We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a perfect place to stay in Ruidoso. This is a great value for money.
Owners are very very nice. I would go there again.
We stayed in 110 which is close to BBQ area, movie library, vending machine and extra wood for fireplace.
The place is quite. TVs are small but after a day's activity, you don't really need a big tv.
The best part is that the dishes are taken care of. We stayed there for 2 days and we cooked the whole time.

I would highly recommend this to couples or even to families.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

So great to hear from great folks who enjoy what we do here. Sorry about the TV. We inherited 23 small TV's when we bought Shadow eight months ago, but are quickly getting 32" flat screens into every room. We look forward to seeing you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 353 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

First to say we really enjoyed our stay here and thought it great value for money. On arrival we were given a really informative and thorough overview of the area and restaurants by the lady owner. We're a couple and stayed in one of the 4 cabins. The cabin itself is one big square room divided into 4: sleeping area, lounge area with fire, bathroom and dining area. All beautifully decorated and perfect for a quiet getaway. There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance: see my reviews for Ranchers and the Great Wall of China. My only disappointment was that the 4 cabins actually face each other so 2 X 2. This meant when we sat on our porch or opened our door we were looking straight into the other cabin. The whole area is wonderful and the deer and huming birds a delight to watch.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fussyminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

We are so glad that you enjoyed the cabin. Ruidoso is such a cozy community and the Upper Canyon even more so that our cabins were built to encourage guests to meet and mingle. However, we have recently started planting trees to afford the option of a little more privacy. We look forward to seeing you back again and thanks for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Highly recommend this Lodge no matter what the purpose is of your visit to Ruidoso; the room was clean, relaxing and had every amenity needed, the fireplace in the room was an added bonus! The location of the lodge is perfect, not on the main road so it's very quiet, yet close enough to walk to local stores and restuarants. We plan on returning as soon as possible! Thank you for providing such a wonderful place to stay!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thanks for the great review. It is rewarding when folks like you enjoy our lodge, it motivates us to work as hard as we do at making every stay memorable. Looking forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is the best place to stay in ruidoso for couples! It is off the beat & path (not on main road through town) & the owners have thought of everything; the room is homey and has every amenity you will need. You can sit on front porch & watch the deer; they are quite abundant. If you want a nice, quiet, & peaceful stay, then this is the place plus more. Beds are super comfortable and lush! I will be returning & recommending this lodge/cabins to anyone & everyone. I stayed here over 15 years ago & will say this time is even better.. Also, feel free to bring your pet, they will provide sheets to put over bed & couch plus oversized towel for wiping their feet.... A+++++++..... Stay here for sure!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for the great review! You clearly appreciate what we are all about. But, don't wait another 15 years before you come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We came to Shadow Mountain for our honeymoon. The cabin was beautiful and secluded. The landscaping was pretty. We enjoyed watching the deer each day. We took advantage of the bbq to cook steaks and enjoyed the hot tub. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thanks for the wonderful words. We are so glad you chose us for your special occasion. Also glad you used the Weber grill center. We installed it for folks just like you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I had a very romantic getaway at one of the cabins on the property. It was warm, cozy and had all the amenities, including a two person jacuzzi tub! Chuck and Marilyn was gracious hosts, but we never had to contact them because everything we needed was already in the cabin. We would definitely recommend Shadow Mountain Lodge as the best place to stay in Ruidoso, New Mexico!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Manager at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Special occasions deserve special accommodations. So very happy you chose ours! Come see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Wonderful rooms with a beautiful landscape. Owners very nice and answered any questions we had on day trips and best places to eat. We plan to go back one day. Rooms are very clean and nicely furnished.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgcookk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Great to have you with us and we sure hope you do make it back this way again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruidoso
2.0 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
2.7 mi away
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
205 reviews
1.5 mi away
Village Lodge
Village Lodge
#11 of 23 in Ruidoso
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Address: 107 Main Rd, Ruidoso, NM 88345-6336
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range: $146 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins are located in the Historic "Upper Canyon" of Ruidoso - only a short stroll to Mid-Town's Shops, Galleries, Dining and Night Life. We are within 5 - 10 minutes of all 3 Casinos, Horse Racing and Ski Apache turnoff. We are New Owners as of April, 2012. Our Lodge rooms have all been updated with a Mountain Decor to include Bear Mountain Quilts & Inspiring Artwork. Relax on our Large Covered Veranda & enjoy our Beautiful Gardens, Hot Tub and BBQ area. Our Lodge Rooms have a King Bed, Fireplace, TV/DVD, Full Bath and Full Kitchenette. Our Romantic Cabins have open vaulted ceilings, Knotty Pine Interiors, Doubled Sided Gas Fireplace, 180 degree swivel TV/DVD, 2 Person Whirlpools and Private Decks. Shadow Mountain has been a long time favorite for those who visit Ruidoso and has consistently been voted "Best Place To Stay" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Hotel Ruidoso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing