We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay - will remember forever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Certificate of Excellence
Celebration, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay - will remember forever!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a quintessential African safari trip and Honeyguide Mantobeni did not disappoint. We wanted an African tent experience and Mantobeni delivered fully. The tents give a rustic, in the middle of the African bush, feel while still offering great amenities. The bed was very comfortable, the couch and chair fit the atmosphere perfectly, and the bathroom was clean while still being "in the open" of our tent.

However, what really made the trip was the staff. Amanda, Vickers, and Brett gave us a great welcome and were always willing to help out, Nicholas and the cooking/bar staff provided delicious meals (in the middle of the bush!), but most importantly our safari guides (Davines - the tracker and Vestment - our guide) were what really made the trip. Our safari drives were definitely the highlight (saw the Big 5 in one day) and would not have been as informative or entertaining if it wasn't for them. In particular, we really appreciated how much Vestment cared about our experience and was willing to answer all of our questions, anticipate our needs, and always monitor our safety.

I've read some of the other reviews on TripAdvisor and those that are overly critical raise some points that I wouldn't say are false in regards to the level of luxury, but we never anticipated the experience to be opulent. We wanted a luxury experience in the middle of nowhere Africa and were not disappointed. The value for the money was fantastic and the staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Tents 1-3 and 11-12 are isolated on their own (#1 the most), but 10 is also pretty far away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wombat1, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Brian, thank you so much for posting your feedback of your recent stay at Honeyguide. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your time with us, liked the rustic nature of the camp and appreciated the food . It is good to see that you had good safari drives as it is not always possible to see the big 5. We appreciate your mentioning that you were well hosted by the management team of Amanda and Vikus and of course your guide and tracker Vestment and Devance.We hope to see you again! Peter Aucamp and the team at Honeyguide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    38
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
102
118
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We recently had a 3 night stay at Honeyguide Mantobeni camp in the Manyeleti Game Reserve and had a fantastic time. The tented accommodation was great and very atmospheric. We were very impressed with the welcome we received. The guide Lyton and the tracker Philip were unbelievable, we saw a leopard, lions, buffalo and hippo on the first drive (as well as heaps more) with the final of the big five on the next drive - all due to their great skills. The food from Nicholas the chef was the best we had during our month in Africa. The whole experience was wonderful and the Mantobeni camp was very professionally run. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobyTyke12104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Toby - thank you for posting your feedback on your recent stay at Honeyguide. Great that you saw so many animals and that you enjoyed the food provided by chef Nicholas. We are very pleased that you mentioned Lyton and Phillip and it is good to see how they contributed to the enjoyment of your stay. We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again some time in the future. Warmest regards Peter Aucamp and the Honeyguide Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed one night at Mantobeni Camp in June 2012, following 5 nights travelling independently in the Kruger Park. We specifically chose this camp because it offered a rustic feel and would provide a luxurious end to our time in this part of South Africa. I can report that the camp itself is superb: very rustic feel, luxurious tents, great food and hospitality.

Nevertheless, our overall experience was disappointing as a result of poor animal sightings. As a frequent visitor to the area (I've been to Kruger and the surrounding private game lodges on multiple occasions) I completely understand that the owners and managers of camps such as these can not control the movements of wild animals and, therefore, are not in a position to guarantee sightings. However, the owners and managers CAN control the WAY in which they search for animals and the efforts they go to to find them. In this regard, Honeyguide was significantly inferior to other similarly-priced lodges that I have been to within the Sabi Sands complex and elsewhere.

Our guide, Wikus, and the tracker, Demand, by their own admission, did not systematically go out in search of game. Instead, they just drove around unsystematically, hoping something interesting would appear. Wikus was in contact with one other driver by radio, but, by Wikus' admission, this other driver was also "just driving around in hope", rather than going out systematically in search of game. In contrast, at other similar lodges in Sabi Sands, the drivers are in contact with far more vehicles from surrounding lodges which, in itself, increases your chances of seeing something exciting (in this respect, the low density of lodges in Manyeleti Game Reserve is a significant drawback). In addition, at other similar lodges, drivers and trackers follow specific routes designed to track which animals have moved in and out of the area, thereby providing a more focused search for game. The manner in which the guides at Honeyguide searched for game (and the low level of effort they went to to find game) was a major disappointment, and for the price we paid, I expected far more. These comments are consistent with other negative reviews (e.g. 23 May 2012).

Thus, despite its great facilities and excellent hospitality, I would not recommend Honeyguide for people who want a high probability of seeing the best of the area's wildlife. For this, other similar-priced lodges within the Sabi Sands complex would be better choices. However, if you just want a rustic and luxurious get-away (and the chance of seeing wildlife is just a bonus), go ahead and book in.

PS: The gravel road to the camp is in very poor condition. While we were assured by Management that it was okay to get to the camp driving a regular sedan car, we had great trouble doing so and this needs urgent attention.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gazbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for posting your review on this site. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the facilities at Honeyguide. I am sorry that you did not see more animals during the one night and two drives that you had with us. I would think that one day is too short but understand that you may not have had more time for your trip. The animals move quite a distance each day and it is difficult to predict where they will be. Generally as you will have seen from the other reviews the game viewing is excellent and some guests see the big 5 and more on one game drive. But we do rely on sightings from other vehicles, trackers which go into the bush on a daily basis. Sometimes there are lions mating or a kill which means that animals will remain in one spot. However in other cases we need to make use of the road network and the spotters to find the animals. Warmest regards Peter Aucamp Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have just spent 3 nights at the Mantobeni camp which I can only describe as beyond wonderful - the people, the hospitality, the food, the atmosphere, the place, the reserve. The camp offers a wonderful bush experience and delivers all that it promises! The communal dining tables are wonderful and I enjoyed many a meal talking and laughing with guests - including one very late night where much wine was enjoyed and the staff were happy to accommodate. The camp unlike others in the area does not have additional charges for beverages and alcohol which is a real plus and if anything the wine flows freely and the sundowner bar set up is amazing. The food is beyond amazing with the only complaint from my fellow guests being that we were all getting fat! The meal times were very accommodating and it was a nice surprise upon my late arrival to find that lunch was waiting for me. The staff are all courteous, speak excellent English, quick to help and unlike other camps spend time with you. We were joined at meals by our guide and by a member of management who happily engaged in conversation and told us some wonderful stories - this really added to the experience. You get to sleep in tents with an ensuite bathroom which gives you a real Hemingway experience with the luxury of a flushing toilet. The room service is wonderful - the tents are always made up/tidied up when you are not there; morning tea before the morning drive being brought to your tent is a nice treat to get you going. My guide Vestment was wonderful and the tracker fantastic at finding the elusive lion that I was searching for - the guys even went deep into the bush on foot looking for the continuation of the lion tracks. Their knowledge & tracking ability is amazing and more importantly they were great at answering all of my questions & teaching me about tracking. The game drives take you to some beuatiful places on the reserve and I did see all of the Big 5 and much more. Overall it is a wonderful place to stay and do highly recommend it for people travelling on their own.

PS - my experience equates with the positive reviews on this site. I am shocked at the negative view posted on 23 May 2012 given that my stay was on 25-28 May and I experienced the opposite of what was stated on their review.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eask003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wombat1, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear Eask 003. Thank you so much for taking time to post this positive feedback of your recent stay at Honeyguide Mantobeni camp on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoy your time with us and that you liked the facilities at the camp. It is wonderful for us to see how the guide, Vestment, the tracker and the rest of the team at Mantobeni contributed to the enjoyment of your stay. Fantastic that you saw so much, relaxed over meal times and afterwards where you could interact with the other guests as well as the managers and guides. Great too that the food did not disappoint. It was wonderful to have you stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity of seeing you again at Honeyguide some time in the future! Peter Aucamp, Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We were on our 3 week African honeymoon and spent 3 nights at Honeyguide’s Mantobeni camp. Shortly after arrival we became extremely disappointed as it was clear to us we had been misled by the Honeyguide website and brochure regarding the 4 star status and customer service. Coming from a 5 star lodge to a 4 star camping lodge we obviously expected things to be more rustic. However we spent 2 nights at Inchgo River Lodge on Impaliia Island in Namibia which is also a 4 star tented camp and Honeyguide fell a long way short of providing a similar level of accommodation and service.
We were collected from our previous lodge (Kampama River Lodge – which was excellent) and transferred to Honeyguide. The road into camp is absolutely atrocious. The area suffered severe floods in January, however these roads have been left in ill repair for some time. We found out from another transfer company we used later in our trip that they refuse to transport tourists into the camp grounds as the roads are so bad. A member of Honeyguide staff has to meet them at the gate for collection.
When we arrived, there was no one around. Our transport driver actually showed us the entrance of the camp and went and found the manager. This was a poor start considering lodges we had been at previously always had someone present on arrivals to greet guests and offer a refreshing drink.
After we met Amanda, we were told that we were to be transferred to Mantobeni, the adult’s camp. We were currently at Khoka Moya, the ‘kiddies’ camp. Craig (who was to be our guide for the entirety of our stay) transferred us and our bags the ten minute drive to Mantobeni.
We were greeted by Vickus at Mantobeni standing in front of a large purple wall. He showed us around the corner and into the main lounge and dining area. We sat on the old cane couch with a filthy old rug under our feet. The bookshelf in the corner was in danger of falling to the right and the doors were partly unhinged. We were given a very brief orientation which included being told not to feed the vervet monkeys or he would have to shoot them as he has had to do so in the past. Not a good start.
We were told that after dark we would be escorted to our tent as the camp is not fenced. There is a whistle in each tent to raise the alarm should there be an emergency. However there is no phone or radio should you require assistance without the need to wake up the entire camp. You are on your own until morning.
When we enquired as to internet access we were told there is only one computer and it is at the Khoka Moya camp.
We were shown to our tent (number 9) which was the very end tent. There was obvious damage from the January floods. Our “carefully positioned tent” had a view of a dry riverbed with debris scattered everywhere and we were unable to see any wildlife due to the dense foliage at the top of the riverbed. Some of the floorboards had been replaced, however the remainder were warped from water damage and the whole flooring really needed replacing. The new stairs and railing were anything but secure. The “welcoming leather couch” was hard and cracked and the see through worn out rug should have been retired many years ago. The king bed was draped in mosquito netting that had holes in it. There wasn’t very much room down either side of the bed and there was no area for our bags to be laid out for easy access.
There is a very good reason you won’t find any photos of the “ensuite” on the website or in brochures. The so called “large custom made bath” is simply a cement hole which had dirt in it. The “double shower” is useless as hot water can only supply one shower head at a time. The shower and sink fitting were covered in lime scale. The toilet paper sat on the ground as there was no holder and there was a maintenance worker still working on the electricity and broken toilet when we arrived!
On the morning of check out when we did a quick and final check of the tent before leaving, we discovered the faulty shower head and tap had been draped in handtowels, indicating, much to our annoyance, that staff where aware of the problem.
The wakeup call for the morning game drive was announced with the beating of drums at 6:00am, followed by the announcement for lunch at 2:00pm and dinner at 7:30pm. The meals were pretty much served right on time so you’d better be present at serving time or as we discovered, you risk getting a cold meal. It’s not like a lodge where you can make your way to meal times between 1:00 and 2:00 for example. However on our second day I was suffering a headache and had to lie down. I asked for my lunch to be served later which wasn’t a problem.
We were disappointed to discover that all meals are communal dinning so we wouldn’t be able to enjoy any romantic dinners here. We were further disappointed and frustrated when we were told that each night, the camps join together for dinner (meaning the adult camp suddenly becomes child friendly) and that every second night we would have to be transported to the Khoka Moya camp for dinner.
The food was very fresh and received positive comments from all the guests. Being vegetarian was not a problem as the chef spoke to me personally on the first day regarding my meals. However one night at Khoka Moya the entrée was calamari and a tiny side salad. My entrée was exactly the same as everyone else’, a palm sized serving of salad in the far right corner but nothing where everyone else had calamari.
On our first night we discovered the only warmth provided in our tent was a hot water bottle. The front flaps of the tent come down but are only fly screen mesh, not canvas to keep the cold out. The ‘ensuite’ has no roofing of its own, it is completely open. It is just the massive tent canopy that towers over the entire tent to keep the moisture, leaves and monkey pee/poo off the main tent roofing. Cold air, bugs and the odd vervet monkey are free to come in all day and night. We discovered that the other guests showered at lunch time as it was simply too cold to shower in the mornings or evenings.
When the morning drums are beaten as a wakeup call at 6:00am, it’s a wakeup call for the monkeys too, knowing that tea, coffee and biscuits are on the way to the tents. They come running to the tents and the brazen ones even come in under the canvas hoping to steal a biscuit or two. Some guests were scared of the monkeys however for us, their early morning antics where the first thing we had to smile about.
When the staff delivers you your hot morning drinks, they have to undo the tent zipper and actually come into your tent while you’re still in bed to deliver it to you! So we had to remember to be aware of our early morning visitor and dress accordingly.
On the morning of day 2 we mentioned to Vickus that our toilet continued not to work to which he responded ‘Not again!’ and stormed off. Not exactly the customer service we were used to receiving. It certainly wasn’t our fault that thing never worked.
After breakfast we went to the Moholoholo Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre. It contributes to the conservation of endanger species and the rehabilitation of injured and poisoned wildlife. Working within the animal industry within Australia we would definitely recommend the trip. We saw a larger variety of animals there than in 15 hours of game drives at Honeyguide. We saw a number of birds of prey, leopard, lion, cheetah, wild dogs, serval, honeybadger and even an 18 week old white rhino. Other than Moholoholo and game drives/walks, your only other options are the pool or reading/ board games from broken bookshelf in the lounge area.
On our second night we discovered that since housekeeping went home after lunch and didn’t bother returning (as we had to dine at Khoka Moya for dinner) no one got hot water bottles. Not exactly a big deal but as your only source of heat from the cold, they were definitely missed. The next morning guests mentioned to the guides that they missed having their ‘lifeline’ from the cold. We were told that they would speak to housekeeping because they ‘become lazy sometimes.’
The game drives are 6:30 – 9:30am and 4:00 – 7:00pm. Craig has a broad knowledge of African wildlife and delivers information in an enthusiastic and captivating manner however his tracking ability appeared very poor. Our ‘tracker’ Brilliant was more of a spotter than a tracker. Manyeleti is a large reserve however the area is crossed by numerous marked roads. Not once did Craig or Brilliant stop to check the movement of the game in the area. The radio was the main aid in finding game and it was deflating hearing Craig ask ‘any updates’ a number of times. Although we appeared to be driving aimlessly through the bush, we did manage to see the big 5 (although they only have the white rhino, not black) we have no doubt it was by pure chance and not in part to the skill of our tracker/guide. The leopard actually jumped out in front of the vehicle and another guide found the lion, while a guest spotted the Rhino before Craig and Brilliant.
The pool in a simple rectangular plunge pool, not a ‘lap pool’. The deck chairs are worn and face the brick wall behind the pool. The Honeyguide brochure states “you have a view of the waterhole”, you don’t. The water hole was completely obscured by foliage and is not visible from anywhere in the lounge, dinning or pool area.
Outside meal times it was difficult to find a staff member for assistance. Some staff’s English is very limited. On one occasion I asked one wait staff what the entrée was, she didn’t understand me so grabbed another staff member. He understood but didn’t know what it was so had to ask the chef was it was they were placing in front of us.
All drinks are included in you stay, however at meal times only water and wine is offered, you have to request soft drink and beer.
In conclusion, we found the customer service, accommodation, attention to detail and game viewing severely lacking for a place with a 4 star rating. 2.5 Or 3 star would more accurately reflect what is essentially camping with electricity and indoor plumbing, not “creature comforts to satisfy the luxury loving animal in you”. We would not return and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Makzulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wombat1, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Karissa and Mark

We are very concerned that you did not enjoy your stay at our Honeyguide Mantobeni Camp. We have picked through your feedback, in detail, to see how and where we can improve our service.
As you mention, the Manyeleti was badly affected by the floods of earlier in the year. However, the Reserve Management has graded the road a few times since then. Although they remain far from perfect and we are pressing the management to improve upon them. Nevertheless standard vehicles continuously access Honeyguide without too much difficult on a daily basis.

Guests visiting Mantobeni camp arrive at our Main Camp, called Khoka Moya where they are taken to the Mantobeni bush camp on game drive vehicles. I am sorry that Amanda had to be called - although she normally keeps an eye out for arrivals it is possible to be caught unawares - something we need to change.

We specifically chose the frayed carpet in the Mantobeni Main area because of its rustic look. It is cleaned daily and has held up well. The couches in the main area are only a few months old, not showing wear, and were brought into replace a leather couch that received the unwelcome attention of a roaming hyena late last year.

The induction you receive by the management on arrival at Mantobeni although brief is essential and it is very important to warn against the consequence of feeding or playing with the monkeys. That being said we do condone the shooting of monkeys. If there is an animal that becomes a danger to our guests, we would need to work through Reserve Management to deal with this.

Although the dense foliage around the waterhole is thinning with the change in seasons, we take note of your constructive suggestion that we should clear more around the waterhole.
I am glad that your special dietary requirements and request for a later lunch were attended to. A completely alternative starter to the calamari and salad starter should have been provided. Dining at Honeyguide is around one table with other guests as well as the staff managers and guides. Occasionally and depending on the guests, we do a combined boma or bush dinner at one of the camps. Although our staff , who mostly join us from the local community, are friendly and willing they are sometimes unfamiliar with terms such as entrée, a term not commonly used in our region and also one which can mean starter or main depending which country you are from. Waiting staff are instructed to serve wine and water at mealtimes but will happily offer any soft drink or beer on request. Not providing a hot water bottle on the one night that you returned from the dinner at Khoka Moya was inexcusable and I am sincerely sorry for this.

As you mention there is an opening between the 6-foot bathroom wall and the flysheet to afford a view of the treetops and bird life. Although this does mean that some insects and leaves may enter the bathroom, this is part of the open-air experience and should not impact on the enjoyment of your stay.

I am pleased that you saw the big 5 at Honeyguide and that you felt that our guide Craig was knowledgeable. We do not like our guides and trackers to leave guests on the vehicles while they head for the bush, so require tracking activity to be done separately – and is done by guide and trackers when not on drives with guests. They also make use of radio as you mention to get updates from the Reserve Management and other guides. It is good that guests actively participate on game drives and are part of the spotting experience on the vehicle. I am also pleased that you enjoyed Moholoholo, which looks after distressed animals and has a large number of animals in captivity.

Apart from the two game drives I confirm that guests are offered a guided walk after breakfast. For the rest guests are at leisure to relax by the pool, in their tents or in the lounge area.
Our maintenance manager thought he had fixed the problem with the plumbing but attended to it again when you felt it hadn’t been resolved properly. Although the recent floods did not affect your tent we have rechecked the fittings to see that all are properly fixed. The small rug in the tent has become worn so we have replaced this.

With regard to the early morning refreshments, we like to offer our guests tea or coffee in their tents and not in the main area. We cannot leave refreshments outside the tent as it will be taken by the monkeys. We note that you felt this intrusive and will look into how we can still offer this service without intruding on your privacy.

We are naturally sorry that we didn’t do enough to make your stay enjoyable. It is good for us to have your feedback to see where we fell short of your expectations and what we need to do to improve our offering.

Warmest regards

Peter Aucamp, and the Honeyguide Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

What a fabulous Camp. We were there August 2011. Very quiet as it was winter in S.Africa. We were a party of 6 including my grandson who had just turned 11. Our ranger Dries was wonderful. He took JJ under his wing and made him a Jr. Ranger.
Our tents were wonderful...spacious with fabulous showers. We slept at night with just the screens down...a little cool ...but a great experience. The food was also great. I have been at one of the top Camps a few years earlier and I Have to say that I enjoyed the food and care more at Honeyguide than I did at the other camps. We will be going back in a few years again and hope to see most of the same staff is still there!!

Room Tip: There are no bad tents. We were fairly close to the main area and that was very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOGOAWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wombat1, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Logoaway

Thank you so much for posting this wonderful review of Honeyguide's Khoka Moya camp. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the children friendly camp was to your liking. We are grateful to you for mentioning how much the staff including Dries the guide and Mama G in the kitchen contributed to the enjoyment of your safari. A bush kitchen is a challenge and we are happy to see that they came up trumps! We look forward to your return when I am sure you will be greeted by the same smiling faces! Warmest regards Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Unfortunately we picked probably the worst time to arrive in January just as the cyclone hit the region. Roads turned to rivers and we had to be reloacted several times, the first time due to concerns that we may get washed away and the second night the elephants had destroyed the fresh water pumps. As it turned out the second night the water did reach the mattresses and unfortunetly there was a lot of damage throughout the lodge.

Even so the troops put on a brave face and we still went out on three game drives even though accompanied by a lot of torrential rain. We did manage to see a host of animals, bird live and the destruction caused by the cyclone. The chef and his staff still provided first class meals under very difficult circumstances and the wines were also excellent. I am sure that when it is dry it is truly magnicficent place.

Many thanks to the Manager Victus and his wife for helping to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I hope the baby squirrel they were caring for has survived and will soon be ready for release. To Drieff and his trekker many thanks for the effort they put in to locate as many animals as possible, given the terrible weather conditions

Room Tip: All the tents appear to be same, just some are closer to the main lodge than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janipots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wombat1, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear Janipots

Thank you so much for being such troopers and bearing with us during the cyclone period. The whole of the Limpopo region was severely hit with the worst storms in years and many lodges including ourselves were badly affected. Thank you for being such wonderful guests - having to move tents - even camps as we battled the problems from the storms. Glad to see that Wikus and Amanda and the kitchen tried their best in the circumstances. Happily the damage has been repaired and even some of the low lying roads which were severely affected are now back in operation and we can continue with our daily safari program. Warmest regards, Peter Aucamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manyeleti Game Reserve
7.4 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
349 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#48 of 174 in Kruger National Park
306 reviews
24.2 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
396 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#52 of 174 in Kruger National Park
295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buffelshoek Tented Camp
Buffelshoek Tented Camp
#5 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps

Property: Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Address: Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1360, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Manyeleti Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Manyeleti Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Tented Safari Camps in the Manyeleti Reserve in the Greater Kruger National Park. Stay either at Mantobeni the more classic camp with its Nehru tents on wooden decks set in a forested water course or the contemporary designed Khoka Moya camp with its larger tents and which welcomes children of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps Hotel Manyeleti Game Reserve
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps South Africa/Manyeleti Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing