We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Family Christmas at Londolozi”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Londolozi Founders Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Superb family holiday, Christmas 2013. We loved the daily game drives; the afternoon sun downers in the bush. Our tracker Robert and game ranger Nsako were just amazing, professional and very talented. We saw lions every day, hunting and feeding. We also saw jaguar, elephant, buffalo, baboons and monkeys; all sorts of eagles, vultures, hyena and giraffes. The head chef from Malawi really impressed us with fresh, healthy and very tasty food. We are vegan and were served some wonderful meals. The staff could not do enough to ensure our total comfort and satisfaction. The 2 ladies that look after the children were just marvellous. My children played cards, cooked, went to shooting practice and swam. They loved every minute of it. The weather was a bit rainy but we still had a superb 4 day stay... Thank you Londolozi for a superb Christmas holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Caroline O,

Thank you for the wonderful review. It is so wonderful to hear that you and the family had such special stay with us despite the rain! I will be sure to send your kind words onto Ntsako, Robert and the entire Founders camp team!

Much Love,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 147 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

We where at Londolozi from the 31st October 2013 for 3 nights. We have been to Londolozi before but have never stayed at Founders camp. From start to finish it was a FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE. There was absolutely nothing to complain about from the service to the rooms, to the game, ranger & tracker too the food and the wonderful staff that make your trip that extra bit special. Cry and Phillip were wonderful hosts and did a great job. Edward who was our butler was a magnificent man he attended to our every need and went above and beyond too even come serve us a 3 course meal on our private deck. We were room no 1 so it was a far walk and he brough everything to us. Thank you Edward for everything. Our Ranger Don and tracker James were very informative and a great team, Don makes excellent ranger coffee, and thank you Don who took us on a bush walk and after about 45 minutes walk we came around the corner and they had planned a romantic picnic in a tree house for us as it was our 10 year wedding anniversary. It was such a special afternoon and one we will remember forever!!!!!!!!! The chefs did a wonderful meal for us and there was champagne and wine, there were even binoculars and a bird book with playing cards to keep us occupied whilst in the tree house. My husband and i have been to well over 15 different game lodges and this was by far one of the best experiences we have ever had in the bush........... We look forward to returning to such wonderful food, accomodation and service and game viewing in the near future. THANK YOU for a trip of a life time. Sean & Michelle Barker

Room Tip: We had room no 1 very quiet and peaceful away from the living area. the splash pool was such a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinasour_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Sean and Michelle,

It is always so wonderful having you with us and such a treat to be able to spend time with you! It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in Founders camp! We look forward to your next visit.

Much love,
Your Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a wonderful camp. This was my second visit to Londolozi Founders camp and my third time to Londolozi. Let me begin by saying there are no words to describe the magic of this camp.
Although they are not a small camp it feels as if you are their only guest at times. The attention to detail is impeccable.
The animal sightings are incredible and the hospitality is like no other. Everyone magically knows who you are and your favorite drink and particulars. Each and every person goes above and beyond to make your stay memorable.
My camp managers Tammy and Cry after just 3 days felt like family. My ranger Trevor and tracker Bennett were incredible. They worked effortlessly to find us great sighting and got us up close and personal when i didn't think it was possible. Always making sure everyone on the vehicle had a good view and even assisted with photography. I never felt like we were rushed off a sighting nor did I feel we had to wait for a sighting. There is so much to see and I had the pleasure of seeing big cats every drive. I have been to many camps in many countries and Londolozi is my favorite!

Room Tip: I was in room number 7 it had a wonderful view of river baboons and elephant were in my backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beanie2664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Beanie 2664,

We were so thrilled to have you with us for your third visit and are happy to hear that it lived up to previous experiences. Thank you for taking the time to write to us! You pictures are wonderful.

We look so forward to your next visit!
Much love,
Your Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent several days at Londolozi and AndBeyond Ngala Tented Camp. We loved both, and found subtle differences that enhanced our overall experience.

We especially liked Londolozi's emphasis on helping and developing a workforce from the local community. Our fantastic ranger and tracker were both from a local village and their cultural insights, in addition to being terrific tracking animals, was extremely enriching. We really appreciated that Londolozi included our tracker, as well as our ranger, in two evening meals.

The accommodations could not have been nicer, though in winter, the plunge pool, which isn't heated, wasn't especially significant to us. The main lodge had beautiful views over the river, and we watched elephants at lunch one day.

The one consideration that we actually preferred at Ngala, is that Londolozi is considerably bigger, and there are more lodges overall in Sabi Sands -- so this meant that there were times when we needed to "stand by" to wait to see a particular animal sighting so there would not be too many vehicles disturbing the animals. Ngala felt just a bit wilder perhaps, because we never had to wait until there was a spot free to see a leopard, etc.

Room Tip: We didn't need it, but we saw a family suite with a connecting glass corridor -- had the childre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Hi Barbeque,

Thank you for taking the time to review Londolozi Founders camp. We are terribly sorry that you had to wait for sightings as we usually pride ourselves on having enough land to not have to do this. We will be sure to look into the situation and hopefully rectify it for your future visits to Londolozi. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the overall Londolozi experience.

Kindest regards,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We visited this property as the first of three safari camps and our first time to any. Our expectations were high but the reality was better by far. The dedication to preservation of wild Africa was apparent in many ways. Yet the accomodations rival a top level hotel, going beyond basic comfort. Imagine a deck-level hot tub with a view of the banks of the Sand River! We were cared for as honored guests and the small number of other guests heightened this impression. Good opportunities were available to interact with other guests but we were free to choose our desired level of engagement. We were greatly impressed with the skill displayed by all the staff, along with their genuine desire to make our visit a memorable one. Special events were blended into our stay, even the opportunity to visit the nearbby camp village where we were serenaded by the children and welcomed by older students engaged in learning computer skills.

By the time we had finished our three days of safaries we felt part of wild Africa, superbly guided by the team driving and tracking as well as coordinating with other vehicles to share animal encounters. Although we are long-time and experienced travelers, we became so enthusiastic that we have with the slightest encouragement continued to share our experiences and recommended stays at Londolozi Founders Camp.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear plktraveler,

Thank you for your kind review on Founders Camp. It is always so fantastic to know that our guests have an enjoyable time.

Much love,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Londolozi. My husband did not want to go on this trip and we are now planning to return to Africa with the rest of the family at his insistence, and will surely stop at Founder's. The camp is lovely- very comfortable but not over the top. One gets the sense that the staff is well treated and it shows in the warmth and care they show the guests.

We also had a terrific experience with Dean Smithyman and Elmon Mhlongo- a great ranger and guide team.

We visited briefly the other camps that make up the Londolozi property- and I don't think you could go wrong with any of them - although we really liked the size and feel of Founder's.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank story4110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Hi Story4110,

Thank you for your kind review on Founders Camp at Londolozi. It was a wonderful pleasure to have you and we look forward to your return visit. I will be sure to get your kind words to the Founders camp team as well as Dean and Elmon.

Much love,
The Londolozi Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Londolozi is about animals and family. If you want an amazing and heart-felt experience where the staff call you by your first name and where the conservation of majestic animals is the primary ethos of the lodge, then Londolozi is the place for you. Londolozi is filled with the legends of Africa. From the Varty family who built and run the five camps at Londolozi (as well as being the inspiration for the particular safari model for Phinda and other reserves throughout Africa) to men like Elmon Mhlongo who have tracked animals in the Londolozi bush for over 43 years, the knowledge that the folks at Londolozi impart to their guests about animals, conservation, politics, economics, art, culture and frankly, anything else sub-Saharan African, is superb. Additionally, the activities at Londolozi support a 250 person village complete with a fully equipped digital learning center serving the Shangaan community who support Londolozi. On nearly every Trip Advisor review of Londolozi, the reviewers are filled with exuberance detailing the wonderful and impeccable accommodations, the plethora of game viewing activities (along with a dearth of other vehicles), and the efforts by the staff to make a guest’s experience memorable. Don’t get me wrong, ALL of that is spot on and more, and the staff go WAY beyond what they have to in order to accomplish their duties for the guests. But aside from the animals, the true heart of Londolozi is its people. Simply put, the staff at Londolozi are the kind of folks to whom you present an open invitation to stay at your home if they ever make it to your hometown. Thank you to our ranger Dean Smithyman, our tracker Elmon Mhlongo, Cry, Jackie, Talley, Lovey, Phil, and everyone else who make Founders Camp at Londolozi the ideal arena to view Africa’s treasures. We are truly indebted to all of you. Kat and Beau.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeauNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hi Kat and Beau,

Thank you so much for your kind review. It is so wonderful to hear that you feel apart of the family, that is what we strive for each and every day. I will be sure to get your kind words to Dean, Talley, Elmon, Lovey, Phil, Cry and all the staff at Founders camp.

We look so forward to welcoming you back to Londolozi in the near future!

Much love,
The Londolozi Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Londolozi Private Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
290 reviews
7.2 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
511 reviews
3.9 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Londolozi Founders Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londolozi Founders Camp

Address: Londolozi Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $6,800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting, intimate and child friendly, Founder’s Camp is ideally situated to provide an insider’s view of the secrets of river life. Seven idyllic chalets, repose in the shade of ancient ebony and matumi trees along the banks of the Sand River.This is an African safari in the classic style, replete with black and cream ticking fabric and original mahogany beds. Deep leather couches, military chests, compass safari lamps and a riverside lounge sala, create a mood of easy luxury and laid back welcome for discerning families and travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Londolozi Founders Camp South Africa/Londolozi Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing