We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We love this place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruidoso Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ruidoso Mountain Inn
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We love this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We have come for the Golden Aspen Rally for three years now and always stay here. We love it. The people are great and it is very clean. We also like that it is very quiet for a biker rally. We will see you next year!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulSchm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    29
    24
    18
    8
See reviews for
38
34
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Friendly receptionist she was very helpful and informative of what areas to visit and dine at. The hotel offers hot breakfast, the lady attending the breakfast area was constantly cleaning any dirty tables people would leave behind. She kept attending to everyone need. I would stay their again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 960Salinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

If youre looking for a good pillow and a nice mattress, you had better bring your own. We are Platnum Members and we travel alot. We were disappointed with the dated room and we were VERY disappointed with the worn out mattress and pillows. The pillows smelled and were just pieces of fluff in a pillow case that caused your head to hit the mattress when you laid it down to rest. I mean really? We wasted 20,000 Priority Club pts on this hotel??
On the up-side, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful but we knew they were hindered by the lack of quality of the room....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrynTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ruidoso hotels

Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I've given this hotel two stars- one for the front desk staff who were really friendly and the second for the breakfast.

What I didn't like was how old the hotel was... it looked worn and desperately needs an update. The carpet is old and the beds could be replaced. The bathroom sink is outside of the tub and toilet. I don't know why this design was approved but its horrible. The faucet leaked and shot water out to the side so everything on the right side of the sink got wet.

There are a lot of places to stay in Ruidoso, I'd recommend looking somewhere else, especially for what they charge in relation to what you get.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ruidoso Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear JenTexas,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am pleased you appreciated our front desk staff and the breakfast. Please accept my deepest apologies for the issues you had with the layout and the condition of our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

While visiting Ruidoso we ended up walking into the reception area of the Holiday Inn to ask for directions. While we were not staying at the hotel, I would expect a friendly greeting and at least some assistance. The person behind the front desk was surly and definitely not that halpful. I will definitely not be staying at this hotel on future visits even though I am a member of the Holiday Inn loyalty club.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KenwynC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ruidoso Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear KenwynC,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We pride ourselves in our superior customer service and friendly accommodations. Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings of our front office staff. We value you as a guest and your patronage to the Priority Club Rewards program is very important to us. Thank you for your feedback as this gives us an avenue to improve on the services we offer to our guest.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto, New Mexico
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Because of the Little Bear fire, we were recently evacuated from our place in Alto, and our first choice was to head to the Holiday Inn Express. And this was our best experience of this horrible day. Even though the hotel was full of visitors, the staff did everything they could to accommodate us, other evacuees, and the wonderful firemen. Mitzi found us a room and as early as possible, which was really appreciated as we also helped out with the fire the night before we got kicked out. Even though a lot of the staff were having the same problems as we were, they were fantastic cleaning the rooms, had a full breakfast for us, and the hotel was immaculate. Yeah, OK, the property is a bit dated, but with these kind of fantastic people and wonderful, sincerely helpful people, this really is like staying with friends. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

While the breakfast and the staff are nice - the rooom we had was in dire need of an update. The sink was really chipped and leaked most of the night - the bed was way too soft and should have been replaced a long time ago and the towels were paper thin. Compared to other Holiday Inn Express this one fell short. We had to wait to sit down for breakfast as it was really crowded.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the exits as it is noisy as people come in and out at all hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highwaytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ruidoso Mountain Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear highwaytrip,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
3.3 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Suites
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
3.3 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 23 in Ruidoso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#3 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruidoso Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruidoso Mountain Inn

Property: Ruidoso Mountain Inn
Address: 400 West Hwy. 70, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ruidoso Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Ruidoso, New Mexico. While visiting the Playground of the Southwest, whether skiing at Ski Apache, trying your luck at three nearby Casinos, or playing the odds at Ruidoso Downs Racetrack & Billy the Kid Casino, home of the worlds richest Quarterhorse Race, The All American Futurity. Enjoy the nearby Spencer Theater. Come discover New Mexico's best kept secret, with a year round moderate climate. Ruidoso offers an abundance of real estate, great restaurants, cabins, shopping and beautiful mountain scenery in southern New Mexico. Our hotel features 104 guestrooms with 6 suites. We have an outdoor seasonal pool as well as an outdoor hot tub that stays open year around. We have 3 floors with an interior corridor and an elevator. Join us every morning for a Smart Start Complimentary Continental Breakfast. We can also host meetings with a maximum of 30 occupants. Let the Holiday Inn Express Hotel be your home away from home with the quality and comfort you expect, and deserve. Allow us to accommodate your needs while visiting Ruidoso, New Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ruidoso Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ruidoso Hotel Ruidoso
Holiday Inn Ruidoso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing