We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Visit - it just gets better.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Londolozi Varty Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“2nd Visit - it just gets better.”
Reviewed April 3, 2010

My 2nd visit, since my engagement to my wife... this time with the in-parents in tow... It was simply incredible. I thought my first visit could not be repeated, but the staff and this brilliant reserve managed to deliver so much more. I've been to many reserves in Africa, but this has to be the best. Its an amazing reserve, with great camps and people working for them. I love the intimate family-run style nature of Londolozi, and its a privledge to have shared it on 2 occasions.

The wildlife and game-viewing is spectacular... 11 different leopards in 6 days (2 of them mating) , 2 prides of lion, male hippo battle, giraffe and elephant carcasses being fed on by lions and hyenas...And all the time you have the knowledge and amazing ability of some of the best game-rangers and trackers i've seen. (Graham "Stompi" and Rich were our ranger and tracker)

The rooms are fantastic, and when you're sitting in your plunge pool at night, listening to the lions roar... you'll never want to leave.

To the Vartys, all the staff at Londo, and in particluar, Kate, Graham, Doyle and co.. thx for a great experience

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyman-Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    1
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
79
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

What more can I say that has not already been said. Best massage I have had in the 10 years I have been going to the Sabi Sands, huge reserve and lots of leopards. Our guide knew every star and critters from the smallest insect and every bird. And it was fun! Terrific shop with clothes and gifts - definitely not Pier 1goods. Obviously wonderful food and wine. Loved the plunge pool on my deck with the sound of running water during my deck massages. Life is good.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventureTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW ZEALAND
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

The 3 days I spent with my mother in this safari camp where very nice. The staff is extremely kind, helpfull and friendly just like a big family. Food is good and excellent wine cellar.
The animals you can see are many and they come very close to the Jeeps so great pictures can be done.
Definitely the best safari Camp i have ever been, Friendly, relaxing and safe.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinotNoirlover57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
117 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

We spent 2 nights in a superior
chalet at varty camp and one night in a suite at pioneer camp. First we
should say that we had an amazing time, people could not have been nicer,
meals were delicious and bountiful. The game drives were exactly what we
wanted we saw everything we were hoping to see although it took the full 3
days to do so. They went above and boeyond to make our honeymoon extra
special. As far as the difference between the camps the staff, quality of
food seemed pretty similar to us, but the pioneer suite was noticably
nicer. We highly recommend this for anyone looking for a luxury safari
lodge.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful experience during our 6 night stay at the Varty Camp. The service and the game drives were outstanding. We saw every animal you could hope to see during our game drives, and the rangers were knowledgable and entertaining. The rooms include a comfortable king size bed and a separate bathroom with 2 sinks and a separate shower and tub, and a private deck with a plunge pool (but the weather was too cool to use the pool). The are 2 computers to use in a separate area, and wifi if you were in or near the computer center. My husband had stomach issues when we arrived, and Londolozi called a paramedic who gave him antibiotics - all of which occurred with no additional charge.
The only slight negative is that the food tends to be repetitive and limited - particularly at breakfast. However, there was always plenty to eat with 3 choices of an entree at dinner, and beer, wine and non-premium drinks are included.
Londolozi has other camps as well. Granite and Treetop Camps are smaller and more expensive, and their rooms are larger with more "amenities". However the food and game drives are the same at all camps, so the best value is the Varty Camp. We give Londolozi our highest recommendation.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank plains26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We were in cape town, kruger, okavango delta (two different lodges), and victoria falls. Although we loved the whole trip Londolozi Varty was our absolute favorite. My kids are 11,9,8 years old and this was also the favorite part of their trip. The staff was amazing, Our guide and tracker were the best. We saw so many different animals, including wild dogs, lions and leopards. They were so flexible. Dinners were great. I would highly recommend this camp. Feel free to email me with any questions.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank my3girlsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Agree with the previous review. We stayed four nights with our teenage daughters, and it is worth every penny. Londolozi is so special because it is very "intimate" - from the level of service to the premier animal viewing with world class rangers and trackers.

  • Liked — Safari game drives
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lindcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Londolozi Private Game Reserve
0.2 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
439 reviews
7.6 mi away
Savanna Private Game Reserve
Savanna Private Game Reserve
#4 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
404 reviews
7.6 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
397 reviews
7.2 mi away
Notten's Bush Camp
Notten's Bush Camp
#5 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
537 reviews
7.4 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Londolozi Varty Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londolozi Varty Camp

Property: Londolozi Varty Camp
Address: Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varty Camp is the home of an African safari holiday. All rooms have private swimming pools framed by timber decks that overlook the riverine bush. The living spaces are raised off the ground and shaded under a cathedral of trees. The camp has a pleasingly down-to-earth quality and the emphasis on family heritage means that children always have a place at Varty Camp.Varty Camp is also home to the original Sparta Hunting Camp, our boutique, the Cardio Vascular Room, Massage Treatment Room and our Library. Guests from all Camps are invited to make use of these facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Londolozi Varty Camp Hotel Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Varty Camp South Africa/Londolozi Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing