We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2009

We were after something authentic to complete our month in S/Africa, something with wildlife, something where you could be amongst the wildlife, so considered 'camping'. But we wanted something COMFORTABLE. Honeyguide did not disappoint - good beds, good food and good wildlife viewing. We saw the Big 5 and more. We saw lions everyday, the bird life was spectacular - we even got down to snakes and lizards. Our Guide Dries together with his Tracker, they were able to show us the true "wild" side of Africa. Actually all the Staff showed their enthusiasm in having you understand and enjoy their country and what it has to offer.
One thing I would mention - if you wanted everything bright and shiny new - go somewhere else. We found everything well maintained and experienced no problems...only heaps of fun and loads of laughs during our 7 day stay.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyallTeaGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 342 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2009

We had the Mantobene Camp where kids are not allowed. This all-inclusive place is just the right place to see the big five. Your guide really tries to show you all big five and some more. Food is delicious and more than enough. Free WiFi in the main lodge.
Tented Camp is a exciting experience, especially when you are very close to the waterwhole. We also had an elefant drinking out of the pool

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank POSTGRADS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We stayed at Khoka Moya with our three children aged from 10-13yrs. On arrival there was much excitement with an elephant in the camp to welcome us to an African safari. Everything about Khoka Moya was excellent. The tents were as good as they look in the publicity pictures. The food and game drives were excellent. None of us will ever forget watching a pride of 15 lions under the expert guidance of Richard.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogers-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We were hoping that the pictures on the website would look exactly like the camp and we were happy to say we were not disappointed. The camp was awesome! The tents and all amenities were clean and comfortable. The staff could not have been more pleasant and I love the fact that we we, including staff and the guides ate together. When we got to the camp, they had lost their electricity (we were out in the middle of nowhere) and actually, it made it just a little more fun. There whole dining area was lit up by candle light. It was beautiful. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was fantastic. We sat around drinking wine and mingling under the stars by candle light in the middle of the safari. How cool is that. When it was time to go to bed, we would be escorted to our tent and had hot water bottles waiting for us which kept us extremely warm all night. We saw everything but Cheetah on our safaris. We had an awesome time. We highly recommend staying at Honeyguide Tented Camps - Mantobeni.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DollfaceLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

My husband I and our two children (12 & 9) stayed at the Honeyguide Tented Safari
Camp. The tents were spotless and roomy for 4 people with double shower and toilet. The food was exceptional - 3x3 course meals daily all freshly prepared. The quality and variety was exceptional and quite surprising. We saw the 'Big Five' plus cheetas. Our guide Dries and tracker Phillip were helpful, knowledgeable and very enthusiastic. They answered all the kids questions and taught them to track animals. Sleeping in a tent allowed us to hear the 'sounds of the night' including the monkeys warning of a leopard in camp. My son celebrated his 12th birthday while we were there and the staff provided a birthday cake and gift. September was a good time to go, the vegetation is thinner and easier to see through, it's not too hot and not too many people. There were no great herds of animals (except water buffalo) but we saw everything we wanted to see up close and personal. We had a great time. Kids loved it. We would happily re-visit.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

My husband and I went in August at the beginning of our honeymoon and choose this property as we wanted to have an authentic wilderness experience yet with all of the safety and comfort of modern ammenities and comfortable bed. We were not disappointed! From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by a herd of huge elephants drinking at the nearby water hole. One large male ventured even closer to take a drink out of the small swimming pool as we checked in! What a way to welcome us to Africa. The staff were friendly and the food was good - it was the first time we had tried ostrich meat. Our tented villa was the furthest of the lot, and i had a difficult time sleeping the first night due to all of the animal jungle sounds in pitch black, but what an experience that i would not change! I loved the breakfast that they would bring to our tent each morning, as we could shake off the morning cold and grogginess with a fresh cup of hot coffee in bed. August is winter in Africa and the nights were surprisingly cold yet the days were incredible hot. The good part was that there were no mosquitos even though we were still taking malaria pills to be safe. There was no internet, no cell phone reception, no TV, no newspapers. Only incredible people, service, food, wilderness and spectacular stars at night.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKT88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2009

We stayed at the Mantobeni Camp for three nights at the end of January'09.

We flew in to Hoedspruit from Johannesburg, and the camp is about a 40 minute drive from the airport. From what I have heared, this is a far better way of doing it than driving all the way from Johannesburg.

Upon arrival at Mantobeni, we soon discovered that we were the only guests there, which was fantastic! The two of us had our own personal Guide and Tracker for the duration of our stay.

I won't go in to the description of the camp, or the safaries undertaken, as this is all covered in previous reviews. All we can say is the whole three days were simply FANTASTIC!

The food was imaginative, and absolutely delicious. The service was impeccable! The tents well layed out, ammenities great, and the beds very comfortable.

We knew that we were there in the "Low Season", meaning Summer, and that there was always going to be the possibility that we may not see a thing. This is due to being the Wet Season, and the grass was very tall. Well, within 24 hours we had seen, close up, 4 of the Big 5, it wasn't too hot, and it never rained! Howzat!

Our guide Dries, and our tracker Walter were just great. Very knowledgeable, very friendly, and really added to the overall experience. Andrea, the camp manager, couldn't do enough for us. She treated us like long lost friends. Nicholas the chef, and the rest of the staff made us feel like royalty. Service was faultless, and the free flowing wine just great.

On our last night, we decided to really make a night of it, and Dries quite happily stayed up with us drinking till 3.00am! (Needless to say we did not do the early morning safari on our last day, so Dries got the day off!)

Being Travel Agents, we also arranged with Andrea to go to see their sister camp, Khoka Moya, which is about three kilometers away. This camp allows children. The tents are similiar, the facilities just as good as Mantobeni, but it just didn't have the same "feel" as Mantobeni.

For anyone who wants the real game safari experience, this has got to be the place. Had we not even seen one single animal, we would have still been happy to have been there.

Well done Honeyguide!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John5259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manyeleti Game Reserve
23.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
7.4 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
429 reviews
19.8 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#13 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Buffelshoek Tented Camp
Buffelshoek Tented Camp
#5 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
22 reviews
24.2 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
460 reviews
77.3 mi away
Ndzhaka Tented Camp
Ndzhaka Tented Camp
#7 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps

Address: Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1360, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Manyeleti Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Manyeleti Game Reserve
Price Range: $513 - $723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury tented safari camps in the Manyeleti Reserve in the Greater Kruger National Park. Stay either at Mantobeni, the more classic camp with its Nehru tents on wooden decks set in a forested water course, or the contemporary designed Khoka Moya camp with its larger tents and which welcomes children of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps Hotel Manyeleti Game Reserve
Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps South Africa/Manyeleti Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing