We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The PERFECT Safari Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2011

WOW!!! If you want a perfect safari experience - the one you pictured in your mind all of those years you dreamed of going to South Africa - you MUST go to Honeyguide!

Seriously - who goes on safari in S. Africa and wants to stay in a resort with lots of people and swimming pools all around? Safari is the time to be part of nature and really let yourself get absorbed in the experience of it all. At Honeyguide you'll stay in tents (albeit VERY nice tents with bathrooms in them) where you can sleep IN nature. Fall asleep to the crickets and wake up in the middle of the night to listen to the lions roaring!

We had lions right in the camp one night. It was like listening to a duet as they were roaring back and forth with each other. An elephant also decided to spend the day with us one day - he popped around the corner during lunch one day to stick his trunk in the plunge pool for a drink!

Wickus was an amazing host - making sure we had fabulous food, drinks, coffee in the morning after the wakeup call. But with all this pampering we really felt like we were as close to nature as we could be. The camp is small so we had a chance to get to know everyone else there. We all ate our meals together at one communal table and formed some great friendships.

Lyton and Walter were our guide and tracker respectively, and they taught us so much about the wildlife. Walter REALLY tracked the animals and predicted their behavior based on tracks and kills and other animal behavior. Unlike some of the amusement park guides who pretend they know what they're doing at the other camps. Lyton was full of personality and loved making our day with the sightings. You could tell he really loves what he's doing (I don't blame him!)

We saw it all - the Big 5 and then some! We saw more than we imagined we would see. The overall experience was nothing short of spectacular. It exceeded our expectations by leaps and bounds.

We're already talking about a trip back to Honeyguide where we can rent out all of the tents and bring our friends and family. You really have to go - no excuses! You can't beat this experience. I dare you to try:)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dufdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wombat1, Owner at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2011

Dear Dufdog

Thank you for your review on Honeyguide. It is wonderful for us to see how much you enjoyed your stay at our Mantobeni camp and also how the team from Wikus (host) Lyton (the guide) and Walter (the tracker) contributed to the enjoyment of your visit to the stay. it is a simple camp but we hope good enough to ensure that all the creature comforts are there. We were there this weekend and it was wonderful to dine at one table and share experiences with guests from all over the world as well as with the managers and guides. I am so glad that you also appreciated this aspect of Honeyguide. It is a fantastic image of the elephant walking past the deck. With your permission I would like to put it in our guests gallery page on the website. We hope that we will have the opportunity of hosting you again at Honeyguide. With warmest regards from all of us at Honeyguide. Peter Aucamp - peter@mix.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 331 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2011

What a great time we had at this Camp: The whole staff did their best to make us feel welcome and appreciated. The “tents” were elegantly rustic, with crisp white linens on the bed and in the spacious bathroom. The meals were nicely served and delicious, with Chef Nicholas himself introducing the menu at lunch and dinner, served at a beautifully set, candle-lit table. Pure African magic! The guests sat together at the same large table, so that we met delightful travelers from France, Ireland, Australia and the USA. We loved it all, and especially our guide, Vickers, and tracker, Conright. Both looked as if they had just walked off a movie set; yet they were kind, patient, generous in spirit, unpretentious, knowledgeable and trustworthy at all times. The guides, all of whom appeared to have a delightful sense of humor, joined us for the meals -- to further answer questions and share their experiences as well as listen to ours. I can’t imagine that we will not return some day and will recommend for our friends to go as well.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baltomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wombat1, Owner at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2011

Dear Baltoman - thank you so much for posting your feedback of your recent stay at Honeyguide. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your safari with us and also how you appreciated the simplicity and informality of the camp. We are pleased to see that you share our feeling that sitting at one table in the middle of the African bush with other guests and with the managers and guides contributes to the enjoyment of the safari experience. Warmest regards from Peter Aucamp and the rest of the Honeyguide team (including Vicus, Conright and Nicolas who you mention in your post).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

I have stayed here twice now, once with my family in 2005 and again with my partner in 2008.

I am in love!!! so much so that I am hoping to have a very private wedding here.

The tents are not your average pole in ground tents, these compare to 5 star hotel rooms, except they are better. The food and service is amazing and all included in the price, not to mention the actual safari experience twice a day.

I plan to visit Honeyguide Mantenobi camp as many times as I can in my lifetime.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moocow8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wombat1, Owner at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2011

Dear Moocow

Thanks for visiting Honeyguide once again. It is wonderful to see that you feel the same as we do about Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps and the Manyeleti Reserve. We try to provide an intimate and comfortable tented experience - not being too luxurious but making sure that the home comforts are catered for and that you have an authentic wildlife experience. It is good to see that you enjoyed your stay. If you would like to have a wedding at the camp, it is great for a small wedding and we would be delighted to work with you in arranging it. Please contact me or Bev directly in this regard. Thanks for posting your feedback on this site, it is much appreciated. With warmest regards, Peter and the guys at Honeyguide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We were recommended to go to Honeyguide by friends in Jburg and it was absolutely perfect for us. We enjoyed the whole feel of the place, with its high quality tented accommodation, great food and above all brilliant safari guides. This is friendly, down-to-earth safari experience but infused with excellence. There were two drives each day plus an optional walk and more food than you could eat. Above all this is a unique place, totally uncorporate and just right if you want to be close to the whole bush experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wombat1, Owner at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2011

Dear Andynor, thank you for your positive response on your recent stay at our Honeyguide Mantobeni camps. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your experience and we hope we will have the opportunity of hosting you again in the future. Warmest regards from all of us at Honeyguide. Peter Aucamp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Our 3-day stay in the Mantobeni Camp was outstanding: Exciting morning and evening game drives (we saw all big 5 + many other animals), very comfortable and cosy tents, fine central building with pool etc., excellent food and drinks - and above all: very very nice and friendly management and staff. We simply could not have a better stay in the bush. Thank you very much.
Christian Ravn and company, Denmark (Europe)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mantobeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wombat1, Owner at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2011

Dear Christian

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at our Mantobeni Camp. We are delighted to see that your game drives did not disappoint and that you enjoyed your stay in our tented camp. Warmest regards from all of us at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps. Peter Aucamp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed here for three nights starting on Christmas Eve. Our guide, Wayne picked us up at the Hoedspruit airport and we arrived at the lodge before noon, in advance of the other guests. We did not stay at the main lodge at Khoko Moya but at Mantobeni which is on a watering hole several km away. Our "tent" was beautiful - very comfortable and well laid out in a nice, rustic style that I imagine that Hemingway would have appreciated. The food was plentiful with not just continental breakfasts but full eggs any way, bacon, sausage etc. after the 3 hour safari drive. There's time for a nap or a foot safari with your rifle toting guide after lunch. Overall the food was delicious and surprisingly sophisticated considering some of the ingredient limitations they probably have to deal with. The chef, Nicolas, was excellent and went out of his way to meet my girlfriend's dietary requirements. The serving staff were all friendly and efficient, including the bar staff who served a fine, well-chilled white house wine.
Although the lodge has a strict no off road (track) policy, (for what I have learned a good environmental stewardship reasons), we saw lots of wildlife including all the big 5 except for rhinos. They were around and had been seen by others but we missed them. Our guide and tracker were both excellent and made a great team. We saw a herd of elephants at a big pond, and were fortunate enough to see 3 of them amble into the pond (to the annoyance of the resident hippo), to cool down and play a bit. We also got very close to a group of 6 beautiful male lions.
The managers, Wikus & Amanda, are very personable and great hosts.They and Donny from Mantobeni went beyond the call of duty by finding us a rental car on short notice during the holiday period, and transferring us there when we left.
I strongly recommend this lodge to anyone wanting to really experience the wild while maintaining access to creature comforts.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeK17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wombat1, Owner at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2011

Dear George, thank you for taking the time to submit this review on your recent stay at Honeyguide's Mantobeni camp. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for mentioning the staff who contributed to your enjoyment, Nicholas who hails from Zimbabwe does not have an easy task in preparing the food. It was a busy time at the camp and we, as owners, are pleased to see that the managers and serving staff rendered a quality service. It is wonderful that your game viewing was so good. We believe that we are able to see the many if not most species without damaging the environment and I am very pleased that Wayne was able to share this approach. Thanks again, Peter Aucamp, and the Honeyguide Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

My wife, son and I stayed at Honeyguide for 3 nights in mid December and it was one of the best experiences of our lives. The greeting by the staff on the first day was just a prelude to the excellent care and attention that we would receive.
The tents were very accomodating, the bedding comfortable and the oscillating fan was perfect to ensure a good night's sleep.
Our guide, Dries and tracker, Phillip (Eagle) were entertaining, knowledgeable, informative and most importantly - a lot of fun to be with. Keep in mind that you spend about 8 hours a day with these guys, and these two had all the right stuff to make the time fly.
Did I mention the food? Breakfast was hearty and made up of all fresh ingredients. Lunch was always a treat. But, the dinners were gournet fare. I was amazed by the selection and preparation of the dishes. Keep in mind that when I'm not living in Africa, I live in New Orleans and I know food.
We saw the big five while on the game drives, and in fact saw 4 of the 5 in one day. Not to meniton all the birds, antelope and other flora and fauna to be seen.
This is one experience that I would recommend to friends and if the opportunity ever presnted itself agin, I would return back to Honeyguide, But, for a couple of more days on the next visit.
One tip - bring along clear safety glasses for the evening drives. It's amazing the amount of insects that want to impact your eyes. Trust me, pack the glasses.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dnehrbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wombat1, Owner at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2011

Thank you so much for posting this review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay at Honeyguide and how much Dries and Phillip, your guide and tracker contributed to your stay. We greatly appreciate the comments on the food, as the chefs, being in the bush, have some challenges to overcome to ensure fine food. We have taken note of your suggestion on safety glasses, particularly for the summer months and will be putting them in the vehicles for those guests who want to use them. We hope to see you again, Peter Aucamp and the Honeyguide Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manyeleti Game Reserve
7.4 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
383 reviews
11.9 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
428 reviews
11.2 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#55 of 175 in Kruger National Park
311 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#41 of 175 in Kruger National Park
328 reviews
9.1 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps

Address: Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1360, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Manyeleti Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Manyeleti Game Reserve
Price Range: $479 - $750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury tented safari camps in the Manyeleti Reserve in the Greater Kruger National Park. Stay either at Mantobeni, the more classic camp with its Nehru tents on wooden decks set in a forested water course, or the contemporary designed Khoka Moya camp with its larger tents and which welcomes children of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps Hotel Manyeleti Game Reserve
Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps South Africa/Manyeleti Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing