We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most fabulous experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
765 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Most fabulous experience”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

After nearly three weeks guiding a group around South Africa my wife and I visited Honeyguide to wind down and to experience a different side to SA. Our choice could not have been better. Our accommodation was first rate, comfortable well appointed permanent canvas tents over-looking a water hole where we were to see Warthogs, Zebra, Water buck and best of all, on our last morning, a hippo wallowing about. Staff could not have been more helpful and friendly whether trackers and guides, the admin team or those who brought us the most delicious meals, always satisfying and well prepared. Best of all, the morning and evening safaris, the real purpose of our visit were brilliantly organised and, because the team communicated so effectively with each other, always rewarding. We had seen the big five within 12 hours of our arrival, went on to have two leopard sightings, three cheetah sightings, three rhinos and endless lions, zebra, kudu, impala, hyena, jackals, giraffe, elephants, hippos etc. Sightings were often at close quarters but always safe, for example watching a pride of seven lions eat a freshly hunted Water Buffalo. We agreed that the three days at camp were among the best of our lives so thanks to the whole team that made it so rewarding. It was a fabulous three day experience.

Room Tip: Tent 4 looks over the water hole and is the shortest walk to breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CollinThaver, Director of Sales at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear John P

Thank you for taking the time to review the Honeyguide camp on your Most fabulous experience.

We appreciate your kind comments and are delighted that yourself and your wife had such a memorable time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the camp in the future during your next South African trip

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    38
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
102
118
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our family of 5 started our South African adventure with four awesome nights at Honeyguide. The accommodations were first rate. It was clean and extremely comfortable. The meals blew so far past our expectations, we wished we would've taken pictures of them. Everyone had more than enough to eat, and often came back for seconds. Even our 7 year-old said "their soups are amazing, and the desserts are even better!" But the highlight of our stay was our guide Vestment, and all the amazing animals we saw and learned about. From the elephants daily appearance at the pool for a drink, to the lions munching on a buffalo kill, to our leopard sightings and even two rhino sightings, we are awestruck by it all. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minneapple5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CollinThaver, Director of Sales at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Minneapple5

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on your Excellent and Amazing family visit at Honeyguide.

Our Team takes great pride in the satisfaction of our Guests and your wonderful feedback will only motivate us to aim higher.

We look forward to welcoming yourself and your family back in the future

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We started our South African Safari at Honeyguide and did not want to leave. We absolutely loved the tents. They are comfortable,clean and have all the amenities of being inside a room in a hotel. The watering hole outside the tent really made for great viewing and we loved all the monkeys that would come visit us throughout the day. The staff at Honeyguide is what really makes it a memorable place to stay. We loved our guide, Anton, he was so knowledgeable and fun to be with. The serving staff and cooking crew, Nicholas, were outstanding. We ate like Royalty at each and every meal. We really enjoyed Nicholas' passion for cooking, which was quite apparent when he would announce to the table what we would be eating. He has the best smile in the world. Litton, another guide, was also fabulous and easy to spend time with. We loved the water bottles that were provided on the morning Safari drives and placed in our beds each night. I also appreciated Anton's respect of the land and animals. He would not just drive over anything and everything to get as close as possible, like other lodges were doing. He knew which areas were delicate and needing time to grow. It meant a lot to us that he cared about both the land and animals and we were able to still get great views and close without comprising the land. All in all, I would return to this camp over and over again. It was outstanding!

Room Tip: Ask for the tent with the best view of the watering hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CollinThaver, Director of Sales at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are blown away by your kind comments on your recent stay. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time at Honeyguide and that the team at the camp went out their way to make you feel special.. Why not like our facebook page and you will be able to interact with the Honeyguide team and stay abreast of all the happenings. We truly hope that you will visit us again in the future. With warmest regards from the Manyeleti, and your new found bush family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fork, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Honeyguide Khoka Moya for three days and had an experience we'll never forget. The animal viewing was perhaps the most memorable part of the experience. We saw so much wildlife and learned so much from our guides (CJ one day and Vestment 2 days -- both excellent). Just being outside in the trucks, seeing the hauntingly beautiful scenery and feeling the clear air, was memory making. And the sunsets . . . . My second favorite part of the experience was the communal meals with other families from literally all over the world. Amazingly, even if the kids didn't speak the same language, they always figured out a way to play with one another. In the meantime, the adults talked between ourselves and learned about one another's home and lives. And the guides were always on hand to answer questions and provide insights into what we saw that day. I thought that we would travel to South Africa once, and likely never go back (with travel distance and expense and all). But, primarily due to our experience with Honeyguide, we're already dreaming and scheming of a way to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CollinThaver, Director of Sales at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Anna U

Thank you for taking the time to review Honeyguide on your Families Experience of a Lifetime

We are so very appreciative of your wonderful feedback on your unforgettable time at the camp and your kind comments have been passed on to CJ , Vestment and the rest of the team.

We look forwarding to welcoming you back and hope we will exceed your previous bush visit.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was, by far, the best safari I have been on. I loved Honeyguide - the food, the tents, the staff, the animals, the camaraderie.

I am an expat living in South Africa and have been on safari a few times here and also in Kenya - always at five-star luxury camps and this is by far my favorite. Having said that, what I loved about Honeyguide most might not be what everyone is looking for - communal eating. We were lucky and were there for two nights with some of the most interesting people I have ever met. We stayed up talking and drinking amazing wine until 2am! I also loved that the rangers ate with us, it really added to the experience. The food was great and they had an amazing wine list.

I am a huge fan of tented camps - I've done both lodges and tented camps and far prefer the experience in a tent (albeit a luxurious tent!) where you can hear the sounds of nature. We were at Honeyguide in the winter which meant it was quite cold - even with the hot water bottles in the bed we slept in long pant pjs & socks.

Animal sightings were great - we had an amazing leopard sighting on the first night as we were driving back to camp - definitely the highlight. Also some great rhino sightings.

If in your heart of hearts you long for the glory days of the camaraderie of staying in hostels while backpacking around the world but want the luxury of a five-star - this is the place for you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CollinThaver, Director of Sales at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Anneel

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I am glad that you had an awesome stay with us and that you found our facilities and staff to be world class. We pride ourselves on delivering the best and wowing our guests and I am glad you have experienced this first hand. Welcome to our family and please like our facebook page so that you can keep abreast with all the happenings at the camp. We look forward to your next visit and a bottle of that fine red wine awaits you with complements from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Choosing a safari lodge is difficult, as there are many good choices. We ended up staying at Honeyguide Tented camp as we made our plans relatively late, and could not get our full trip booked at the more luxurious lodge where we spent our first 2 nights. It turned out to be a happy accident, as we had a much richer and more authentic experience at Khoka Moya. We have 2 boys, ages 8 and 10, and the setting was perfect for them. The communal area of the lodge is very open, relaxed and kid friendly. Brett anticipated our every need, from a Monopoly set (the South African version, of course) to refreshments. They even did our laundry for free. The group dining setting provided a natural environment for meeting the many interesting international guests. I was initially worried about not having air conditioned accommodations in the summer, but the slight inconvenience was greatly outweighed by the experience of falling asleep to the sounds of Africa. The tents were actually quite comfortable. Every meal was a gourmet dish. Of course the guides were wonderful. We still keep in touch with ours on Facebook. We felt lucky to have found Honeyguide, and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Jodie, thank you so much for posting your feedback of your family's stay at Khoka Moya this last December. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, that Brett and his team saw to it that you were looked after on and off the safari vehicle. Thanks so much for mentioning the food, the chefs have some challenges in a bush kitchen and it is great to see that there efforts are recognized. It is good to have you as one of our friends on our facebook page and we hope that we have the opportunity of seeing you at Honeyguide Khoka Moya ( or as the children grow older) at our Mantobeni Camp. Best regards Peter, Brett and the Honeyguide team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked our holiday from Sydney at the last minute and our agent highly recommended Honeyguide as an unforgettable safari experience, and it definitely was. My 17 year old daughter and I were amazingly lucky to be staying at the Lodge with an amazing array of guests from Italy, the US, and some locals from J'berg. It felt as though we were staying at a friends Lodge as opposed to a hotel, as the staff were so welcoming and our fellow guests made our stay so enjoyable. The food was on a par with eating at a Michelin rated restaurant and the accommodation was perfect. Our tracker and driver on our game drives were not only informative but thrilling with their many surprises in discovering hidden animals. We can't wait to return to Honeyguide and will never forget our truly wonderful experience at Honeyguide.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Megan, thank you so much for this wonderful feedback. It was wonderful to have you and Lucy on safari with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at the camp, the food and your drives with Wayne and Devance. Warmest regards from all of us at Honeyguide!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manyeleti Game Reserve
7.4 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
349 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#48 of 174 in Kruger National Park
306 reviews
24.2 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
396 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#52 of 174 in Kruger National Park
295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buffelshoek Tented Camp
Buffelshoek Tented Camp
#5 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps

Property: Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Address: Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1360, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Manyeleti Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Manyeleti Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Tented Safari Camps in the Manyeleti Reserve in the Greater Kruger National Park. Stay either at Mantobeni the more classic camp with its Nehru tents on wooden decks set in a forested water course or the contemporary designed Khoka Moya camp with its larger tents and which welcomes children of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps Hotel Manyeleti Game Reserve
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps South Africa/Manyeleti Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing