We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Londolozi Founders Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We, a family of four, stayed at the Londolozi Founders Camp during December 2012, for 4 nights. The trip was arranged through one of the travel agents that is used by Londolozi. I caught on this camp after happening on their website when frantically looking for suitable safari camps in South Africa while searching (far too late) in the year. Lucky enough for me, there were a few nights still available, and I was incredibly lucky to be able to obtain them.

There are several camps at Londolozi, and we happenned to be put up at the Founders Camp. I do not have any exposure to the others, but I would say that they are just as good from my experience at Foundres.

We flew in from Johannesburg to the small private airstrip nearby, and we had our game vehicle with ranger and tracker waiting for us to take us to the lodge. This was our first meeting with Sandros (ranger) and Lucky (guide), who were friendly, and relatively quiet. We got to know them better in the coming days and nights and more on them later.

We were driven to the camp, setlled in to our lodges, and then had a bite of lunch at the main reception/lodge area where we would then have our future breakfast, lunches and dinners. It is an incredible spot from which to relax, watch the desolate African landscape, occassionally see the buffalo or mischeivous monkeys. Mendrew, who took care of us with absolutely impeccable, friendly service through the rest of our stay, and 'topped up' our coffees, drinks, and whatever else we desired, was great, and we missed him dearly during the rest of our vacations elsewhere, always comparing everyone else to him! The food was perfect, fresh, and very well prepared by great chefs, with something there for every taste.

The lodges were well decorated, with a spa/pool, verada area, gorgeous bathroom, and fireplace. The fridges/pantry were stocked well, and I enjoyed the warm sherry on the fire place mantel every night before I went to sleep! There were always Impala lurking around and it was nice to stand outside the front door quietly and watch them stare back at you.

The game drives - back to Sandros and Lucky - were great. Sandros, with 24 years, and Lucky, with 14 years experience - knew exactly where to go, and had a knack was finding wildlife with impeccable. We would be driving through paths relatively fast and Lucky would raise up his hand, point to the left, and say, "Cheetah" and Sandros would stop. We would look around, wondering what the heck Lucky was point to, and then, hidden beneath layers of grass, impossible to spot to the naked eye (Except for Lucky/Sandros) would be a Cheetah. They were both friend, hospitable, and took care of us very well with their stories from the past, and their good humor. Sandros is a 'name' with previous guests, as we met one in Johannesburg while flying out, and she remebered him from a trip from a decade ago, and talked highly about her experience at the lodge and Sandros. We saw 4 lions, a leopard, tons of wild Buffalo (more than 500) on our first two drives, and by the end of the 4 days, had seen more lions & lioness, cheetahs, zebras, giraffes, rhinos - you name it. Every drive was different, exciting and an incredible experience.

We did the village walk, which frankly, was a tad dissapointing, in its lack of being a 'true, original; African vilalge. It would have been nice to go to a nearby village outside camp, that was authentic and would expose our far flung travellers to a true African experience and living. I recommend the walk, but suggest that Londolozi add to the experience with a visit to a nearby village as well.

What else can I say? Just go. Dont worry about it. The camp and the people have an amazing knack of making you feel welcomed and at home without being too intrusive or being too aloof. Somehow they seemed to have found the perfect balance. They left us alone when we needed to be left alone, and they showered us with care when we needed to feel cared for.

Outstanding. Outstanding. Outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanghaiasiafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear shangaiasiafan,

Thank you for visiting Londolozi and for your detailed account and review of your time with us. We are pleased to hear that so many elements of your stay were so outstanding and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the Founders Camp team as well as Sandros and Lucky.

I'm sorry that you found the village walk to be below expectation, and to answer your suggestion, yes we do offer a community trip to the villages outside the reserve. These trips, however are focused on the education intiatives we are developing with the rural people of Mpumalanga through the Good Work Foundation. When you next visit we will be sure to organise this for you.

Once again, thank you for such a kind review, we hope to have you return soon!

Much love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
56
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cagnes-sur-Mer, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Londolozi Founders Camp in September and the least I can say is that it was far too short! We would have loved to stay there few more days as it is an amazing area with a very rich wildlife. The camp is great and the service is clearly exceeding all the possible expectations that one can have. Originally, we have chosen Londolozi for the huge leopard population that is existing in the Sabi Sand area and I can tell it was the right choice! We were guided by Dean and Elmon during our game drives and we had a wonderful time with them. They are extremely friendly, knowledgeable and very professional.We had the chance to witness amazing wildlife scenes over there such as leopard couple mating and a Cheetah tracking his next prey. We have had superb opportunities for photography. We also had the chance to meet John Varty during our stay and it was a interesting experience to hear him talking about his passion for big cats.
We can't imagine coming back to South Africa without going to Londolozi! Thanks to all the Londolozi team to make a so good job. Thanks to Jess and Nadia for their assistance during our stay and thanks to Dean for his dedication to make our game drives the best possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephane a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear stephane a,

Thank you for visiting Londolozi and writing such a kind review. It sounds like you had a fantastic stay and great game drives with Dean and Elmon. I will be sure to pass on your review to all concernced.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Londolozi during your next visit to South Africa,

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

AMAZING!!!! Thank's to Rhino Africa (customized travel agency) I was able to spend five amazing days at Founders Camp. From the second you step out of the transport the Landolozi family make sure you have the best trip of your life.

The suites are nicely spread out and blend into the beautiful surroundings. Each suite has a plunge pool on your own private deck. We saw animals (to many to list) right off our deck and throughout the camp. The Bed was super comfy and the staff attending to you know what you want before you ask.

The open truck game drives are super comfortable and the driver and tracker know everything you could or would want to know about the land, animals, birds and plants (oh and stars).

The food.. OMG the food is the best i have every had anywhere. The service of the staff (you will have the same team throughout your stay) is also the best i have ever had in all my travels. Thoku was my server and we just loved her. The work for thank you is Inkomu and you will be saying it at every turn.

I cannot say enough about Londolozi and the Varty Family, who we got to know. They truly care about the land, people and conservation.

make Londolozi your next safari location and be prepared to be blown away.

Room Tip: all the rooms are breath taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Dan H,

Wow, thank you for visiting Londolozi and writing such a kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay so much and we will be sure to pass on your review to the entire Founders Camp team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us soon!

Much love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at Londolozi Founders Camp for three nights last month. I had looked forward to this visit for months, faithfully reading their excellent blog. I had very high expectations, and Londolozi exceeded them all.

The accommodations are beautiful and luxurious and offer anything you might expect of a five star hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with room to spread out and several nooks for relaxation both indoors and out. We saw elephant, monkeys, antelope and Cape buffalo while enjoying drinks on our deck. The plunge pools are deep enough to really enjoy them. The main deck of camp is luxe and spacious, providing several areas to congregate, get a drink from the bar or enjoy a meal. Dinners were in the boma, lit by lamps and campfire - yet another beautiful space.

It was the game viewing that made Londolozi extraordinary. We were teamed with Adam as our guide and Solly as our tracker, and it was amazing to watch them work. They were able to find animals, but just as impressive was watching them anticipate the animal's behavior and then make sure that we were positioned for the best viewing experience. And they were endlessly patient with our (numerous) questions. We saw had incredible game viewing experiences: watching a brave young rhino scare off some elephants despite his mother's attempts to get him to just drink, spending hours and hours with a lovely lady leopard and eventually her five month old cub, watching a massive hyena family socialize at their den, being charged by a grumpy hippo. We saw the typically exciting (big five, heavy emphasis on the cats) and the less heralded (dozens of birds, antelope, giraffe, zebra, etc.). We were very lucky, and we saw lots of babies - leopard, rhino, elephant, hyena, etc.

It was amazing. I can't wait until we're able to visit again. And again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Christine R,

Firstly thank you for being such a devoted reader of our blog and secondly thank you for visiting Londolozi Founders Camp.

We are incredibly pleased to read that we exceeded all your expectations and that you found everything from the accommodations to the game viewing to be so superb!

I will be sure to pass your review onto Adam, Solly and the rest of the Founders Camp team who will be delighted to read it.

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family

PS: Your pictures are great! Thanks for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed at Londolozi Founders camp in late August, first time on safari and already planning to return the same time next year. Having travelled the world and staying in the best hotels, this is by far the most valued experience. All the camps exceed the most seasoned travellers expectations: luxury, simplicity, authenticity, culture and most important the wildlife viewing experience. My father and I were fortunate enough to have Dean as our ranger and the famous tracker Elmon Mhonglo, the range of knoweldge and great all round attitude and personality of our ranger Dean will make this a trip of a lifetime. The famed tracker Elmon has a vast array of stories and local knowledge which cannot be learned in any textbook, his skills as a tracker are beyond belief, spotting a chameleon in a tree while driving 30 km/h was incredible. Nadia the camp manager did an amazing job at making the guests feel at home, special thanks to Jubulani and Tom the kitchen crew, hands down the best iced tea in the world and italian meatballs that surpass any italian restaurant. The accomodation is fantastic, the private plunge pool is best enjoyed with a cold beer :) the outdoor shower is a great experience that adds to the simplistic feel to the whole camp, no stress of the modern day world. The food, wine and drink selection is incredible and well worth trying all on offer, for some people it could also be a food and wine destination, it was really that tasty or as the locals call it Shanunziga !

The Leopard sighting were so amazing it cannot be explained in words, we managed to see all the Big 5 by the second day. We also got the chance to encounter over seven different leopards, by chance we got to see a male leopard 80 feet in a tree eating several Fish Eagle chicks, then jumping from one tree to another in order to scale down a steep tree face, something our tracker has never seen or heard of. Fortunate enough to see a male Cheetah moving very slowly next to our game viewing vehicle, also watching a female leopard prancing oround in the bush looking for a Cane Rat. All the usual suspects are in the londolozi property, numerous Buffalo, Birds, Rhino, Giraffe etc ( more than any other Sabi Sand Reserve properties, especially the leopards population)

Thanks so so so much for the amazing trip, especially our guides Dean and Elmon, never forget you guys, I have a huge appreciation for the animals and will never forget the memories you have given me for life. Thanks Londolozi for the best trip possible, looking forward to returning ASAP :) :)

Kind regards,
Miles

Room Tip: Room 7 has a wide open view of the reserve and close to the main areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jkghkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Miles,

Thank you for visiting Londolozi and for taking the time to write such a kind and detailed review. We are so pleased that your safari experience with Dean and Elmon was so good and that you saw such wonderful sightings. I hope that you have visiting our blog to see the story of the Fish Eagle and Leopard sighting outlined with images and video of the event?

We are also incredibly pleased that you enjoyed Founders Camp and the private plunge pools! I will be sure to pass on your review for the entire Founders Camp team to read.

Thanks again and we cannot wait to have you back here for more amazing August game viewing in 2013.

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Londolozi was the fourth camp on our safari adventure. We started out in beautiful Botswana. What a way to end a fantastic trip!
We had to drive from Nelspruit because we got in so late and were pretty tired from a day of traveling. The welcoming staff was there to greet us and had held dinner for us and what a magical place to eat dinner all lit up and out in the open.
I can't say enough about the staff. Nadia and Jess were great. What enthusiasm! Our waiter Tommy taught us a new word at every meal, always with a huge smile on his face. Our Ranger Lucien was a font of information about the animals and made it a fun educational experience for all of us. There is no shortage of animals here-we saw something new everyday. The commitment to the community and conservation is strong at Londolozi.
We have so many great memories. Thank you to all of the staff who made our travels so special!
Everything about this place is fabulous. We enjoyed the luxurious accommodations and superior food too!
Inkomu

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank av8rx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear av8rx,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and indeed for visiting us all at Londolozi. Our emphasis on people and family is very important to us and we are so pleased that you cannot say enough about the staff. I will be sure to pass on your review to the Founders Camp team as well as Lucien & James.

We hope that your memories bring you back to visit us again in the near future and hope to see you on the Londolozi blog until then.

Much love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We traveled to Sabi Sands for our honeymoon in June and stayed in this amazin lodge. There are no words to describe it, best service I've ever experienced, food was amazing, the rooms were beautiful and very spacious, the location was astonishing, the staff, and especially our guide (James) and our ranger (Richard) were very professional and they really knew EVERYTHING!!!
We got to see the big 5 numerous times, plus a whole lot more of animals. We seriously have no words to explain how amazing this trip was, by far, the best part of our honeymoon!!

Thanks so much for an amazing experience!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niko m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear niko m,

Thank you for visiting us for your honeymoon, we are so pleased that this was the best trip of your lives! I will be sure to pass on your review to James, Richard and the rest of the Founders Camp team, who will be delighted to receive such positive feedback.

We are so incredibly delighted that your time with us was so special and that you got to see so many animals in addition to enjoying the rooms, food and people. We hope to see you back here in the very near future and on the Londolozi blog until then.

Much love
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Londolozi Private Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
439 reviews
7.4 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
385 reviews
7.2 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
MalaMala Main Camp
MalaMala Main Camp
#1 of 3 in Mala Mala Private Game Reserve
304 reviews
11.1 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#6 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
297 reviews
8.3 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Londolozi Founders Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londolozi Founders Camp

Property: Londolozi Founders Camp
Address: Londolozi Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting, intimate and child friendly, Founder’s Camp is ideally situated to provide an insider’s view of the secrets of river life. Seven idyllic chalets, repose in the shade of ancient ebony and matumi trees along the banks of the Sand River.This is an African safari in the classic style, replete with black and cream ticking fabric and original mahogany beds. Deep leather couches, military chests, compass safari lamps and a riverside lounge sala, create a mood of easy luxury and laid back welcome for discerning families and travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Londolozi Founders Camp South Africa/Londolozi Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing