We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps
Nearby Hotels
Tintswalo Safari Lodge(Manyeleti Game Reserve)
$1,374
$1,147
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Buffelshoek Tented Camp(Manyeleti Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Ndzhaka Tented Camp(Manyeleti Game Reserve)
Priceline
View Deal
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveler rating
294
44
14
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
44
14
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstented campwater holewatering holegame drivesmorning and eveningwonderful experiencesmall poolclose to naturethe reservesafari experienceoff roadshower areawent straightelectric blanketsfellow gueststhree nightsafter dark
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 363 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at Honeyguide Mantobeni tented camp in March 2012.
It was a disaster from start to finsh.
The camp could best be described as on its last legs and downmarket.
The tent was dark and we were constantly searching for dark items such as underwear and cables.
The service attitude was deplorable. It was as though the staff would be pleased if we had not come and the sooner we left the better.
The guides were apathetic.
The food was unremarkable as opposed to other camps we have visited.

We highly recommend you choose another camp.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Winston D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Winno

Thank you for your review on your stay at our Mantobeni Camp during March last year. As a year has elapsed it is difficult for me to find out the details of your visit, ie what you were served for meals what your saw and which staff you were not happy with. I would be grateful if you would send me more information in this regard to peter@mix.co.za. I can however confirm that we have, in the last year, made a lot of refurbishments to the tents and bathrooms at Mantobeni - including the lighting inside the cupboards, which you correctly mentioned need to be attended to. We have also replaced carpets, couches and mattresses and are in the process of upgrading the tents themselves. Floods earlier this year have meant more refurbishments but we understand this is an ongoing process. We have an enthusiastic new team at Mantobeni and the recent comments on this site have been complimentary on the food and the game viewing. I am grateful for your visit to Honeyguide but would like to receive further information or suggestions from your by email as it is essential that we take on all feedback especially any constructive criticism. Warmest regards, Peter Aucamp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

During our safari we were lucky to see the big five.
Khoka Moya in Honey Guide is the awesome sixth.
Our group,two families,really enjoyed our stay at the camp.
The tents are really good,functional,brilliant.The service of Honey guide
is excellent,safari guides fantastic --and the kitchen!! ,staff included,one of
the best ever met on my trips ,all over the world.
Relaxed,friendly atmosphere in the middle of African nature.
Piece of our hearts left there.
We will go back.

Room Tip: Khoka Moya is all good
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jari l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Jari 1, wow, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at our Honeyguide Khoka Moya camp. It is wonderful to see that your safaris were so eventful and we are very grateful to you for letting us know how much you enjoyed the camp, the guides and especially the food and serving staff. Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again to Honeyguide. Warmest regards from all of us, Peter Aucamp and the team at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed three nights, including through a rain storm the likes of which I have never experienced. In a "tent." It worked! The Honeyguide Camp has a friendly, competent staff. The chef made a special appearance at each meal announcing our choices, all of which were delicious. The trips into the bush were fascinating, even if they did begin at 5:30am!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Nidawel

Thank you for sharing your experience at Honeyguide, even through a horrendous storm! We are grateful to you for complementing the staff and and especially for letting us know that you enjoyed the food. Cooking in the kitchens at the camps has its challenges and it is wonderful to see that the quality of the food mentioned. Our thanks to Nicholas and Mama Gladys who run the Honeyguide kitchens. We hope we have an opportunity of hosting you again some time in the future. Warmest regards Peter Aucamp and the Honeyguide Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have been to Honeyguide several times and i could go back every season. It is made up of 2 camps: Khoka Moya is more child friendly(lawns to play on and more child friendly activities ) and Mantobeni... you sleep in tents based on a cement slab and complete with huge bathroom and electricity. The monkeys leap, the branches rustle and you are aware of the priviledge of being right in the bush. Great staff, both in the camp and as game rangers who go out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful stay.From planning impromptu and surprse drinks in the bush to lunch in a forest glade you are treated as an honoured guest. A well- stocked wine cellar which you are free to explore and gracious meals(no line up at the buffet here!)make this a great choice for most: we have been with our family and friends. A 6 hour drive from Jo'burg or a 1 hour flight to Hoedspruit(a picturesque small airport) with a 1 our transfer.The winters are cold and the pool looks tempting so I am going to brave the heat next time : the big 5 will be there summer and winter,

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeripateticPippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Pippa - thank you so much for this post and for your support of Honeyguide. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stays with us and we look forward to seeing you again, in summer this time! Warmest regards, Peter Aucamp and the Honeyguide Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I spent 4 days with 2 friends at Honeyguide on the last days of December and we had a fantastic time. Starting from the staff who were super friendly and ALWAYS ready to help passing to the food witch was delicious and the tents were comfortable and super clean . The atmosphere there is really pleasant.

The safari tours were amazing and we saw all the big 5. I absolutelly recomend staying at the Honeyguide.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rafael_azzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Trip_Azzi - Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay at Honeyguide. It is wonderful for us to see that you enjoyed your safari and that our team contributed to the fun of your stay. We cannot always promise the big 5 so fantastic that you got to see them as well as the large variety of smaller game that the Manyeleti offers. Thanks from our chefs for mentioning the food. Warmest regards Peter Aucamp and all of us at Honeyguide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews