We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Gorgeous views” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Chalet Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swiss Chalet Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1451 Mechem Dr, Highway 48, Ruidoso, NM 88345-7137   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Property is in BAD need of maintenance and major upgrade. Staff & manager are professional and friendly. Views are spectacular especially from the patio. Dog friendly was appreciated. Probably would not stay here, again, unless it was a new structure. Did not eat or drink here but kitchen doesn't open until after 4pm - a bummer.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Len C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    8
    12
    18
See reviews for
12
14
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely filthy and Horrifying! If first impressions are on top of your list, this isn't the place to say! The room was dirty and the carpet were stained as well as the bathroom falling apart. In all my year of travel I was never so disgusted at a hotel room like this. Water damage apparent throughout. I was literally scared to sleep in the bed. Give yourself a favor, choose another place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ruidoso hotels

Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Worst food I have had in Ruidoso, NM and that is saying a lot! Ordered a burger and wanted it to be medium and came out a burnt hockey puck. French fires were over done and burnt to a crisp along with the tea tasting like toliet water. The overall atmosphere was terrible, old and very hot with the sun beating on my back. Over priced crap could of went to McDonalds and had a better burger...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ishla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My husband and I arrived on a Friday. We stayed in a 3rd floor room with a balcony. The room was at the far far end of the hotel, far away from the lobby/office. No one else stayed on that end of the hotel. Our room was nice. The lobby you go through to get to the room had furniture from the 70's worn out and really tired looking.
In the hall right next to our room leaning against the wall right next to our door was a worn out mattress and box spring. Asked the desk clerk if they could be moved. "No, the maintenance guy is off until Monday" was his reply. So, I moved them as far down the hall as I could away from our room.
Next: We had the last room at the end of the hall. On the back of the door was the fire escape plan. The fire escape door was next door to our room. A good thing, right? Wrong. There is a padlock on the fire escape door. If a fire broke out in the middle of the hall and someone is in the room we had, they are screwed because of the lock on the door. Talked to the manager about it. She said the other side of the door is blocked, so it wouldn't do any good to take the lock off because you can't go out that way anyways.
Next: The view from the balcony was beautiful. That is the only thing good other than the room was large and clean I can say about our stay at Swiss Chalet "Shining" Inn.
Would I go back? Probably not.

Room Tip: To choose a good room I recommend go to another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Less than Motel 6, but nowhere else to stay.
The Good:
Location is great! Access couldn't be better. There are really only a couple places one can stay in Alto/Ruidoso for less than $100/night and they are both low quality (Apache Cabins comes to mind).
The Bad:
Carpets stained and worn; you don't want to walk on it without shoes or slippers. Shower stall in need of repair/replacement, it had mold and soap scum on assembly joints where it was starting to come apart. Sheets and pillow cases were clean, but thread bare. I don't think the pillows had ever been sanitized.
The Ugly:
Everything was rundown, as it room rental was taken in and nothing put back in to the property. In its day I bet this wasn't bad, but no more.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here try to get a room away from the road. Book early, as bad as it is, it one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuclex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

First of all Ruidoso, NM is one of my favorite places on earth. It is one of the few cool weather pine tree escapes in south NM and west TX. The Swiss Chalet is located about 4 miles from the busy part of Ruidoso, But this is a great hotel if you are wanting to be between the town and the ski resort or bonito lake.
The hotel is under new management and they are renovating the rooms. The rooms are improved and the basics were just fine, comfy mattress, good AC, good showers, free cable and free wifi internet. The swimming pool was being worked on, but we did not care because we were there to see the pine trees not go swimming. The free breakfast coule be improved (muffins, oatmeal, coffee, juice), wish they would add (milk, cereal and some fruit)
I have stayed in many hotels and cabins in this area, Swiss chalet is hard to beat for under $75 night.

Room Tip: call before you arrive especially near holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ciscokid1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I have stayed at the Swiss Chalet Inn many times but it has slowly gone down. It now is in need of being torn down and rebuilt to its original greatness.
During my recent visit the motel room was dimly lit, terribly stained carpet, toilet had almost no water pressure , you have to leave one panel of drapes pulled back... where people can see into your room, in order to use the window unit air conditioner. There are not longer telepones in the rooms. The room was very noisy until 1:00 am when a party finally ended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruidoso
1.9 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Suites
3.5 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#6 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
2.3 mi away
Village Lodge
Village Lodge
#14 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
6.1 mi away
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Hotel

Property: Swiss Chalet Hotel
Address: 1451 Mechem Dr, Highway 48, Ruidoso, NM 88345-7137
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Swiss Chalet Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking to take a vacation where you can enjoy yourself in the great outdoors? Or are you seeking a great hotel for business travel? In either case, you need to check out the Swiss Chalet Inn in Ruidoso, NM.Whether you’re looking to escape into the wilderness or conduct essential business, the Swiss Chalet Inn offers the best of both worlds. Their comfortable, spacious rooms will provide plenty of space for work, play, and of course, rest. The hotel offers a complimentary continental breakfast on Saturdays and Sundays, so you’ll have plenty of energy before you hit the trails during a weekend getaway. And the stunning views of the Sierra Blanca Peak will sooth your soul whether you’re looking to conquer it or just admire it from afar. Once you come to stay, you may never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Swiss Chalet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Inn Ruidoso Hotel Ruidoso
Swiss Chalet Hotel Ruidoso
Swiss Chalet Ruidoso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing