We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here for a ski trip. Of the 31 years of skiing, Ski Ruidoso was the worst place we have skied. It was not Shadow Mountain Lodge's fault. They were very accommodating when we re-scheduled our trip and when we turned in our ski equipment two days early. If we do return to Ruidoso, we will stay here. Only negative aspect was the kitchenette; it is really small. I had prepared all of our dinners so it worked out. I would not like to cook an entire meal using a two burner cook top and the very little counter space. In addition, hooks would be helpful for ski jackets.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thanks for the kind words. It was a pleasure having you folks stay with us and we look forward to you making it back this way again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    60
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
33
248
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our first stay at Shadow Mountain Lodge and we were pleasantly delighted. The quiet, charming setting is ideal for couples. The cozy fireplace and memory foam king bed added to the relaxing environment. And the hot tub is private enough to relax in after a day on the slopes. It's conveniently located off the main strip but if feels like you are further out because it's so quiet. It just a few minutes from the casino and a short trip to Ski Apache. We booked a ski package and it was absolutely hassle free, Wild Wild West Ski Shop took great care of us and we had no issues getting our equipment and lift tickets. We look forward to staying there on our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
So glad you guys had fun and we'll be sure to pass on the compliments to our friends at Wild West. We look forward to seeing you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We decided to stay here during Valentine's day week. Best decision ever, great staff and great service. We stayed at lodge 101, right next to the road. No noise, just quiet. Perfect way to start the day. Best part is the hot tub outside. After a day at the slopes you can't beat that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shywolf28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for the kind words. We love when folks enjoy the property and especially the hot tub! Come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We liked coming here. My husband and I stayed in a lodge and it was really cozy. It's not very updated but that gives it some character and charm. We loved the fireplace. Is pretty close to town, you could walk if you wanted. The owner was so nice and helpful and went out of her way to accommodate us because we just had a baby and don't often have someone to watch our children. We really appreciated that, which is why I am writing am excellent review. In my opinion, if an owner is willing to help a customer, then their hotel, even if it isn't new, is far better than the newer, bigger ones. Our only complaint was that it was so quiet we couldn't sleep, since we are used to the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Glad you loved our place. We have invested a great deal in updating our rooms without affecting the Lodge Charm that makes it different from the box hotels. Some of what we have done includes the cool art work, the 26 inch flat screens and DVD' players, DVD rentals, the Donna Sharp hand made quilt sets, the expanded Webber Grill Centers and lots of little things. Thanks for noticing and come again soon. p.s. The quiet is something we can't do much about, but you do get used to it. ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snyder, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We made a last minute trip to Ruidoso and were so lucky that Shadow Mountain had a cabin available. This was our first time staying there and we could not have been more pleased. Quiet, clean, comfortable...perfect! The grounds were tidy & lovely, even in the midst of winter. The folks in the office were very friendly and made everything easy. Location is perfect! Within walking distance to downtown. Hoping to stay again, sooner than later!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thaqnks for the kind words. We love it when guests see in Shadow Mountain what we do. Looking forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Quiet, little place with warm and cozy accommodations.. We loved it and would recommend this place to anyone looking for affordable yet awesome accommodations . We loved the bed ( very comfortable ) the fireplace added a nice touch. We had great service all the way around...love.d the ski package and the hot tub was so nice and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbieBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks for the great review. Always nice to hear that folks enjoyed their stay. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

An excellent place to stay for a weekend! We came to Ruidoso for a snowboarding trip and were very pleased with everything. We felt like we were in a home and not a hotel. Loved the cabins! They had a great fireplace to snuggle by after a day on the slopes. A great kitchenette, nice comfy bed, a great big shower... The list goes on.

Not only was the stay great but the staff is awesome. They recommended some good places to eat and some places to check out while in town. The housekeeping also did a great job keeping our cabin clean and tidy throughout the weekend!

A great place to stay!! We will be coming back!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We are so glad that you had a great time and that we were able to make your stay enjoyable. Looking forward to seeing you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruidoso
2.0 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
2.7 mi away
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#3 of 23 in Ruidoso
190 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites - Ruidoso Hwy 70
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Property: Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Address: 107 Main Rd, Ruidoso, NM 88345-6336
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins are located in the Historic "Upper Canyon" of Ruidoso - only a short stroll to Mid-Town's Shops, Galleries, Dining and Night Life. We are within 5 - 10 minutes of all 3 Casinos, Horse Racing and Ski Apache turnoff. We are New Owners as of April, 2012. Our Lodge rooms have all been updated with a Mountain Decor to include Bear Mountain Quilts & Inspiring Artwork. Relax on our Large Covered Veranda & enjoy our Beautiful Gardens, Hot Tub and BBQ area. Our Lodge Rooms have a King Bed, Fireplace, TV/DVD, Full Bath and Full Kitchenette. Our Romantic Cabins have open vaulted ceilings, Knotty Pine Interiors, Doubled Sided Gas Fireplace, 180 degree swivel TV/DVD, 2 Person Whirlpools and Private Decks. Shadow Mountain has been a long time favorite for those who visit Ruidoso and has consistently been voted "Best Place To Stay" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Hotel Ruidoso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing