We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

What a stunning place. It comes highly recommend. You can bank on getting upclose and personal with the big 5. The food is incredible and so is the staff. One word.....Professionals! We had the time of our lives. Thanks Vaughan and Mantobeni staff! Wian & Donette

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank WianStols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoneyguideRocks, Front Office Manager at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear WianStols

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your Honeyguide experience and had such a magical time. Your kind comments and appreciation will be passed on to the Team who constantly strive to ensure only the best of service

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Manyeleti in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 342 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

My dad, brother and myself stayed here 9 years ago. The memories and experiences are still talked about today. We traveled to South Africa back in December of 2005 and Honeyguide (Mantobeni Camp) was our first safari location - The Outpost up north was our second safari. The first night we sat around the fire with the guides telling stories and re emphasizing the guide lines/rules. We each had our own tents and the sounds at night were quite terrifying the first night but were spectacular the other nights. The baboons (creepy sound - even on the last night), birds, lions, giraffes all sounded like they were right outside your tent. Having a shower, peeking over the wall and seeing elephants walk a stones toss away is something I will never forget. Our guide CJ, with spotter Twice, were amazingly awesome. He got us out of the truck and walking up close to a rhino, he called hippos that started coming towards us for a reeeeeal close and scary view, played games and fooled the other trucks out and Twice never missed a thing. The staff, accommodations and food did not disappoint in any way and definitely a spot that needs to be experienced.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CollinThaver, Director of Sales at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Leanne S

Thank you for taking the time to review your Unforgettable family experience at the Honeyguide Camps

We are delighted that your family and yourself had such a perfect time while you stayed with us. The team is extremely passionate about the bush and our Guests satisfaction and It is Wonderful to hear that this is remembered 9 years later .

We truly hope you will visit us again in the future and add to your store of Great bush memories

Kind Regards

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was worried that the family tents would not be as great as the couples only site. I could not have been happier. From the time we arrived and Brilliant (yes that is his name) and Douglas walked us to our tent right up until the last game drive everything was perfect.
My husband and I had one tent and my mother and 2 kids the one beside us. The tents are open and airy and just magical. My husband is still dreaming of being woken by the bongo drums and then a coffee arriving at your tent. We went on 2 safari drives most days and every day was different. Loved the tea/coffee stop in the mornings and the sundowner stop in the afternoon.
Food! - firstly there was so much but also the quality was fantastic and very varied.
Our hosts were great and the communal dinning, bar, sitting and fire area were stunning.
The pool area wasn't flash but was more than adequate - they are building a new one in the next year or so.
All I can say is GO!
Age - wait until your kids are old enough to sit and watch animals on the safari drives (I would recommend 8+)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alm1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CollinThaver, Director of Sales at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

I am so glad we were able to offer you a first class stay and that you found all aspects of our service including the accommodation to be worth the value. We look forward to your return sometimes soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I was fortunate enough to have stayed here in the beginning of April 2014. The experience at Kruger and specifically at this location was phenomenal. Let me clear up some confusion. You are staying in a game preserve that boarders Kruger as in there are no fences or roads that separate one park from the other. I mention this because in Kruger you aren't allowed to off road at all and some of my best experiences were when we went hunting with leopards while off-roading. I saw the big five within two game drives... Enough said right? Let's just say I saw wild dogs mating, went on a hunt with a leopard and saw him pursue and kill a warthog, and a pride of lions?!?!?! Crazy right?

Let me go on! This is the place for people who like being out in nature but not having to rough it in any way! The food is three course and the guides make you feel at home. I didn't suffer a single mosquito bite and was able to fall asleep to the sounds of nature (sometimes lions right near my tent.... ) and then was awakened with the rising of the sun. Bathroom is large and spacious and includes two showers and a tub! One of my favorite things was to sit on my leather couch on my deck and read during the down time between safaris.

I am a single female traveler and felt completely safe at this location. Anton, Nicholas, and Philip made my stay an excellent experience! Highly recommend this to anyone who has even the slightest interest of staying in a tent. This is the best way to safari! Thanks Honeyguide!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CollinThaver, Director of Sales at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Annette H

Thank you for taking the time to offer your great review of your Honeyguide experience.

We are Delighted that you enjoyed your Authentic Tented Safari experience without having to rough it out . Your wonderful feedback has been passed on to Anton , Phillip, Nicolas and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Manyeleti on your next visit to South Africa

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

we spent 3 days in Mantobeni camp, the small tented camp close to Koka Moya
thanks to the organization of camp, the experience of Vaughan (guide) and Ezechiel (tracker), we've a full experience of real africa, together with comfort and good cuisine.
every euro paid for this period was well worth
you'll thank us for this suggestion
carlo and sandra - italia

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alessandramonti2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CollinThaver, Director of Sales at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Carlo and Sandra

Thank you for your wonderful review and your compliments have been passed on to Vaughan, Ezechiel and the staff members at Honeyguide.

We always strive to ensure that the best safari experience is had by our guests and positive feedback such as yours only makes us want to strive to be even better.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Sleeping in a tent, hearing the leopard rubbing on the side of it, or waking up with a big elephnat just outside the tent, is priceless. For all the rest you can use MasterCard!!!
Nice location, nice staff!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macrob59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CollinThaver, Director of Sales at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear macrob59

Thank you for taking the time to express your priceless experience at Honeyguide

The Honeyguide team hopes you will come and enjoy the wonders of the Manyeleti with us in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Just returned from a fanatic four days at Honeyguide. We had never been on a safari before and had no idea what to expect. We got to see so many animals up close and our guide, Anton, and tracker, Phillip, were excellent - they were extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the animals and environment, being able to spot leopards/lions etc from tracks and slight movements in the grass. The tent was very comfortable and we had a great view of the waterhole - we slept through elephants and lions visiting at night! The food was very good and varied, and all the staff did everything to make our stay really memorable. It is a holiday I will never forget.

Room Tip: We were in tent 4 and it had a great view of the water hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2014JFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CollinThaver, Director of Sales at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear 2014JFM

Thank you for the great review on your stay with us.

We are delighted that your first Safari experience was a Wonderfully Memorable one and that the animal sighting were plentiful.

The Honeyguide team love what they do and they relish passing on the knowledge and passion of the bush to all . Your kind compliments have been passed on to Anton, Phillip and the rest of the staff members and we would like to extend our warmest hospitality again , so please do visit Honeyguide during your next stop in South Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manyeleti Game Reserve
23.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
7.4 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
429 reviews
19.8 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#13 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Buffelshoek Tented Camp
Buffelshoek Tented Camp
#5 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
22 reviews
24.2 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
460 reviews
77.3 mi away
Ndzhaka Tented Camp
Ndzhaka Tented Camp
#7 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps

Address: Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1360, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Manyeleti Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Manyeleti Game Reserve
Price Range: $513 - $723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury tented safari camps in the Manyeleti Reserve in the Greater Kruger National Park. Stay either at Mantobeni, the more classic camp with its Nehru tents on wooden decks set in a forested water course, or the contemporary designed Khoka Moya camp with its larger tents and which welcomes children of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps Hotel Manyeleti Game Reserve
Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps South Africa/Manyeleti Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing