We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfortable "adults only" place to stay in Ruidoso” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable "adults only" place to stay in Ruidoso”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

We've stayed here twice in the last 6 months while we were looking at real estate to buy. It really worked well for our needs; kitchenette, centrally located, quiet. It even had a love seat with recliners which my husband needed for sleeping since he was recovering from shoulder surgery. We would stay here again and heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Txlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    57
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
33
243
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Great little romantic place to stay! Room has a kitchenette, fireplace and a nice hot tub on site. Like a small home away from home!! The staff was super nice and they provide you a 3 hour duraflame fire log every day of your stay. Very quiet property!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honeybadger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Our room was immaculately clean, and we enjoyed our stay in this rustic lodge. However, our room key was left in an envelope taped to the office door upon arrival which was ok. But the manager never responded to messages left, and the office remained locked every time we checked which was several times both days we were there. Finally there was a lady in the office who informed us they no longer supplied firewood for burning in your room as the lodge was now bank owned. She did offer an option of buying firewood. As we were not staying long, we declined.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pilota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

We rented a cabin for two nights and were really happy with it. It has a jacuzzi tub, fireplace, and kitchenette. The location is great too. The only thing that kept this from an easy 5 stars was that when we took a shower the steam from it would set off the smoke alarm. This is a little annoying especially in the morning. I guess it will wake you up.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChooChoo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
We are the new owners as of April 10, 2012. We had the same thing happen in the cabin last week. Turns out it was a faulty Co2 detector as we had the gas company come out to ensure the cabin was safe. It has been replaced and all other cabins and rooms have been inspected. Please come back and stay with us again. This time with no interruptions! Thanks for your feedback! Chuck & Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We came close to reserving a room @ the Inn on the mountain Gods, but noticed in Trip Advisor it had mixed reviews. So we looked at the top three lodgings both here and Google and the reviews were fantastic! We figured this many people could not be wrong.

Shadow Mountain is just off of Sudderth where all the shopping can be found. Its sign reads "Lodging for couples." It's not noisy, in fact it's quite quiet. We opted to rent a cabin rather than a room in the lodge. A more romantic place could not be found.

We brought our own food and wine, the cabin has a well stocked kitchette, perfect for cooking and eating in. We were so pleased with our visit and will go back soon. The property is for sale, and. Hope whoever buys it makes no changes to its environment, staff and accommodations. (hint, hint).

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReadEatTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Based on T.A. reviews, my husband and I stayed overnight at SML. The unit was clean and had just about everything we needed--the kitchenette was very nice and we made good use of it even though we were there just one night. The bed was very comfortable. The grounds are very well-maintained and there were lots of places to sit and relax outside. We will definitely stay there again, it's moved up to our #1 choice in Ruidoso. However, the property is for sale, so here's hoping that whoever buys it will keep up the same level of attention to detail. Constructive advice: a draining tray for dishes and a couple of kitchen towels would be nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nvholst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

The beds here are excellent. I want to find out the brand to get them in my house. The hot tub, fire pit area and grill area, as well as all the grounds, are very clean and well kept. The management was very accomodating. Road noise is minor, but tolerable. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wthunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
2.0 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Suites
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#3 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.5 mi away
Village Lodge
Village Lodge
#13 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
#2 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Property: Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Address: 107 Main Rd, Ruidoso, NM 88345-6336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins are located in the Historic "Upper Canyon" of Ruidoso - only a short stroll to Mid-Town's Shops, Galleries, Dining and Night Life. We are within 5 - 10 minutes of all 3 Casinos, Horse Racing and Ski Apache turnoff. We are New Owners as of April, 2012. Our Lodge rooms have all been updated with a Mountain Decor to include Bear Mountain Quilts & Inspiring Artwork. Relax on our Large Covered Veranda & enjoy our Beautiful Gardens, Hot Tub and BBQ area. Our Lodge Rooms have a King Bed, Fireplace, TV/DVD, Full Bath and Full Kitchenette. Our Romantic Cabins have open vaulted ceilings, Knotty Pine Interiors, Doubled Sided Gas Fireplace, 180 degree swivel TV/DVD, 2 Person Whirlpools and Private Decks. Shadow Mountain has been a long time favorite for those who visit Ruidoso and has consistently been voted "Best Place To Stay" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Hotel Ruidoso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing