We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is located perfectly well within walking distance of many fine eateries and most importantly Starbucks. Hotel room is spacious and clean perfect for business or will be a great place when I bring my wife for a weekend getaway to ruidoso. Great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    79
    29
    12
    14
See reviews for
65
71
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We love this little town. Spent time at the Funtrack go cart racing our kids. Maze was tough. The hotel was well located: close to lots of restaurants and the mid town quaint shops. Hot breakfast of waffles,scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, plus fruit, yogurt, etc. But gave up waiting after 20 minutes for them to replace the empty hot food fair. Pool small but nice. Gym great and open 24 hours. Bring shampoo and conditioner, as they only provide shampoo and it is horrible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oralynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Good breakfast, clean, 3 star hotel. Nice staff. No complaints! I booked it through hotwire.com for only $59 a night. There is only one elevator but it is only 3 stores high so take the stairs if you don't have luggage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeenaDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I booked this reservation on line. Usually I stick with the main chains as far as hotels go, as some of the "local" hotels are usually a disappointment. Happy to say that was not the case here. We checked in without any glitches. The hotel had plenty of convenient parking. The people were friendly and helpful at check in. Overall the hotel has been updated and in pretty good shape. The carpets in the Hallways needed to be cleaned. Our room was clean and the carpets were much better there. Updated with flat screen wall mount TV, and granite in the bathrooms and desk top. Bathrooms were spacious and had room to store your personal items. The air conditioning worked great and was not noisy. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. We stayed across from the indoor pool and I was concerned about the noise, but was not bothered at all. The love seat and bedspread really need updating as they were a little "tired" looking. But over all, it was a very good experience especially for the price on a Labor Day weekend. Didn't try the breakfast, as our favorite breakfast place was 1/2 block away at the Lincoln County Grill. Very convenient being in Midtown as you can walk to so many places. I have to say, I have stayed in some major chains where the rooms cost much more and the room left much to be desired, so this place was a nice surprise and a great rate. I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, TX
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I will start by talking about the positive aspects of this hotel. It is close to Midtown and Starbucks. The breakfast is adequate, however I have never been a fan of hotel breakfast fare. The cost is average for the room we stayed in, and it was fairly clean but not pristine. The air conditioner works very well.
Now for the issues. We checked in and came back to our room later that night. I noticed that the bathroom light over the mirror was not working. I called the front desk and of course the maintenance person was gone. OK I can wing it til the morning. So we went to the front desk the next morning to make sure we were on the list to have the light fixed. A person who appeared to be with the cleaning crew was behind the desk told us we needed "to just bang on it" to get it to work. SERIOUSLY??? I'm sorry but I shouldn't have to bang on a light to get it to work. So obviously the problem was known prior to our check in. Another issue is the door has a large space with no threshold, so light and sound travel fantastically underneath.
We later returned to the light being repaired, with apologies from the gentleman at the front desk. I think the room could have been cleaner as well. I will not be staying at this hotel again. I will take my business to the Holiday Inn Express. My Mom lives in the village and will also not be recommending this hotel anymore. Sorry guys, but I think you could have done better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freebyrd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paaru, General Manager at Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We apologize for the issues you faced. We have talked to the "comedian/housekeeper" about the comment. It was mentioned as a joke. It was of poor quality. We are a new hotel and nothing needs to be "banged" on. Our rooms are inspected daily by a head housekeeper. The housekeepers have to pass a room inspection before they get credit for a room. The GM and assitant GM also randomly inspect rooms besides the head housekeeper for each housekeeper. This review has been shared with the head housekeeper to take appropriate action. Our goal is to provide a fresh clean room to all of our guests. We thank you for the compliments also and we will make sure any issue is corrected in the future. Thankyou for bringing things to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and I decided to stop over in Ruidoso for a couple of days on our way back from Albuquerque to San Antonio. We had never been to this town or this hotel before, but we will definitely be back. The town is beautiful and this hotel is very centrally located to anything you want. We drove almost everywhere, but that's just because we really didn't know where anything was, but the hotel is so near the local restaurants and shops, we spent more time parking than actually driving there. The staff is laid back, but attentive, and very friendly (much like the town.) The rooms were clean and definitely fit our needs. We will be back in Ruidoso soon and this will likely be near the top on our places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reuben32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruidoso
1.9 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
0.6 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#5 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 23 in Ruidoso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ruidoso Downs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown

Property: Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Address: 110 Chase Street, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest hotel in Ruidoso and Ruidoso Down, NM. Stay in midtown. Walk to shops, restaurants, galleries, and lounges. 32 inch LCD TV with 4 HBO channels, referigerator, microwave in all rooms. Fitness Center, Business Center, Guest Laundry, Free HOT Breakfast, Indoor Pool & Spa, Free High Speed wired and wireless internet and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ruidoso Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing