We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best getaway we've had in years!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Artesia, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best getaway we've had in years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Cabin 301 for 3 nights in June and had the most wonderful time! The cabin was absolutely clean and well appointed. The grounds were gorgeous, full of flowers that time of year and of course the hummingbirds, deer, and other wildlife kept us on the lookout for the natural entertainment that awaited us! We caught trout at Grindstone Reservoir and made dinner using the outdoor grill for the fish and all the other dishes in our cabin's kitchen. We also used the kitchen for breakfast and to pack picnic lunches when we went hiking. We ate dinner at some great restaurants downtown. The cabin was cozy and perfect for a romantic getaway for us and we will plan a return visit in 2014, in fact I am looking forward to it already!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Nice! Isn't it great when you can take in the entire offering that Ruidoso presents. Hiking, fishing, dining, wildlife. We look forward to having you back. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    56
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
33
240
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

The cabin with a fireplace was perfect for a cold December night. The bed was comfortable and the place was clean and roomy. Sheila at the front desk was very helpful. She knew a lot about the history of the area. She helped direct us to restaurants and gave us a suggestion for a wonderful back road trip to Santa Fe. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
So glad that you enjoyed your stay. Come again any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great location, walking distance to the shops & restaurants, and the staff was very friendly & attentive. We stayed in Cabin 301 due to comments previously & were absolutely pleased, it was equipped with everything you could need. The bed was very comfortable & the reclining loveseat was nice to watch TV & enjoy the fire below. There was a little restaurant across the street called Pena's and the breakfast food was great! I'm sure all of it is good. Throughout the day, the deer would graze on the Lodge grounds & the owners even gave us food so we could feed them out of our hands. It was an amazing site to see. Also, across the street from the Lodge is a nice mountain stream, great for picture taking. I also peaked in the Lodge rooms & they were really nice so I would probably stay in one of them if I ever went back. The grounds were very nice & decorated for Christmas & we were there in mid November so it was nice. I would highly recommend this place to stay & any of the rooms would be great!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Reviews like this are warming and we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches,Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Nice quiet place, in a handy location. Close to Inn of the Mountain Gods Casino, downtown, and ski slopes. The owner and staff are friendly, and goes out of the way to help with reservations. The location has large trees , pleasant surroundings. The rooms are large, with a fireplace ,kitchen, and covered porch with chairs...hot tub....outdoor firestand and easy parking. All and all a good deal, with either a private cabin or lodge room.. Also very clean and organized...we enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Cabin or lodgeroom, all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words. We try very hard to make SML as comfortable as possible and we are happy that you were able to take advantage of our many amenities. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel was great. Beautiful location that is close to the town amenities. Room very clean and very comfortable bed. Hotel amenties are great. Brand new in ground outdoor hot tub was great way to relax after a full day of hiking the wonderful trails. Pet friendly hotel so we were able to bring out dog. Friendly staff and very helpful. Enjoyed the fire-starter log provided for the fireplace in the room. Definetely would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your stay! Nice when folks use the hot tub too. Come again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very much enjoyed the time I spent at Shadow Mountain. The room was clean and beautiful and the grounds were very well kept. Would return in a heart beat. Thank You. This has been my second trip to Ruidosa and have stayed at Shadow Mountain and Whispering Pines both times. Beautiful places to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thanks for the kind review. You know you are always welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We cannot wait to return! This was the perfect location and accommodations. We had several rooms for several nights and wish that we could have all stayed longer. The cabin grounds included a fire pit, bar-b-q area and a hot tub. Each morning we were greeted with deer and birds for a delightful morning start. The rooms were well equipped with refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishes,pots and pans. Restaurants were close but we preferred to stay on the grounds and enjoy the mountain air. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We look forward to a return engagement!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruidoso
2.0 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Suites
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
1.3 mi away
Village Lodge
Village Lodge
#14 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
#2 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Property: Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Address: 107 Main Rd, Ruidoso, NM 88345-6336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins are located in the Historic "Upper Canyon" of Ruidoso - only a short stroll to Mid-Town's Shops, Galleries, Dining and Night Life. We are within 5 - 10 minutes of all 3 Casinos, Horse Racing and Ski Apache turnoff. We are New Owners as of April, 2012. Our Lodge rooms have all been updated with a Mountain Decor to include Bear Mountain Quilts & Inspiring Artwork. Relax on our Large Covered Veranda & enjoy our Beautiful Gardens, Hot Tub and BBQ area. Our Lodge Rooms have a King Bed, Fireplace, TV/DVD, Full Bath and Full Kitchenette. Our Romantic Cabins have open vaulted ceilings, Knotty Pine Interiors, Doubled Sided Gas Fireplace, 180 degree swivel TV/DVD, 2 Person Whirlpools and Private Decks. Shadow Mountain has been a long time favorite for those who visit Ruidoso and has consistently been voted "Best Place To Stay" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Hotel Ruidoso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing