We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Londolozi Varty Camp
Nearby Hotels
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$40
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortis Hotel Capital(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$63
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$68
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
183
2
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
2
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvarty campthe riversafari experiencegame drivesplunge poolcommon areasamazing experienceperfect in every waysabi sandsmain deckspent three nightswild dogsour honeymoonevery mealsouth africaworth every pennyamazing staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 190 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

What an amazing trip and safari. We thought we knew what to expect but Londolozi far exceeded our expectations. This is truly an amazing place. We stayed at Varty Camp and the rooms were amazing. Plenty of room in both the bedroom and the bathroom was huge. All rooms are very private and all have great views from the deck. We saw all of the Big 5 and some amazing interactions between the animals, such as a Leopard trying to steal a Lion's kill and Lion cubs playing. The public areas are amazing and the meals are fantastic. The entire staff goes above and beyond to make you feel special and the service is unparalled. We have to mention the staff members specifically as they are all very special people to us. Simone and Richard, thank you for everything you did for us to make this a truly amazing experience. All of the extra touches and attention are greatly appreciated. You are the best. And Margaret, thank you you taking such good care of us at all of our meals. You are a dear, sweet person. To Dan, our Ranger, you are not only a great Ranger but a great person. You have a great sense of humor and your knowledge is amazing. We could never thank you enough for all you did for us. And Ahti, our tracker, has the eyes of an eagle. Just an amazing job. And Chris, thank you for the incredible stop on our afternoon safari. We know how much effort went into setting that up and we are so appreciative of you and your entire staff for making this a trip we will never forget. This was to be a once-in-a-lifetme trip for us but have to find a way to return. We feel as though we have left friends and family and we miss you all. And that is what was so extra special about Londolozi - all of the staff makes you feel like you are a part of the Londolozi family. We love you all.

We hope to see you again in the near future. Scott & Cathy

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott2270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Varty Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Scott and Cathy,

It is so wonderful to know that you feel part of the family! I will be sure to send your kind words onto Richard, Simone, Margaret and the rest of the Varty camp family.

We look forward to welcoming you to your bush home again soon!

Much Love,
Your Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed 7 nights at Londolozi in August and loved it!! Londolozi is the most amazing place I have ever been to. The staff is excellent, the rooms were warm & cozy, the views amazing, the safari drives incredible!! It was very peaceful, relaxing and exciting!! We saw the big 5 and so much more!! The staff went above and beyond to make our stay perfect! Margaret waited on us everyday and always had a smile and my wine!!! Simone & Richard greeted us everyday and made sure we had everything we needed or wanted. Oxide & Greg, the best Ranger and Tracker ever!! Oxide amazed us everyday with his tracking skills and his knowledge of the Bush. Greg's passion for the animals is so real and he taught us so much about them. He made sure we were able to get the best pictures possible. We loved the coffee stops in the morning and the cocktails in the evening!! Thank you to all the Londolozi staff from housekeeping to managers, you are all awesome!! If you want to go on Safari, this is the place to go!! Can't wait to vacation here again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Varty Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Bdun54,

What a wonderful review on Londolozi Varty Camp. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay so very much and were looked after so well! I will be sure to send your kind words onto Trevor, Oxide, Richard, Simon and all of the Varty Camp family.

We look so forward to your next visit.

Much love,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The safari was to be the highlight of our 3 week long trip to South Africa. Naturally, I spent a considerable amount of time researching private game lodges.

We are fortunate people, and could afford to stay at an expensive private game reserve. I first decided that Sabi Sands is where we wanted to be.

We also had to look for lodges that would accommodate children. Many private game lodges had age restrictions, and did not allow children. Our children are 12 and 10.

We looked closely at Londolozi, Mala Mala Main Camp, Lion Sands River Lodge, and Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge.

We choose Londolozi in the end based on the size and quality of the land itself, the size of the camps, and the number of people allowed in each game drive vehicle. We wanted no more than 6 people per vehicle. That was very important to us. Of course, we also looked at the reviews for each lodge.

To have the best safari experience, you need the best ranger and tracker team. According to the reviews, it seemed everyone's rangers and trackers were the best.

We most certainly had the best ranger and tracker team ever! Our ranger was Ntsako, and our tracker was Oxide.

Ntsako was a happy young fellow, full of energy, . It was obvious how much he loved his job, and that he had a great passion for the bush life. It is always a pleasure for me to encounter people who are passionate and happy with their work.

Oxide is a highly experienced tracker. He had a certain confidence about him, and was always very calm. After a couple of game drives, we discovered that he had a quite a sense of humor too.

Of course we saw the Big Five, all of them up close right next to us too. Plus lots and lots of birds and all kinds of herd animal sightings. We learned so much interesting facts and tales about each and every wildlife, and about the bush. Even more, our game drives were full of laughter and happy memories. Ntsako and Oxide were professionals and fun people.

We stayed at the Varty camp for 3 nights (They have 5 camps, only Varty and Founder camps allow children). We had rooms 5 and 6, and they inter connected these rooms for us.

The accommodations were just like the pictures. The bathrooms were huge, with double sinks, large tub, separate big show, and toilet area.

I loved the outdoor deck area. Both of our rooms had huge outdoor decks with views over the river bed down below, and the deck areas had a nice shade of natural trees and leaves.

The deck is very large, I think we could have invited 15 people over. It has a nice sized plunge pool, areas with loungers and chairs.

The mini bar was always well stocked with water, soft drinks, wine, beer etc. It was included in the rates. Almost everything was inclusive, including the laundry service.

The meals were excellent as expected.

A true piece of luxury there was having wifi in the middle of the bush. I used it everyday inside the room or outside on the deck.

All the staff at the lodge were attentive, friendly, and courteous.

Yes, it was expensive. But we thought the quality of the game drives, the accommodation, and the service provided great value for the money we spent. We thought it was worth every penny.

We would love to stay here again, and highly recommend the Londolozi camps.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveler852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Varty Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear HappyTreveler852,

Thank you for the kind words about Londolozi Varty Camp. We know how much time and effort goes into booking a trip like this and we are so glad to hear that is was worth every second. We will be sure to send your kind words to Nstako, Oxide and all the staff at Varty camp who made your stay so special.

Much Love,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

There are not enough words to describe this place.We stayed at Founders camp #3.The views are breath taking ,the food is to dye for.Service is awesome,and to top all this as it is not enough then you go out twice a day on Safari with the greatest ranger and trackers(ours Melvin and Milton M&M (PalaPala))Saw every animal on the book and spectacles such as mating Leopards and to many others to describe.I would go back anytime.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nefrologosarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Varty Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear nefrologosarasota,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Varty Camp at Londolozi. I will be sure to send your regards to Melvin, Milton and the whole Varty Camp family.

Much love,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is just a wonderful place. From the moment we arrived until we left service was superb, and the staff genuinely cares about the quality of your experience. Accomadations at Varty Camp are excellent, very comfortable, and with wonderful views to wake up to. The game drives are awesome, especially if you get Trevor, who made sure we saw it all. Getting the Big 5 was done on Day 1, and each succeeding drive was excellent in its own way. Food was great and well varied by Chef Anna.Coffee on the deck a true treat. If you want a first class comfortable safari where you see it all, this is the place to deliver it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Varty Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear J S

Thank you for the wonderful review on Varty Camp. I will be sure to send your kind words onto Anna, Trevor and all at Varty Camp who made your stay to enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Londolozi in the near future.

Much Love,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews