We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
43
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild dogs blown away interesting stories an incredible experience game viewing beyond belief wish list bush dinner out of this world four nights living room afternoon drive outdoor shower virginia taylor pioneer champagne
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 43 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Our stay at Pioneer Camp was beyond belief! I cannot recommend it highly enough--not only for the amazing animal viewing--but also for the warm and gracious staff. That, I think, is their crowning glory. Yes, the game drives in morning and evening allowed us to see the Big Five almost immediately; however, the care, friendliness, and attitude of everyone made us feel like a cherished guest in their home, from the knock on the door with coffee at 5 a.m., until the dinner and drinks at night.

Our ranger and tracker were very proactive in asking us what WE wanted to see--not that we cared, as everything was amazing. Additionally, they not only positioned the vehicle to get the best picture possible, but they also gave fantastic photographic tips/suggestions, which resulted in some fabulous photos.

My husband is already talking about a return visit, and we've only been back two weeks!

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaJolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We spent part of our honeymoon at Londolozi and, thanks to the amazing staff, facilities and game drives, we had the best vacation of our lives. We stayed a couple nights at Varty Camp and a couple nights at Pioneer Camp. You can't go wrong with any of the camps but our room at the Pioneer Camp was THE nicest room that we have ever stayed in (room #1). We were blown away by how luxurious and spacious our residential building was along with how incredible the views were off the balcony.

Pioneer is more expensive and more private than Varty, but worth the expense for a special occasion. Varty was a busier camp, but still only 10 rooms so by no means crowded. If you want to have a couple cocktails with a few guests I would recommend Varty Camp; if you want to be secluded, then Pioneer. All the camps have the same high quality food; which was plentiful and delicious.

We are so very happy we chose Londolozi as we saw leopards and the big 5 every day. The rangers and trackers are also fantastic. Londolozi also has amongst the highest acreage so the best chance of seeing the most free roaming animals. We hope to get back again in a couple years.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFHillBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

A visit to Londolozi is a truly magnificent and unforgettable experience. My husband surprised me on our anniversary with a 4 day trip to this wilderness wonderland.

From the time we arrived, we were made to feel incredibly special and welcome. No request was too unreasonable - including my admittedly almost impossible request to view and photograph wild dog. I thought I would present them with a playful challenge :-)

My wish was their command, as our game ranger Mike and our tracker Freddy radioed the neighbouring parks to find the ever elusive wild dog. Singhita confirmed a sighting and the next day, with the teamwork between Mike, Freddy and the Singhita ranger and tracker, I was surprised and blessed to witness the painted dogs of Africa on a hunt.

Mike's keen eye for photography made sure we were perfectly positioned to get the best pics imaginable.

We will be back!!

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadTrippinCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We spent three nights at Londolozi Pioneer Camp followed by another three at Lion Sands Ivory Lodge (see separate review). All our expectations were met at Londolozi and more!

Our room in the newly refurbished Pioneer Camp was luxurious with a deck and small pool overlooking the Sand River. Each of the six morning and evening game drives we had were a different experience. On our first we were treated to the very rare sight of a pack of African Wild Dogs hunting and the actual kill of an Impala. We thought that couldn’t be beat, but next day we saw Leopard mating – there is some actual footage of this on their web site. We also saw the big five including Lion and a myriad of other animals. Our Ranger (Rex) and Tracker (Life) were incredibly skilled and knowledgeable, and would answer any question (even the stupid ones) with enthusiasm. Food and wine were excellent, with our butler Trevor looking after us. One night we were surprised by a romantic candlelight dinner on our private deck overlooking the pool. Another plus was the in-room wireless network.

For anybody contemplating an African safari, Londolozi would be hard to beat. Not cheap, but an experience to last a lifetime.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Completely agree with other positive reviews. We made our reservations very late, when no places were available at the Londolozi Tree or Varti camps. Initially we were a bit hesitant, given that the Pioneer camp lodges do not face the river and therefore you get a bit less of a chance to see animals from your room. However, we were absolutely pleased with our stay here. The accommodation at the Pioneer camp turned out to be excellent, with bigger and nicer rooms that at the neighboring Londolozi camp. It also has a fewer number of guests and you get a highly personalized service. Our guide Melvin and tracker Milton did a fantastic job and Melvin tried hard to provide as much information as possible. Would love to come back.

Date of stay: August 2009
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank stella-of-eo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews