We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights on a recent two week trip through New Mexico. We really liked the extra space compared to the hotel/motel rooms we had been staying in. The king bed was comfortable and we had breakfast every morning in the kitchenette area. In the afternoons, we sipped wine on the porch and watched the hummingbirds at the lodge's feeders before heading out to dinner. The lodge also has laundry facilities, which we took advantage of. Overall, it was a great value and we would stay here again when in southern New Mexico.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlexofOakton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

So glad you folks found us! That there are nice hotels in the area is a given. However, the lodge experience is something special and we intend to keep it that way. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 355 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

Owners, Chuck and Marilyn, made our stay exceptional with their suggestions for dining and shopping. Very clean facility with a relaxed atmosphere and the rooms were very comfortable including a fireplace and kitchen. This is definitely on our list for a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

We love that guests tune into the atmosphere that is Shadow Mountain Lodge and all that is Ruidoso. It warms our hearts to hear this kind of feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had rented a "condo" one property away from Shadow Mountain Lodge and it was old, dirty broken windows..the list goes on. We decided to give Shadow Mountain Lodge a try after a very long day on the road. It is clean, cheerful, fully equipped with a huge front porch on which to enjoy the beauty of the area. We enjoyed it so much we decided to stay an extra day. Chuck and Marilyn are great owners that take pride in their lodge and were happy to recommend some great restaurants in the area. Don't miss going to the Cornerstone Bakery for breakfast. The grounds have lots of flowers along with a hot tub spa, humming bird feeders, and bird houses. We would definitely go back and spend time at Shadow Mountain Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Guests like this make it all worth the effort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed in one of four cabins available at Shadow Mountain and it was so comfortable. Very clean, cozy fireplace, cute kitchenette, and an awesome jacuzzi bath tub. Not too many nick-knacks, doilies, or kokopellies like most of the lodges and cabins in the area. The owners were very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

We appreciate those guests who take the time to let us know what we are doing right and where we can improve. Being new owners we are making upgrades and process changes constantly and hope to continue earning this kind of kind feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We've stayed here twice in the last 6 months while we were looking at real estate to buy. It really worked well for our needs; kitchenette, centrally located, quiet. It even had a love seat with recliners which my husband needed for sleeping since he was recovering from shoulder surgery. We would stay here again and heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Txlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Great little romantic place to stay! Room has a kitchenette, fireplace and a nice hot tub on site. Like a small home away from home!! The staff was super nice and they provide you a 3 hour duraflame fire log every day of your stay. Very quiet property!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Honeybadger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Our room was immaculately clean, and we enjoyed our stay in this rustic lodge. However, our room key was left in an envelope taped to the office door upon arrival which was ok. But the manager never responded to messages left, and the office remained locked every time we checked which was several times both days we were there. Finally there was a lady in the office who informed us they no longer supplied firewood for burning in your room as the lodge was now bank owned. She did offer an option of buying firewood. As we were not staying long, we declined.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pilota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
2.0 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
1.5 mi away
Village Lodge
Village Lodge
#11 of 23 in Ruidoso
28 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pinecliff Village
Pinecliff Village
#16 of 23 in Ruidoso
83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Address: 107 Main Rd, Ruidoso, NM 88345-6336
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range: $146 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins are located in the Historic "Upper Canyon" of Ruidoso - only a short stroll to Mid-Town's Shops, Galleries, Dining and Night Life. We are within 5 - 10 minutes of all 3 Casinos, Horse Racing and Ski Apache turnoff. We are New Owners as of April, 2012. Our Lodge rooms have all been updated with a Mountain Decor to include Bear Mountain Quilts & Inspiring Artwork. Relax on our Large Covered Veranda & enjoy our Beautiful Gardens, Hot Tub and BBQ area. Our Lodge Rooms have a King Bed, Fireplace, TV/DVD, Full Bath and Full Kitchenette. Our Romantic Cabins have open vaulted ceilings, Knotty Pine Interiors, Doubled Sided Gas Fireplace, 180 degree swivel TV/DVD, 2 Person Whirlpools and Private Decks. Shadow Mountain has been a long time favorite for those who visit Ruidoso and has consistently been voted "Best Place To Stay" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Hotel Ruidoso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing