We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Ruidoso
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveler rating
306
67
9
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
306
67
9
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews toaster oven front porch hot tub two person jacuzzi tub love seat small kitchen hummingbird feeders gas fireplace cool mountain air comfortable bed within walking distance grounds are beautiful get away place to stay room was large new mexico close to downtown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 391 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2019

We stayed at one of the cabins for the week of Thanksgiving. Very cozy, comfy, and super clean! The bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept on. The only drawback is that there is no privacy when taking a bath/shower. Not a big deal for us, just kinda took us by surprise. I am ready to go back!

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank Gretchen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Awesome. Thank you for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2019

I've never been a fan of remote innkeeping, and this place confirmed my worst convictions. Our room was large, but airless and desperately in need of a good cleaning. The back window opened, allowing you to hear the neighbor's noise — considerable, at times. The front one didn't open at all, and if you opened the curtains, you lost your privacy. The bed was truly uncomfortable; the bathroom had no soap, and no housekeeping was offered at all, so there was no one to ask for it. And the kitchenette was poorly appointed — to plug in the toaster, you had to move it and place it in a weird, precarious location.

Room tip: At another inn.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

We are always sad when someone feels it necessary to place a review like this online. At least it proves that we do not pay to remove false reviews. Not one word of this is true, just look at the hundreds of previous star reviews to prove that point. This person showed up in a miserable mood, wanted to leave early and get a full refund. It happens from time to time just like in every other business. Sad indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2019

The cabin and grounds were amazing and relaxing. My wife and I enjoyed the quiet surroundings that made for a romantic weekend. We stayed at the Shadow Main and enjoyed some of the amenities. The jacuzzi, patio furniture, and fireplace all came in handy. Also, the service was on point and the room was super clean upon arrival. Thank you for the memorable weekend. We will definately be back again.

Room tip: Quiet Surroundings
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

So pleased that we fulfilled out promise of 100% satisfaction. Come again very soon and happy anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2019

This was our second stay at Shadow Mountain Lodge. In a pretty area and location is easy to find. Rooms very comfortable, has reclining love seat and the hard to find KING size bed. Kitchen furnished with everything needed. Has a gas grill for outdoor cooking. We've stayed at other places in the past but Shadow Mountain Lodge is our favorite.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Thank you so much for returning. Our staff works very hard to make sure everything is just right every time, so it is gratifying to hear your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2019

We stayed here along with 6 other couples for a kids free get-a-way weekend. The location was great and easy to find. Just keep in mind that the main office/check in is not located at the same location, however it's close by on Sudderth road. We stayed in room 116 and it was nicely updated with wood floors and a beautiful vanity with a bowl sink. The fire place was a nice touch, but it was too warm to use it. I probably wouldn't bring my children to this location since the rooms only have king size beds. Deer frequented the property every evening and were suprisingly tame (one came right up to me and puts its nose in my hand, with out food!). I will definatley remember this place for out future adult only weekends.

Room tip: The rooms from 115-119 are more updated than the rest. Wood floors and beautiful bathroom vanity with a bowl sink.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Erin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Perfect! You nailed what we are all about. If you bring the kids at some point we have over 100 lodge rooms and cabins with lots of options from those that sleep 2 to 4 to 6 to 10 to 12 people. There is something for everyone. Call us and let us find the perfect cabin for you when you plan your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews