We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cabin hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great cabin hotel”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel was great. Beautiful location that is close to the town amenities. Room very clean and very comfortable bed. Hotel amenties are great. Brand new in ground outdoor hot tub was great way to relax after a full day of hiking the wonderful trails. Pet friendly hotel so we were able to bring out dog. Friendly staff and very helpful. Enjoyed the fire-starter log provided for the fireplace in the room. Definetely would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your stay! Nice when folks use the hot tub too. Come again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    60
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
33
248
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very much enjoyed the time I spent at Shadow Mountain. The room was clean and beautiful and the grounds were very well kept. Would return in a heart beat. Thank You. This has been my second trip to Ruidosa and have stayed at Shadow Mountain and Whispering Pines both times. Beautiful places to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thanks for the kind review. You know you are always welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We cannot wait to return! This was the perfect location and accommodations. We had several rooms for several nights and wish that we could have all stayed longer. The cabin grounds included a fire pit, bar-b-q area and a hot tub. Each morning we were greeted with deer and birds for a delightful morning start. The rooms were well equipped with refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishes,pots and pans. Restaurants were close but we preferred to stay on the grounds and enjoy the mountain air. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We look forward to a return engagement!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here based on reviews and location and were very pleased with the cabins and the inn keepers. The cabin was exceptionally clean, comfortable and quiet. Marilyn was very helpful and friendly and had good information on the local area. Although the cabin has a good kitchen, we were not there to cook so can highly recommend breakfast at Pena's which is a short walk from the cabin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for the kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed you experience. Come gain anytime! p.s. We love Pena's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poteet, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We planned a last minute trip to Ruidoso and stayed here based on others reviews. We were not disappointed. The location is perfect- just away from the main road enough so it's quiet at night but still close to all the attractions. Although this is "a place for couples", they gladly welcomed my four year old daughter. They just asked for no running or yelling which is understandable and reasonable. The room just the right size for the three of us and was very comfortable. The property is gorgeous and the staff was very helpful. I would highly recommended staying here!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JnjnjA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for the kind review. Shadow Mountain was once for couples only, but it seemed unreasonable to us to turn away responsible folks who have a small child with them. It has been a successful experiment. Thanks for proving us right. Come again anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here based on TripAdvisor reviews and it was just as described. Clean and comfortable with room to relax. Well equipped kitchen. Nice place to stay. Location is convenient but most restaurants are not within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erma92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thanks for the review. If restaurants were you concern we could have helped with that. There are several within a one to ten minute stroll from the lodge and our in room lodge books list all of them for your convenience. Come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuck in North Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We got to Riodoso and stayed at the Shadow Mt Cabins where we had stayed before. It has changed hands a couple of times, and we were hoping it would still be the same quality as before. Since it was autumn we got a deal with the 4th night “free”.

We like these cabins because there is a kitchenette where you can really cook, and a fireplace. A celling fan, good TV and VCR and a couple of chairs on the front porch where you can enjoy the wildlife if it’s the right time of year. The bed is quite comfortable. There are plates and bowls for 2 people (the cabins are for two adults) and 3 each of the utensils. There was a frying pan and two sauce pans. I made bacon and eggs for breakfast and a pan of chile one night. Will grilled sausage outside on the community grill, so we enjoyed not having to eat every meal out - unless we chose to.

We especially enjoy it here because it is quiet - no kids yelling - and only saw one dog around. We will continue to stay here as long as it is a peaceful getaway!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brahmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Glad you returned and you can count on continued improvements and a relaxed atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruidoso
2.0 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
2.7 mi away
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#3 of 23 in Ruidoso
190 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites - Ruidoso Hwy 70
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Property: Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Address: 107 Main Rd, Ruidoso, NM 88345-6336
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins are located in the Historic "Upper Canyon" of Ruidoso - only a short stroll to Mid-Town's Shops, Galleries, Dining and Night Life. We are within 5 - 10 minutes of all 3 Casinos, Horse Racing and Ski Apache turnoff. We are New Owners as of April, 2012. Our Lodge rooms have all been updated with a Mountain Decor to include Bear Mountain Quilts & Inspiring Artwork. Relax on our Large Covered Veranda & enjoy our Beautiful Gardens, Hot Tub and BBQ area. Our Lodge Rooms have a King Bed, Fireplace, TV/DVD, Full Bath and Full Kitchenette. Our Romantic Cabins have open vaulted ceilings, Knotty Pine Interiors, Doubled Sided Gas Fireplace, 180 degree swivel TV/DVD, 2 Person Whirlpools and Private Decks. Shadow Mountain has been a long time favorite for those who visit Ruidoso and has consistently been voted "Best Place To Stay" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Hotel Ruidoso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing