We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond Wonderful”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I won't be able to gush enough about the amazing place, staff and experience we had while staying in the Stanley (one of the private suites). Tintswalo is a very small safari lodge which was perfect for us and we were 10 folks and took all of the suites. The animal viewing and information was fantastic. It backs up to the Kruger Park which adds that much more area for animals to roam. It was 100% a natural environment that you were seeing the animals in. The first 10 minutes of arriving and going to our rooms, an elephant was grazing no more than 25 feet from the walk ways. The food was easily 5 star. We didn't want to leave except for we might not have been able to get thru the door if we didn't because we enjoyed all of the meals so much!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
101
172
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Staff were friendly and well-trained.The game drives were excellent and sightings included the big five (1 Leopard, 22 lions, number of buffalo, rhinos, etc). The resident chef was up to the task and spoilt us for three days, Rooms were large and luxurious and the rates (for the Manor House which sleeps 10 people) was quite reasonable. It's one of those I'll be back" places.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as the second leg of our honeymoon - our first trip ever to Africa. Tintswalo was a very different experience from our first lodge (Nottens Bush Camp) with electricity (and heat!) in the rooms. As two of six guests staying at the lodge, service here definitely felt super personalized. We had dinner with the other guests and the owners of the lodge the first night. Food here was so different from Nottens but equally spectacular. Think smoked salmon during afternoon tea styled lunches and made-to-order dinners.

On the game drives here we ended up being surrounded by hundreds of buffalo. We also got to witness two lions mating. Our guide, Patrick, was so knowledgeable and always took care of us.

Tintswalo likes to really sell the fact that they create a man-made watering hole to attract animals, but we found that most of the nicer lodges did this from what other travelers said. While we were sitting there, buffalo and elephants both came to the watering hole, but its nothing big.

While at Tintswalo we also we took an excursion to see Jessica the hippo. Petting, feeding and massaging a hippo was definitely a first for us!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Tintswalo means compassion and warmth for a friend. Every thing about this place embodied that spirit. From our tour guides Erick and Foster to our Chef Johan and all the other staff there... it was an out of Africa experience.

Erick took us on long and fun game drives for over 3 hours and made every effort to find the game in the reserve. When we did find something he gave us a good facts and trivia about the animal, After an exhausting game drive (which started at 5am) we cam back to the lap of luxury from exquisite and detailed suites and innovative cuisine prepared by the head Chef Johan. This was served by one of the waitresses (I can't believe I forgot her name) in a most intimate and romantic setting paired with superb South African wines. All in all a very memorable experience.

Room Tip: Good to be close to the main lodge so it is a short walk after dinner to the room as it does feel li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EconomistMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This has to be a highlight of my life. An incredible lodge set amongst nature at its best. We saw leopard, Buffalo and elephants on the deck. The elephants are always around the lodge. Whilst on our deck a Spotted Hyena popped by followed by another leopard. The rangers were exceptional-Lee and Claire made our stay extra special! The ultimate romantic getaway, other Kruger lodges can learn a lot.

Room Tip: Stay close to the main lodge as the water hole is near and you can see more whilst at the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCS1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I, along with one other couple, were privileged to stay at Manor House two weeks ago for three enchanting days. We had the entire house to ourselves and were additionally spoiled by an amazing staff and unbelievable meals. Liana and Jan were gracious hosts - so much fun and so knowledgeable... they were instantly like family. With Simon as our tracker and Jan as our guide, every game viewing experience was exciting and different. Cate, Selby and Esmie treated us to culinary delights and other special treats (I won't give any of their surprises away.) I could go on and on, but my words can't do justice. I will only add that we went over to the main lodge (via escort - the Manor House is very private and secluded) for massages. I am unfortunately drawing a blank on the therapist's name... She was THE BEST and the spa area is LOVELY. Plus it was fun to see the main lodge. It's gorgeous and very special. Personally, I wouldn't trade it for the Manor House and our very private experience, but both are amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Beautiful lodge in a private game reserve with excellent service and very friendly staff. The room had the right balance between African safari style and functionality. It was clean and equipped with everything one could think of. The staff was more than friendly and would fulfil every possible wish you might have. The highlight was definetly the safari team - Duncan and Eric - very knowledgable as well as super funny. The great food will also not be forgotten (delicous beef filet steak and a really fun bbq evening).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DADA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manyeleti Game Reserve
20.2 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
436 reviews
23.2 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
398 reviews
7.4 mi away
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
#2 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
445 reviews
15.3 mi away
Royal Malewane
Royal Malewane
#2 of 174 in Kruger National Park
248 reviews
15.0 mi away
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ngala Private Game Reserve
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintswalo Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo Safari Lodge

Property: Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Manyeleti Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Manyeleti Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private safari lodge within the pristine Manyeleti reserve adjoining the Fenceless boundary of the Kruger National Park. Private plunge pools, big 5 game, amazing cuisine. Manor house can take children with a fantastic children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tintswalo Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintswalo Hotel Manyeleti Game Reserve
Tintswalo Kruger National Park
Tintswalo Safari Lodge South Africa/Manyeleti Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing