We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Certificate of Excellence
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

I was fortunate enough to have stayed here in the beginning of April 2014. The experience at Kruger and specifically at this location was phenomenal. Let me clear up some confusion. You are staying in a game preserve that boarders Kruger as in there are no fences or roads that separate one park from the other. I mention this because in Kruger you aren't allowed to off road at all and some of my best experiences were when we went hunting with leopards while off-roading. I saw the big five within two game drives... Enough said right? Let's just say I saw wild dogs mating, went on a hunt with a leopard and saw him pursue and kill a warthog, and a pride of lions?!?!?! Crazy right?

Let me go on! This is the place for people who like being out in nature but not having to rough it in any way! The food is three course and the guides make you feel at home. I didn't suffer a single mosquito bite and was able to fall asleep to the sounds of nature (sometimes lions right near my tent.... ) and then was awakened with the rising of the sun. Bathroom is large and spacious and includes two showers and a tub! One of my favorite things was to sit on my leather couch on my deck and read during the down time between safaris.

I am a single female traveler and felt completely safe at this location. Anton, Nicholas, and Philip made my stay an excellent experience! Highly recommend this to anyone who has even the slightest interest of staying in a tent. This is the best way to safari! Thanks Honeyguide!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CollinThaver, Director of Sales at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Annette H

Thank you for taking the time to offer your great review of your Honeyguide experience.

We are Delighted that you enjoyed your Authentic Tented Safari experience without having to rough it out . Your wonderful feedback has been passed on to Anton , Phillip, Nicolas and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Manyeleti on your next visit to South Africa

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    34
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
93
112
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

we spent 3 days in Mantobeni camp, the small tented camp close to Koka Moya
thanks to the organization of camp, the experience of Vaughan (guide) and Ezechiel (tracker), we've a full experience of real africa, together with comfort and good cuisine.
every euro paid for this period was well worth
you'll thank us for this suggestion
carlo and sandra - italia

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alessandramonti2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CollinThaver, Director of Sales at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Carlo and Sandra

Thank you for your wonderful review and your compliments have been passed on to Vaughan, Ezechiel and the staff members at Honeyguide.

We always strive to ensure that the best safari experience is had by our guests and positive feedback such as yours only makes us want to strive to be even better.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Sleeping in a tent, hearing the leopard rubbing on the side of it, or waking up with a big elephnat just outside the tent, is priceless. For all the rest you can use MasterCard!!!
Nice location, nice staff!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macrob59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CollinThaver, Director of Sales at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear macrob59

Thank you for taking the time to express your priceless experience at Honeyguide

The Honeyguide team hopes you will come and enjoy the wonders of the Manyeleti with us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Just returned from a fanatic four days at Honeyguide. We had never been on a safari before and had no idea what to expect. We got to see so many animals up close and our guide, Anton, and tracker, Phillip, were excellent - they were extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the animals and environment, being able to spot leopards/lions etc from tracks and slight movements in the grass. The tent was very comfortable and we had a great view of the waterhole - we slept through elephants and lions visiting at night! The food was very good and varied, and all the staff did everything to make our stay really memorable. It is a holiday I will never forget.

Room Tip: We were in tent 4 and it had a great view of the water hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2014JFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CollinThaver, Director of Sales at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear 2014JFM

Thank you for the great review on your stay with us.

We are delighted that your first Safari experience was a Wonderfully Memorable one and that the animal sighting were plentiful.

The Honeyguide team love what they do and they relish passing on the knowledge and passion of the bush to all . Your kind compliments have been passed on to Anton, Phillip and the rest of the staff members and we would like to extend our warmest hospitality again , so please do visit Honeyguide during your next stop in South Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a fabulous time here in March 2014. The accommodation was very safe and comfortable, the service first class and the food absolutely delicious. Our guide Anton, took us amazing game drives early in the morning and late in the afternoon each day. We saw lions, leopards, zebras, giraffes, many elephants, countless beautiful birds, wilderbeast. jackals, rhinoceros and much more. There is a small pool where you can relax during the day or you can go on a bush walk with a guide if you desire. Each night after dinner you are escorted to your tent for your own safety as this park is right next door to Kruger National Park and the animals roam freely between these two game parks.
Stay at least three nights for a full South African experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dkb093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CollinThaver, Director of Sales at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear dkb093

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

We are extremely gratified that you enjoyed your Honeyguide South African experience, your animal sighting were plentiful and the service first class as we continuously strive to achieve. Your compliments have been passed on to Anton and the rest of the staff and feedback like yours is truly appreciated and only makes us want to improve even more on our service.

We truly hope you will come and enjoy our hospitality again in the future on your next visit to the Manyeleti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We recently visited Mantobeni camp in December 2013 and all I can say is WOW WOW WOW. Being originally from South Africa but never experiencing a Safari I didn't know what to expect but I was blown away. To begin the tents a wonderful mix of luxury and wilderness with their open style design allowing us to not only hear the animals but often see elephants or giraffes wondering past in the open in front of us. Anton and Philip were our guide and tracker and we cannot give them high enough praise. Anton was just fantastic, knowledgable, friendly and with a great sense of humour. The pride he takes in his work and the importance he feels in providing the best possible experience for his guests are so very evident. Everyone at the camp was lovely, friendly and did all they can to ensure their guests have a remarkable time. They even surprised us with a romantic dinner inside our tent as we were the only two people on the camp.

Finally the animals, we were so very fortunate that we saw it all. From 3 sleeping very full lions on our very first game drive, to the elusive and very rare black rhino, to a leopard running up a tree, to seeing the big 5 in one drive, to tracking rhino on foot and finally to a small family of Cheetahs feeding on a kill this experience was one we will never forget. We cannot recommend Honeyguides high enough to anyone lucky enough to visit Manyeleti game park.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casanews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CollinThaver, Director of Sales at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Wow, great to receive such positive feedback. I will pass on your kind and supportive words to the team. We look forward to welcoming you again to the camp. Take care from your newly found family in the Africa Bush.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellerup
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We just turned back from our 2 weeks journey to South Africa. We started our trip staying at the Mantobeni camp, supposedly the more exclusive edition to the Koka Moya camp. We where generally very satisfied with the camp, combining the authentic trill with modern lounge luxury, however the camp/interiors will shine more when the owners have it renovated very soon, check that out. When that happens it will be one of the best casual luxury lodges in the country, but its up to the owners to manage, so we look forward to see some new pictures of that.
The game drives was fantastic and we managed to see the big 5 including the trills end excitement included. Won and Philip where excellent Guides and trackers, giving us a very intimate experience right at the spot. We can definitely recommend both camps and the game reserve for the discerning luxury traveller, but the camp needs the last update/finishing to rate it as top level in South Africa.
The food where excellent and great to have several servings at one table. Also ask for having a camp fire dinner, we missed that.

Room Tip: Be sure that they have just renovated the tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarlgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CollinThaver, Director of Sales at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Jarlgaard

Thank you for your comments that you have posted, its always good to hear from our clients and their experiences at our camp. As you maybe aware we recently purchased this property and are busy with upgrades, I am happy to inform you that as from mid March we are starting to replace the tents and we will most certainly update you with the latest pictures. I hope we will be able to host you again soon so that we will be able to experience the upgrades and finishing touches we have planned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manyeleti Game Reserve
7.4 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 6 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#51 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
6.6 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buffelshoek Tented Camp
Buffelshoek Tented Camp
#5 of 6 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#44 of 171 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps

Property: Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Address: Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1360, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Manyeleti Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Manyeleti Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Tented Safari Camps in the Manyeleti Reserve in the Greater Kruger National Park. Stay either at Mantobeni the more classic camp with its Nehru tents on wooden decks set in a forested water course or the contemporary designed Khoka Moya camp with its larger tents and which welcomes children of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps Hotel Manyeleti Game Reserve
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps South Africa/Manyeleti Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing