We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Comfort Inn - Midtown(Ruidoso)(Great Value!)
$80
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown(Ruidoso)(Great Value!)
$86
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn(Ruidoso)(Great Value!)
$79
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort(Ruidoso)(Great Value!)
$129
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Lodge(Ruidoso)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sitzmark Chalet Inn(Ruidoso)(Great Value!)
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveler rating
283
62
9
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
283
62
9
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoaster ovenfront porchhot tubcovered porchsmall kitchengas fireplacetall pineswithin walking distanceplace to stayquiet locationromantic getawayget awaystayed longerflat screen tvnice sizebed was very comfortablecoffee pot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 360 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed in one of the cabins for 4 nights while visiting family for Christmas. We loved our cabin, especially the tv that swivels between the living area and bedroom. We also loved the 2 recliners and little Christmas tree in the living room. The cabin was big enough for my husband and I and our 2 golden retrievers. I thought it seemed larger than it appeared in the online photos. The cabins and entire property are well taken care of. The whole place was very festive for Christmas, lights, stockings, and other decorations everywhere. I look forward to staying here again and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends and family. The only negative thing was that we noticed on our last day that the water looked a little brown in the sink.

Room Tip: I did not see the inside of the lodge rooms but I would absolutely recommend one of the 4 cabins.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustinLonghornFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the kind words. We work very hard at making our guests comfortable and welcomed. Looking forward to a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Last minute reservations were no problem. Easy online reservation system. We chose to stay in the lodge, room 108. We stayed the 2nd week of December and had beautiful weather. My husband wished he had brought shorts.

Pros: very nice looking property, especially over Christmas with all the lights--Property dog, Ranger--Hot water, and when I say hot, I don't mean warm. It is hot, be careful--Very nice on-site owners, Chuck and Marilyn--Well equipped kitchen. Consider bringing your own crockpot and/or blender--Wonderful fireplace, 1 free DuraFlame per day, extras are $5--Comfortable tub/shower with bowed out shower curtain.

Cons: limited clothes and bathroom supply space and no luggage storage. Cabins do have more storage space. --Mini fridge is quite small, but you are very close to a market, Lawrence Bros. IGA. on Mechum.

We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank sparks84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thanks for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed yourselves. Hope you played some December golf!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We arrived just ahead of the snow storm and the managers let us check in a little early. We enjoyed our couple of days immensely. We stayed in the cabins not at the lodge. The cabins have gas fire place, large TV, and 2 person jacuzzi tub in the room. Everything was in great shape and well cared for. We had a little trouble with the fireplace but between the housekeeper and the manager it was working in minutes and checked back to make sure everything was okay. We spent the evenings in recliners reading in front of the fire place. The queen size bed was comfortable and living room TV pivots to the bedroom if you do desire. The fire place is between the living room and bedroom areas so that is really nice. The lighted Christmas tree in the cabin and wreath on the door was a nice touch. We hope to return here in the future!

Room Tip: There's a grill outside you may use and porches to sit on in the warmer weather.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandDMarquezTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

We also love to sit by the fire and just chill out. Thanks what we specialize in at Shadow Mountain Lodge. Thanks for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Rooms are exactly as shown on web site - very spacious, very accommodating. We only stayed one evening, but these would be great for a multi day stay. Rooms 106 to 109 or so back up to an empty lot, and we saw deer out the window both evening and morning. Morning included a sparring display by a couple of bucks. Quiet rooms. Had this place a more comfortable bed, I would have given it 5 stars.

Room Tip: Rooms 106-109
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SparkyEstonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thanks for the great review. The wildlife is such a bonus here. The beds are an issue. We have newer mattresses most everywhere, but the opinions are split. We have added memory foams to half of them and are playing it by ear from there. When you return ask for a memory foam room, unless the memory foam is not what you prefer, then ask for a regular bed room and thanks for that feedback, it helps in our decisions for upgrades!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I spent a 3 nights at the Shawdow Mountain Lodge for our wedding anniversary.....is the BEST lodge we have ever stayed at ! There are so many "pluses"!
It is immaculate, and is located in the "upper canyon " in the pine trees.
The cabins were even decorated for Christmas ! With "wreaths" on all the front doors !!!And Christmas lights on the entire Lodge !!!
The grounds are just beautiful, and groomed! It is quiet!!! The hot water is HOT !!!
Our cabin was so clean, decorated perfectly to go with the southwest area.
There is a Large window in the kitchen/dinnette area; fully stocked kitchen; with refrigerator, toaster oven and microwave.
The fireplace was just wonderful !!! We were given a fire log each evening, and really enjoyed sitting on the loveseat and eating popcorn and watching Christmas movies.
There is even a lazy-boy loveseat and a flat screen tv.
The rooms are large, and open.
Large front porch, with chairs:)
The owners are so friendly, and helpful in giving us informations, and tips on the area.
As far as we are concerned, this is the only place for us to stay while we are in Ruidoso!!!!!!!!.

Room Tip: Our room was right in front of the gazebo. Next time we will get on the North end, near the bbq grills, where the view is more open.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAMARISActs17:34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thanks for the wonderful words. So glad that you loved the ambiance and comfort of the rooms. Christmas is such a wonderful time of year here and we are glad that you chose to spend it with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews