We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Apalling” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Apalling”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at Honeyguide Mantobeni tented camp in March 2012.
It was a disaster from start to finsh.
The camp could best be described as on its last legs and downmarket.
The tent was dark and we were constantly searching for dark items such as underwear and cables.
The service attitude was deplorable. It was as though the staff would be pleased if we had not come and the sooner we left the better.
The guides were apathetic.
The food was unremarkable as opposed to other camps we have visited.

We highly recommend you choose another camp.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Winston D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Winno

Thank you for your review on your stay at our Mantobeni Camp during March last year. As a year has elapsed it is difficult for me to find out the details of your visit, ie what you were served for meals what your saw and which staff you were not happy with. I would be grateful if you would send me more information in this regard to peter@mix.co.za. I can however confirm that we have, in the last year, made a lot of refurbishments to the tents and bathrooms at Mantobeni - including the lighting inside the cupboards, which you correctly mentioned need to be attended to. We have also replaced carpets, couches and mattresses and are in the process of upgrading the tents themselves. Floods earlier this year have meant more refurbishments but we understand this is an ongoing process. We have an enthusiastic new team at Mantobeni and the recent comments on this site have been complimentary on the food and the game viewing. I am grateful for your visit to Honeyguide but would like to receive further information or suggestions from your by email as it is essential that we take on all feedback especially any constructive criticism. Warmest regards, Peter Aucamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    30
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
81
107
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

During our safari we were lucky to see the big five.
Khoka Moya in Honey Guide is the awesome sixth.
Our group,two families,really enjoyed our stay at the camp.
The tents are really good,functional,brilliant.The service of Honey guide
is excellent,safari guides fantastic --and the kitchen!! ,staff included,one of
the best ever met on my trips ,all over the world.
Relaxed,friendly atmosphere in the middle of African nature.
Piece of our hearts left there.
We will go back.

Room Tip: Khoka Moya is all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jari l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Jari 1, wow, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at our Honeyguide Khoka Moya camp. It is wonderful to see that your safaris were so eventful and we are very grateful to you for letting us know how much you enjoyed the camp, the guides and especially the food and serving staff. Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again to Honeyguide. Warmest regards from all of us, Peter Aucamp and the team at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed three nights, including through a rain storm the likes of which I have never experienced. In a "tent." It worked! The Honeyguide Camp has a friendly, competent staff. The chef made a special appearance at each meal announcing our choices, all of which were delicious. The trips into the bush were fascinating, even if they did begin at 5:30am!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Nidawel

Thank you for sharing your experience at Honeyguide, even through a horrendous storm! We are grateful to you for complementing the staff and and especially for letting us know that you enjoyed the food. Cooking in the kitchens at the camps has its challenges and it is wonderful to see that the quality of the food mentioned. Our thanks to Nicholas and Mama Gladys who run the Honeyguide kitchens. We hope we have an opportunity of hosting you again some time in the future. Warmest regards Peter Aucamp and the Honeyguide Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have been to Honeyguide several times and i could go back every season. It is made up of 2 camps: Khoka Moya is more child friendly(lawns to play on and more child friendly activities ) and Mantobeni... you sleep in tents based on a cement slab and complete with huge bathroom and electricity. The monkeys leap, the branches rustle and you are aware of the priviledge of being right in the bush. Great staff, both in the camp and as game rangers who go out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful stay.From planning impromptu and surprse drinks in the bush to lunch in a forest glade you are treated as an honoured guest. A well- stocked wine cellar which you are free to explore and gracious meals(no line up at the buffet here!)make this a great choice for most: we have been with our family and friends. A 6 hour drive from Jo'burg or a 1 hour flight to Hoedspruit(a picturesque small airport) with a 1 our transfer.The winters are cold and the pool looks tempting so I am going to brave the heat next time : the big 5 will be there summer and winter,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeripateticPippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Pippa - thank you so much for this post and for your support of Honeyguide. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stays with us and we look forward to seeing you again, in summer this time! Warmest regards, Peter Aucamp and the Honeyguide Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I spent 4 days with 2 friends at Honeyguide on the last days of December and we had a fantastic time. Starting from the staff who were super friendly and ALWAYS ready to help passing to the food witch was delicious and the tents were comfortable and super clean . The atmosphere there is really pleasant.

The safari tours were amazing and we saw all the big 5. I absolutelly recomend staying at the Honeyguide.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trip_azzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Trip_Azzi - Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay at Honeyguide. It is wonderful for us to see that you enjoyed your safari and that our team contributed to the fun of your stay. We cannot always promise the big 5 so fantastic that you got to see them as well as the large variety of smaller game that the Manyeleti offers. Thanks from our chefs for mentioning the food. Warmest regards Peter Aucamp and all of us at Honeyguide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

And it was all uphill from there. The tents are great, the staff is engaging and knowledgeable, and the food is exceptional. All of our senses were challenged while we saw and learned. Even the monkeys were a treat.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hi Daniel, so wonderful to see how you enjoyed your safari at Honeyguide. We are lucky to that the elephants and many of the other animals in the Manyeleti are relaxed and treat our camps as their own. Thank you for mentioning the quality of the food as well as how the Honeyguide team contributed to the enjoyment of your stay. We hope to see you back with us in the future. Warmest regards Peter Aucamp and all of us at Honeyguide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

South Africa has been a trip of a lifetime planning for the last year. I traveled with a group of 5 to Honeyguide and was not sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised by EVERYTHING! From the hospitable airport pick up to the immediate animal spottings, we were impressed. The staff had so much personality and made taking care of each of us look effortless. Such delish food as well (my compliments to the soft spoken and sweet smiles of Ms.Nelly). Our guide and tracker Fanuel & Brilliant, were a super "Dream Team" - they continuously kept their eyes open and their ears peeled to make sure we didn't miss anything. The tent settings were unbelievable and I loved the monkey madness every morning of trying to steal my sugar. There is only one opportunity for improvement for you guys - UPGRADE YOUR VEHICLES! WE had 2 flat tires in our 3 days, not the best use of anyone's time waiting on tires to be changed. a third tire would have surely gone flat had we stayed longer as we could see it was in poor condition. Overall, EVEN with flat tires, i would come back to Honeyguide and recommend anyone to stay and have this fantastic experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryMary0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Mary - thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Honeyguide. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you would be keen to return - we hope to have you visit us again. I am sorry about the inconvenience of the flat tyres. This should not have happened. Although we are in the process of upgrading our vehicles, and hope to have two new vehicles quite soon, we are doing a maintenance check on all vehicles and tyres to avoid similar problems occurring. Given our activities and the roads we traverse there is always a possibility of a flat tyre,but this should not relate to the condition of the tyres themselves or the vehicles. Once again thank you for your positive feedback on your stay. Kind regards Peter Aucamp and the team at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manyeleti Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
7.4 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 6 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#48 of 166 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#62 of 166 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
6.5 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#18 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
7.7 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps

Property: Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Address: Orpen Gate | P.O. Box 16301, Kruger National Park 1360, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Manyeleti Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Manyeleti Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Tented Safari Camps in the Manyeleti Reserve in the Greater Kruger National Park. Stay either at Mantobeni the more classic camp with its Nehru tents on wooden decks set in a forested water course or the contemporary designed Khoka Moya camp with its larger tents and which welcomes children of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps Hotel Manyeleti Game Reserve
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps South Africa/Manyeleti Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing