We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded all expectations - truly a "bucket list" experience.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Londolozi Tree Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations - truly a "bucket list" experience.”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Talk about the finest in hospitality, an unparalleled adventure in "the bush" and pure luxury every step of the way. From the moment we stepped out of the car we were treated with velvet gloves. I didn't know what to expect from the game drive, but we were whisked into the thankfully sturdy jeep and lo and behold our ranger Mark and tracker
Elmon found us a leopard a half hour into the drive! This dynamic duo had such enthusiasm through the next few days, as we encountered a pride of lions, kudos, elephants, giraffes, rhinos, hippos and much more - and to experience these animals up close and personal is truly extraordinary. The Tree House accommodations were superb, and the level of attention from staff gives hospitality a whole new meaning. If you are fortunate to be able to stay at th Tree Camp I suggest you don't walk but run!
Diane & Peter, Palm Beach Gardens

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petergregg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Tree Camp, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Peter and Diane,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, it is great to hear that your stay was enjoyable. I will be sure to send your kind words onto Mark, Elmon and the entire Tree Camp family.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon!

Much Love,
Your Londolozi family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
71
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

5-Stars all around in Kruger National Park, South Africa to experience the 'Big Five' at their full majesty. Accommodations, food and service were fabulous.

Among all the camps in Londolozi, the Granite Camp is most luxurious and the nightly rates are not much higher than the Tree Camp where we stayed. Next time, it's the Granite!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Tree Camp, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear FloTexan,

Thank you for your kind words and review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at Tree Camp and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Private Granite Suites on your next visit.

Much Love,
Your Londolozi family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Everything at Londolozzi is perfect!!! The people, the accommodations, the food and of course the game park! Fantastic! Nothing to complain about here!! Hoping we get to come back soon! The view from our room was spectacular! The people are so accommodating….We wanted to go on foot in the game park so our ranger arranged it for us. We tracked and found rhinos, it was incredible! We got up close to lion cubs eating an impala and saw wild dogs immediately following a kill…incredible!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Tree Camp, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Susan K,

It is spectacular to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I will be sure to send your kind words onto all of the staff members that contributed.

Much Love,
Your Londolozi family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
204 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My wife and I chose to spend our honeymoon in South Africa, and nowhere could have been a better place to start it than at Tree Camp in Londolozi.

Just outside the famous Kruger national park, we arrived with much trepidation having travelled a lot in East Africa on Safari and having already had amazing experiences there, but we can categorically say Tree Camp and the Londolozi game reserve surpassed all our expectations and much more.

Following an over night flight to Joberg from Cairo, and a short jaunt in a bush plane to the airstrip we were met by our guide Mark who we could instantly tell would be a wealth of information, as well as a joy to spend time with. Our orientation and check-in was swift, and on arrival to the rooms we were in awe which says a lot having spent so many holidays in Kenya and Tanzania luxury lodges. The room we stayed in had 4 main areas: a large living room/study, bedroom, bathroom, and outdoor deck with plunge pool and it was the type of room you would be really sad to leave.

Because the whole lodge only has 6 suites, you feel extremely well looked after by Jess, the camp manager and her team, and the service is superb.

The food is incredible. A small and elegant buffet, can be accompanied with hot dishes made to order from your butler for breakfast. Lunch is usually comprised of light salads, and dinner is a choice of 2 gourmet set menu options.

The safari experience was very different to what we were used to as well. In East Africa, you just tend to drive around following radio reports of sightings, however we had the honour and the privilege to have Elmond, John Varty's personal tracker on our drives alongside our guide.

Once out in the bush they would look closely for big 5 tracks, and once found they would spend some time on foot before climbing back in the car to drive ahead and locate the animals. Their ability to track animals on foot left us in awe. It was like seeing some ancient skill performed before us all for the purpose of our enjoyment of the amazing South African wildlife.

I could go on and on about how amazing Londolozi is, but words will never describe how great an experience we had there, and we highly recommend you try it for yourself.

Room Tip: Room 3 is at the corner of the camp with a private reading deck we were told did not exist in other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waseem T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Tree Camp, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Waseem T,

Thank you for choosing Londolozi Tree camp for such a special occasion for you and your wife. We are honoured to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. We will be sure to send your kind words onto Jess, Mark, Elmon and all at Tree Camp.

We look forward to having you with us again sometime in the neat future.

Much Love,
Your Londolozi family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

In the very last days of December, we returned to Londolozi Tree Camp. Duncan acknowledged we might hold the record for the "quickest turn around" guests, as it was only September 2013 that we last visited. With James as our ranger and Mike as our tracker, game drives were exciting but different, due to the current season. We learnt how to manage ponchos and camera gear in the rain, as well as getting stuck in the soggy ground. Leopard, lion and the other animals of Londolozi were all sighted. However, January 1, our final morning game drive after VERY MINIMAL SLEEP (see below), turned out to be the absolute thriller when we beheld a pack on 8 wild dog at very close range. James was visibly quite OVER THE MOON about this event!!!!

The food, hospitality, personal interest in our needs and accommodation once again were all exceptional. Tree Camp sets the benchmark for us!!!! Both Erin and Mark, manager and tracker, from our previous stay made a special effort to catch up with us, even though they are both currently located in a different camp. That's true personal interest! Graeme now manages Tree Camp, and with his staff, continues to maintain that ever-welcoming spirit.

Being part of the farewell to year 2013 was something else again. What a party! What a night! Londolozi does nothing by halves. With staff and guests from combined camps attired 1920's style, it was easy to get lost in the 'Great Gatsby" themed evening. A five course sit -down dinner was seamlessly served to 93 guests, along with wonderful wine. Theatrical renditions and dancing also added vitality and enjoyment. A night we will remember for some time!

There is something not quite tangible that makes Tree Camp a special place for us, and once again we were saddened to depart. We now dream of our next visit already booked for later this year in September.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marg and Dick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Tree Camp, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Marg and Dick G,

It was so special for us to be able to celebrate the new year in with you. You are part of the family and Erin and Mark coming to visit you is testament to how much we look forward to your return visit in September!

Hope it is a year filled with love and laughter for you both!
Much love,
Your Londolozi family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at Tree Camp for 3 nights in Dec. It was our first stay at Londolozi and we will certainly be back. Graeme, the GM was phenomenally attentive and even secretly arranged for a beautiful picnic lunch in the "bush" high above the treetops. Our room, #6 was private and beautiful with large glass windows overlooking the bush, we even had an extra small bathroom as well as overlook with a covered thatch roof. We had a great time, met some very neat people and will return one day. Enjoyed Dean our ranger and Elmon, our tracker who is famous!!
Thanks for making our first stop at Londolozi a great remembrance, one we will return to again.

Room Tip: Tree Camp #6 is private
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldly2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Tree Camp, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear worldly2012,

It is such fantastic to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at Londolozi Tree Camp. I will be sure to send on your thanks to Graeme, Dean, Elmon and the rest of the Tree Camp family.

Much Love,
The Londolozi family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I am afraid I will be unable to write a review that does Londolozi justice. I had high expectations, and they were all exceeded. We saw all of the animals we imagined and more. Our ranger and tracker were absolutely fantastic. The lodge, rooms, service, food, drinks, atmosphere, were all wonderful. We felt lucky to be there, truly appreciative of the experience, and were sad to leave. We experienced the wilderness in raw form, but not without luxury and superb hospitality. A big thanks is due to the Londolozi family for treating us to a view of the world through a new window.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Tree Camp, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Jordan1201,

It is so wonderful to hear that your expectations were exceeded! I will give the thanks to all at Tree Camp that made your stay such a special one!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Much love,
Your Londolozi family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Londolozi Private Game Reserve
13.2 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
12.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
12.3 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
8.5 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
7.4 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Londolozi Tree Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londolozi Tree Camp

Property: Londolozi Tree Camp
Address: Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Camp embodies the very essence of Londolozi’s continuous striving to transcend and redefine the journey to the wilderness.This is a place of connoisseurship, leopards, orchids, lanterns and lead wood trees. Guests spend lazy afternoons on their decks, champagne in hand as they survey the ancient landscape, elephants feeding below in the river.Elegance and simplicity are the hallmarks of the Tree Camp sanctuaries. In every detail and feature, from the private swimming pools and contemplation decks (salas) to the Ralph Lauren wallpaper and chocolate plaited leather beds, this exclusive camp provides a matchless showcase of African excellence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Londolozi Tree Camp Hotel Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Tree Camp South Africa/Londolozi Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing