We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Winter Wonderland Holiday Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins to your Saves list
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
East New Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland Holiday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed over the Christmas holiday and were blown away! We stayed in one of their cabins (for me the only way to stay in this awesome hotel!) The grounds were decorated, as well as each cabin. There was a simple & charming Christmas tree in the living area & a wreath on each cabin door... The grounds were lite up & the whole place felt alive & magical. The hotel is set away from Main Street & loads of tourist, so the stay was super quiet & serene. This was our second stay in 4 month period & it was everything we hoped for. There was even sleigh rides (horse-driven) right next door to add to the charm. For me, this is the one & only place to stay in Ruidoso and I am already planning my next stay!!

Room Tip: For more privacy and serenity, book a cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We also love Christmas in the Canyon and folks like you make all the work worth it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    52
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
27
226
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hubby, me, and our sweet dog, Cleo, needed to escape from the crazy family that runs us ragged at Christmas so we ran off to New Mexico. We picked the lodge at the Shadow Mountain Lodge and it was FANTASTIC! Do yourself a favor and stay with Marilyn and Chuck for a stress free vacation. The rooms are clean and decorated so homey it is perfect ( down to the little pine Christmas tree in the room). The bed was so comfy and the room had a little reclining love seat we loved. Our first night we tried to hook up our Xbox to watch movies and play games but the tv was an older model so we could not hook it up. We called the front desk and Marilyn said her husband would be there the next morning to look at it. The next morning Chuck brought a brand NEW tv just out of the box to our room Wow I was blown away. He visited with us about local restaurants and other property's while he hooked it up. We ended up eating at several of them (great local food).
The back of the main office is a cabinet of movies (on the honor system how quaint ) and a wheel barrel full of self starter logs and you get one free a day... It's the small stuff friends that hooks ya. Uber pet friendly to boot. These folks have it down. This is the place to stay. We will go again and again. Thanks Chuck and Marilyn for making it almost impossible for us to stay anywhere else in Ruidoso!

Room Tip: You can choose a cabin or the lodge either here is win!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlette13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We love when folks like you enjoy the property and the hospitality that we strive to impart on every guest. Also, thanks for giving us the excuse to replace that old TV. It was a pleasure visiting with ya'll and we sure look forward to you getting back this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I made reservations for me and my son for an early spring break getaway. It was my first time in Ruidoso and my son's first time skiing. Reservations were made easily and they were able to change the dates based on some work issues on my end. I chose one of the lodges vs. the cabins but would have been just as happy in either I presume. The grounds were very pretty and the lodge is in the "upper canyon" which in my opinion is the prettiest portion of Ruidoso. They aided me in getting lift tickets and our ski rentals along with my reservation which was appreciated. There was plenty of parking right up close to our room which was nice lugging skis and boots back and forth from the room. The room itself is very nice with a kitchenette with a small fridge, microwave, range and sink. The room was appointed in typical lodge fashion with lots of wood and bear themed decor. The fireplace is very nice and they give you a duraflame log with which to keep your evenings toasty. If that is not enough there is a covered hot tub which we used on two nights. There are also accessible DVD's to watch. The bed was comfy and the hot water was instantaneous. The location was perfect as it is close to Mechem (the main road north to the ski area) and Midtown where most of the shopping and restaurants are located. To be clear it is a 10 minute drive to Ski Run road and then another 12mi on a well kept but very windy and narrow mountain drive to the ski area for a total of around 35 to 40 minutes to get to the ski location. There are some places to stay slightly closer, but unless you can find a cabin on ski run road (and I would say that is unlikely or much pricier) there is not a lodge that is in a better location. Ruidoso is very into helping the environment and SML is part of this. Because of this they ask you to hang a sign if you want the room refreshed or towels changed. I am pretty low maintenance, however, on the day before we left I hung the sign out at around 10:30 and we arrived back at 2:45 and the room had not been refreshed. It wasn't really a big deal, but figured I'd mention it. I assume had I asked it could have been cleaned in a heartbeat, but like I said, not that big of a deal. There are LOTS of places to stay in Ruidoso including some other very nice establishments, however, for the price and what you get SML cannot be beat. I will definitely be back and will definitely stay at SML.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and sorry about the slow maid service. Spring break can be crazy, but, no excuses, we should have had it done by 2:30. Hope to see ya back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We decided to stay the weekend here recently after our hunting trip. We made a last-minute reservation and arrived late in the evening. Miss Marilyn was the nicest person on the phone and in person. She gave us driving directions and was so pleasant about every aspect of the reservation. We had to call and change our arrival time due to a delay in our journey, but she explained where our key card would be, where to park our camper, etc. We did get there just before closing and were greeted as if we were the first arrivals of the day. It is so wonderful to see that there are still some nice, genuine people left in the world. She explained everything in detail, she was very professional and helpful. That was just the beginning :). We got to the room and it was like heaven....fireplace, comfy couch, hot water on demand system (hot shower was great after being in the woods for several days!), extremely clean room, comfortable bed, beautiful matching lodge decor, cute kitchen with a table, small fridge, microwave, toaster oven, coffee pot and all the cookware, dishes and utensils needed to prepare your meals there if you choose not to eat out. We BBQ'd one night on their gas grills - that was great! You can sit outside and enjoy the views in their courtyard or take it back to your room. They have central hot tub, cable tv, wi-fi and movies you can check out. It's quiet and inviting - we didn't want to go home lol. We had such a relaxing visit that we are going back this weekend! Thanks for everything and look forward to seeing you soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariat4522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We love it when folks like you stay with us, especially discovering us for the first time. Shadow Mountain is simply a great place and we are honored to be a part of it. Your words mean a great deal to us and we look forward to seeing you back! Thanks!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Super nice couple owns and runs the hotel. Great room, looks brand new, great location close to restaurants (eat at Ranchers and Penas which are within walking distance). Loved the fireplace! We are readers so we appreciated the reading lights by the bed and fireplace and the extra book. Next time we will enjoy the hot tub, outdoor bbq's and comfy chairs on the porch.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinandDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thanks for the kinds words. We have worked very hard to get Shadow Mountain back to its former glory and it sounds like you agree! Come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A fireplace, efficincy kitchen, cabin like furnishings they are are just great. And a hot tub too. Pet friendly although i did not bring fido. Clean and no sign of pets in the room.

I'd stay here again. Very resonably priced.

Room Tip: all the rooms looked great wiith porch chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
So glad you enjyed your stay. And yes, bring your furry freind next time as we have pet friendly rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife would tell others that I go overboard when it comes to looking for the best places to stay on vacation. I spend hours researching hotels, so when I found this little place on Trip Advisor, we decided to give it a shot because of all the good reviews. We were not disappointed...

First of all, this hotel has a great location. It is just out of the main town and up into the "upper canyon". There are plenty of tall trees and it really feels like you are in the forest. It is quite and there is minimal traffic in the area.

The property is very nice with great decorations, wooden totem pole with carvings, and great ambiance. The rooms themselves are large (we stayed in a lodge room) with an attached kitchen, a reclining couch and logs for a fire each night. The bed was very comfortable, which is saying something for me, because I usually don't sleep that great.

All in all, we were very pleased with our two nights here on our weekend ski trip and we would definitely return. The price was great and they took care of all the details for our ski trip for us, including rentals and lift tickets. We know where we will be staying next time we are in Ruidoso.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 103. It overlooks the cabins and has a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words, it reflects nicely on us and our staff who all work very hard to make every stay memorable. Looking forward to seeing you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruidoso
2.0 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Suites
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#6 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#3 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
2.7 mi away
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
1.3 mi away
Village Lodge
Village Lodge
#14 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Property: Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Address: 107 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins are located in the Historic "Upper Canyon" of Ruidoso - only a short stroll to Mid-Town's Shops, Galleries, Dining and Night Life. We are within 5 - 10 minutes of all 3 Casinos, Horse Racing and Ski Apache turnoff. We are New Owners as of April, 2012. Our Lodge rooms have all been updated with a Mountain Decor to include Bear Mountain Quilts & Inspiring Artwork. Relax on our Large Covered Veranda & enjoy our Beautiful Gardens, Hot Tub and BBQ area. Our Lodge Rooms have a King Bed, Fireplace, TV/DVD, Full Bath and Full Kitchenette. Our Romantic Cabins have open vaulted ceilings, Knotty Pine Interiors, Doubled Sided Gas Fireplace, 180 degree swivel TV/DVD, 2 Person Whirlpools and Private Decks. Shadow Mountain has been a long time favorite for those who visit Ruidoso and has consistently been voted "Best Place To Stay" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Hotel Ruidoso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing