We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveler rating
328
47
15
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
47
15
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tented camp watering hole game drives water hole close to nature shower area wonderful experience safari experience other guests off road the reserve electric blankets dining area perfect end lion sighting after dark loved every minute
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 401 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We were hoping that the pictures on the website would look exactly like the camp and we were happy to say we were not disappointed. The camp was awesome! The tents and all amenities were clean and comfortable. The staff could not have been more pleasant and I love the fact that we we, including staff and the guides ate together. When we got to the camp, they had lost their electricity (we were out in the middle of nowhere) and actually, it made it just a little more fun. There whole dining area was lit up by candle light. It was beautiful. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was fantastic. We sat around drinking wine and mingling under the stars by candle light in the middle of the safari. How cool is that. When it was time to go to bed, we would be escorted to our tent and had hot water bottles waiting for us which kept us extremely warm all night. We saw everything but Cheetah on our safaris. We had an awesome time. We highly recommend staying at Honeyguide Tented Camps - Mantobeni.

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DollfaceLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

My husband I and our two children (12 & 9) stayed at the Honeyguide Tented Safari
Camp. The tents were spotless and roomy for 4 people with double shower and toilet. The food was exceptional - 3x3 course meals daily all freshly prepared. The quality and variety was exceptional and quite surprising. We saw the 'Big Five' plus cheetas. Our guide Dries and tracker Phillip were helpful, knowledgeable and very enthusiastic. They answered all the kids questions and taught them to track animals. Sleeping in a tent allowed us to hear the 'sounds of the night' including the monkeys warning of a leopard in camp. My son celebrated his 12th birthday while we were there and the staff provided a birthday cake and gift. September was a good time to go, the vegetation is thinner and easier to see through, it's not too hot and not too many people. There were no great herds of animals (except water buffalo) but we saw everything we wanted to see up close and personal. We had a great time. Kids loved it. We would happily re-visit.

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

My husband and I went in August at the beginning of our honeymoon and choose this property as we wanted to have an authentic wilderness experience yet with all of the safety and comfort of modern ammenities and comfortable bed. We were not disappointed! From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by a herd of huge elephants drinking at the nearby water hole. One large male ventured even closer to take a drink out of the small swimming pool as we checked in! What a way to welcome us to Africa. The staff were friendly and the food was good - it was the first time we had tried ostrich meat. Our tented villa was the furthest of the lot, and i had a difficult time sleeping the first night due to all of the animal jungle sounds in pitch black, but what an experience that i would not change! I loved the breakfast that they would bring to our tent each morning, as we could shake off the morning cold and grogginess with a fresh cup of hot coffee in bed. August is winter in Africa and the nights were surprisingly cold yet the days were incredible hot. The good part was that there were no mosquitos even though we were still taking malaria pills to be safe. There was no internet, no cell phone reception, no TV, no newspapers. Only incredible people, service, food, wilderness and spectacular stars at night.

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolktan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2009

We stayed at the Mantobeni Camp for three nights at the end of January'09.

We flew in to Hoedspruit from Johannesburg, and the camp is about a 40 minute drive from the airport. From what I have heared, this is a far better way of doing it than driving all the way from Johannesburg.

Upon arrival at Mantobeni, we soon discovered that we were the only guests there, which was fantastic! The two of us had our own personal Guide and Tracker for the duration of our stay.

I won't go in to the description of the camp, or the safaries undertaken, as this is all covered in previous reviews. All we can say is the whole three days were simply FANTASTIC!

The food was imaginative, and absolutely delicious. The service was impeccable! The tents well layed out, ammenities great, and the beds very comfortable.

We knew that we were there in the "Low Season", meaning Summer, and that there was always going to be the possibility that we may not see a thing. This is due to being the Wet Season, and the grass was very tall. Well, within 24 hours we had seen, close up, 4 of the Big 5, it wasn't too hot, and it never rained! Howzat!

Our guide Dries, and our tracker Walter were just great. Very knowledgeable, very friendly, and really added to the overall experience. Andrea, the camp manager, couldn't do enough for us. She treated us like long lost friends. Nicholas the chef, and the rest of the staff made us feel like royalty. Service was faultless, and the free flowing wine just great.

On our last night, we decided to really make a night of it, and Dries quite happily stayed up with us drinking till 3.00am! (Needless to say we did not do the early morning safari on our last day, so Dries got the day off!)

Being Travel Agents, we also arranged with Andrea to go to see their sister camp, Khoka Moya, which is about three kilometers away. This camp allows children. The tents are similiar, the facilities just as good as Mantobeni, but it just didn't have the same "feel" as Mantobeni.

For anyone who wants the real game safari experience, this has got to be the place. Had we not even seen one single animal, we would have still been happy to have been there.

Well done Honeyguide!

Date of stay: January 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John5259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

What an experience - wld dogs - great staff - the only downside is that they can't drive off road - apart from that there is nothing to complain about -the food is great too

The accomodation is really just a posh tent - but it's done in great style.

Date of stay: September 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekl-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews