We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MalaMala Main Camp
Nearby Hotels
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$41
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$65
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
StayEasy Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
$86
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveler rating
312
28
15
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
28
15
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmala malathe rivergame viewinghunting lodgewild dogsprivate reservecape buffalosafari experienceseparate bathroomsthatched roofoff roadafrica tripkruger national parklions huntingbreakfast and dinneran outstanding jobland rover
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 357 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We (family of 4) were lucky enough to stay at Mala Mala for 3 nights in late August 2012. This was our first time at Mala Mala. Our check-in procedures were very efficient - refreshing cold beverage & towels were offered upon arrival. Our camp host & guide was Shaun - he shared with us a brief history of the lodge, gave us a tour of the common areas, schedule of game drives, etc. We were thoroughly impressed with his knowledge about the game, birds, insects & plants and his enthusiasm for sharing all of this with us! Shaun deftly maneuvered the Range Rover often over difficult terrain to allow us an up-close view of the game, giving us ample time to view each sighting. We saw a female leopard & her cub (enjoying impala kill!) on our 1st evening safari; saw lioness & her cubs on 2nd morning game drive; herds of elephants, buffalo; more leopards and a solitary male lion on subsequent game drives. Upon our departure from the Mala Mala gate we encountered a crash (family) of rhinos resting - what a treat!! The food served at breakfast, lunch & dinner (in the Boma) offered much variety and we appreciated that Shaun took the time to have all meals with us. Our 2 inter-connected rooms were immaculate and luxurious! The infinity swimming pool was a welcome place to cool off after a warm morning game drive.

There are really no negatives about this place:-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StPatrickGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We just returned from spending four glorious days in Mala Mala, our first ever safari destination.
The staff, accommodations, food and animal viewing surpassed our expectations in every way.
We were given a very large "hut" with two bedrooms, 3 baths and a view of the small creek
behind our unit. It was overkill for my husband and me, but greatly appreciated. The three meals offered abundant choices for those with dietary limitations. Our guide, "Noldy"(Matt N.) was knowledgable and never gave up in getting to a destination. We were almost as much off road as on. The Range Rovers were kept clean and sitting on a blanket was great, especially in the heat of the day when one tended to "stick" to the seats.
I would recommend Mala Mala 110% in every way.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mingy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My 2nd time at Mara Mara was at the end of Aug. I was with my Daughter and Husband and my Wife. First Safari for both women. They were 'gob smacked'. Every thing is very professional, from the moment you step off Federal Airways at the Mala Mala runway. Gary was our Guide - and he did us proud in all that he was there for.. The drives were excellent. We saw Big 5 every day.Gary seemed to know where every thing was going to happen.We off roaded to see Leopard and Rhino and Lion. Then at meals he was there to supply our every need. All Staff were excellent. Accomodation was First Class. We swam in the Infinnity pool and watched the animals across the river. Cannot praise the Mala Mala Camp enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms in Main Camp have excellent outlooks.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jontanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our second trip to Mala Mala and a another amazing experience. This was our last African stop of three safari camps and our favourite of the three. Great leopard viewing, great guides, great food, I couldn't have asked for more!

Room Tip: We've been twice and both rooms were fantastic! My wife and I enjoyed private bathrooms. Great rooms, very comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We visited Mala Mala in early July 2012, stayed at Main Camp and had our meals at Sable Lodge. The service could not have been better! The ladies in the lodge were friendly and helpful. The bartender was always available, and the ladies who served made us feel at home and have amazing singing voices among their many talents. They cheerfully accommodated our special diet requests-one in our group is a pescetarian, the rest of us enjoyed the dishes made with game meats, and we all enjoyed the variety of fish and tasty curries. The food was delicious, the soups especially. The desserts were excellent as well. We enjoyed the dinners outside in the Boma, a delightful way to dine. The breakfast and lunch buffets were filled with enough variety to please everyone! We enjoyed having a variety of local cheese available at every meal. The Lodge and meals had a cozy, homey feel. The rooms were spacious and clean, ours looked out over the river, offering a constant stream of birds and animals to watch. The "his and her bathrooms" were an unusual and welcome treat. But the real reason to go to Mala Mala is not the food or the rooms (though I would go just for that), of course you go for the Game Drives, and this is where Mala Mala is beyond compare! Our guide Pieter (and I believe this is true of all of their guides) was knowledgeable, adventurous and charming. The game we saw was beyond anything we could have hoped for. I won't bore you with a list here, but rather challenge you to go and see for yourself as every drive, every day and every season offers something different. Of course we saw the Big Five, but thanks to our talented guide we saw so much more, Wild dogs pups, Leopards and Lions stalking, beautiful birds, and Hippos in action! Be sure to follow the instructions of the guide at all times because you could find yourself so close to wild animals that you can smell them! The game is abundant at Mala Mala, we saw game from the lodge, and every effort is made to make the visitors comfortable, spectacular sunsets (with sundowners served), Blankets and hot water bottles to keep you comfortable in the early morning or late evening in the Land Rover and Boma, and African Hospitality all combine here to make this a top Game Camp. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews