannot recommend this place highly enough. The owner, Kjell, is passionate about his job and has created extremely high quality accommodation. Our room was spotless, comfortable and spacious with a private patio area overlooking the bush. The lodge grounds were also beautiful with a lovely pool area and various decks where you can relax, watch the widlife ( we saw zebras, giraffes and warthogs from the deck) and eat meals. Kjell's wife, Kim and their chef, Sam, cooked the most delicious food and we actually felt very spoiled at breakfast, lunch and dinner.
The best part of our stay, however, were the twice daily game drives into the bush. I never thought I would ever want to get out of bed at 5.30am but the sightings we had made it so worth it. Kjell drove us within metres of the animals and made it his mission to show us as much as possible! We saw 4 of the 'big 5' with the highlights being a pride of 14 lions feeding on a recently hunted giraffe, 4 bull elephants two feet from the car, a herd of buffalo crossing the road and surrounding our car and finding 4 white rhino after a very fast drive to the spot before they moved on! We felt very safe in Kjell's hands and benefitted from his experience and knowledge as well as that of his 'tracker', Sidwell. On each drive, there was a nice touch of stopping for drinks at sunrise and sunset. The provision of fleece blankets, hats and hot water bottles was also very thoughtful for the cold early mornings and evenings in winter ( although the afternoon weather was glorious).
If you want to go on safari, go here and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowPapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We booked 4 nights at Naledi for the start of our honeymoon, and we couldn't have wished for a better start! Absolutely everything from the time we arrived to the minute we left.. the food, the service, the people, the bush drives - all totally 1st class! We have never been so well looked after!

The personal touch and the attention to detail in this place is what makes it THE place to go if you are considering doing a South African Safari. The food here is absolutley fanastic, and there wasn't one single meal, breakfast, lunch or dinner which we we not delighted by! (we took photos of every meal so that we could remember them!)

On the game drives here we were also lucky enough to see all of the Big 5, all of which were amazing experiences that we will most definitely always remember.. highlights being; 5 rhino drinking around the water hole, the pride of 13 lions feasting on buffalo, and the leopard so near he was within touching distance!! Since going, we have spoken to a few people about their safari expereinces and we're so glad we came here. What makes it stand out are 3 main things 1). They use a bush tracker (Sid) out on the vehicle whose skills at animal tracking are second to none 2). They will only ever have two cars maximum at one sighting. 3). Because it's a private reserve they are able to get off the track and into the bush to give you the most intimate and close up sightings possible.

I can't say enough great stuff about this place, thank you Kjell, Craig, Sid and Sam for making the start of our honeymoon so perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexMorley28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We had a fantastic time and enjoyed being pampered in all aspects! The food was delicious and the lodging is stunning. But most of all we enjoyed the passion and knowledge of Kjell who introduced us to all aspects of the wild life in the bush. The safari trips were experiences we will never forget with Sidwell tracking all kinds of animals starting off with a big lion family feasting on a giraffe! The sundowners are memories which will last a life-time. Most recommendable!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleria77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We had a great time! Great game rides and the food was amazing! Kjell was very helpful throughout the entire process.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyJacks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

The Naledi Bushcamp provided an excellent safari experience. A group of us rented out the entire camp for a few days during which we were treated to immaculate accomodations, services, game drives, and meals. A stay here will be immensely enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PureWaterNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We started our honeymoon at Naledi and it could not have been a more perfct place to begin. From the outset we were hugely impressed by the swift contact we received from Kjell as we were planning the visit, he made sure our (numerous and often stupid!) queries were answered promptly and in great detail.

The transfer up from Hoedspruit was well done and even stopped for some game sightings on the way to the lodge! We were hugely impressed by the lodge once we arrived; we were met by Kjell and his team on arrival with a welcome cocktail. And from then on until we left everything was absolutely magical!

So, the lodge... It is beautifully located overlooking a waterhole (elephants, giraffes and zebras were some of the animals we got to watch from the pool!). The rooms are incredibly well thought out, giving that perfect balance between absolute luxury (beautiful and comfortable bed, outdoor shower, african decorations) and that "in the bush" feel (thatched roofs, exposed beams etc) give the perfect feel to the place. The communal areas are equally well thought out. The pool and deck overlook the bush and allow you to unwind between drives (watching the monkeys watching you!) baking in the sun, or the open top deck gives the most phenominal views over the mountains in the distance. In short, it is elegantly appointed and beautifully thought out in every detail (a theme at Naledi).

The food... WOW! Kim and Sam manage to present differnt twists on all the dishes, the food is well thought out, beautifully presented and just delicious! You won't lose weight but you really won't care, you certainly feel you've earnt the food after the long days in the bush. And the drinks, although they are the only thing you pay for there (unless you have any laundry done) are very reasonable and of course a fantastic selection is available. But you will feel spoilt with the great meals you get, such a treat!

The game drives... Well, this was the ONLY time in my life I've wanted to wake up at 5.30! You do have early starts but there is ample snoozing time during the day. But they are so exciting! Even if you saw nothing (which you won't) they would be great. Kjell and Sidwell the tracker offer boundless enthusiasm for all aspects of their beautiful environment and will happily spend time answering your questions and giving you wonderful insights into the way the bush in all it's glory works. And the animals only make it better! We saw so much variety, and despite the leopard evading us we felt spoilt for what we did witness (including the chance to see our first lions on foot! So humbling...). Plus the sighting of some cheetah cubs - amazing! The walking safari was just as incredible (elephants up close, wandering through a herd of giraffes, and just enjoying the flora and smaller fauna too); everything tinged with a sense of excitment and the constant enthusiasm and joy that Kjell infects every second in the bush with.

And finally, but so importantly, the people... Kjell, Craig, Kim and Sidwell are the most visable and take every chance to add to the joy of your visit. But there must be a small army of staff just making all the small details happen (rooms turned down twice daily, everything cleaned and tidied, the whole area imaculate at all times; all seemlessly done). And everyone does everything they can to add even more magic to every moment at the camp. In short, they are all fantastic!

So Naledi... It really is perfect and set an impossible benchmark for all other places to try to meet. It's not just the big details, some of which I've tried to mention, that make this so special (although even on their own they would); but it's the endless attention to detail, the touches, that ice the icing on this cake! We can think of no way to fault our stay with Kjell and his team; and we just cannot wait to come and stay again. Thank you so much. We will be back!

Room Tip: Only four great huts (but we loved Paperbark)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren_and_Will_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
23.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
410 reviews
20.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,780 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
290 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
673 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp

Address: R40 | Balule Nature reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: $426 - $1,277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just four magnificently appointed chalets sleeping only eight people, right in the heart of Big Five country within the borders of the greater Kruger National Park!!!! Without a doubt, Naledi offers you the most personal, intimate experience anywhere In the region – and at a price often less than half of what you would expect to pay elsewhere! At Naledi we only ever have a maximum of eight guests on our game viewer, only eight relaxing on our beautiful swimming pool deck overlooking the river bed and our private waterhole where one can enjoy the daily parade of animals and birds coming to drink and feed in total peace and tranquility. Our lodge is our passion, showing people our private piece of wild Africa our greatest pleasure, and that means introducing you to the bush and all its creatures, from lions and elephants, to antelope and birds is something we always look forward to ! At Naledi you’ll find aircon throughout, delicious meals, elegant surroundings, a fabulously stocked bar, fun, relaxation and excitement in equal portions, but best of all, you’ll arrive as strangers, and leave as friends!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp South Africa/Balule Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing