We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best play to stay in Ruidoso”
Review of Cozy Bear Cabins

Cozy Bear Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cozy Bear Cabins
Ranked #18 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Ruidoso
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

This lovely arrangement of cabins is located just of the edge of the main strip of shopping stores, but off the main path where no traffic noise can be heard.
We actually stayed in #8 back in '07, and stayed in #6 & 7 this time.
Gas fireplace, satellite TV, warm shower, and a full kitchen if you're trying to save a couple bucks or stay in an evening.
New owners since the last time long ago, but same great service.
It's the place we will always stay every time we come.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank PreemieDadof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozyBearCabins, Owner at Cozy Bear Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thanks so much for your response, and are so delighted to hear that you found your return to your honeymoon cabins a great experience. It was a pleasure having you as our return guest and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for Cozy Bear Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Cozy Bear Cabins its the place to stay in Ruidoso. We had the mountains & trees, but yet close enough to walk to Mid-town. A great retreat & place to unwind. Truly a business based on integrity! Great Value, Great Cabin, Great Hosts! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozyBearCabins, Owner at Cozy Bear Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

We're delighted you had a great visit and hope to see you again your next trip to Ruidoso! Thank you for being such great guests; we really appreciate your input! Blessings until we see you all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had stayed in cabin #5 at Cozy Bear Cabins. The owners were very helpful and friendly who recently bought the property from the previous owners that I had met in Nov 2011 . The cabin was clean, cozy, and was in a perfect location. Almost everything is within walking distance from these cabins, yet far enough away from the main street that you don't hear traffic giving you that cabin experience. A fir pit and grill's are available for those wanting to cook out or stay warm on those fall/winter nights. If i had to list one downfall of Cozy Bear Cabins, it would be that the cabins are close to each other and parking can be a little tight if you have more than 1 car per cabin. The cabins being close to each other is nothing that bothered us at all though. But, if your looking for that "off the grid" cabin in the woods with not being able to see anyone.....you might want to look else where.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We stayed in Cabin 6 which is a one bedroom cabin set back towards the back of the cluster of cabins. Arrived in the evening and manager was helpful explaining how gas fireplace and heater worked, and offered us the area-standard $5.00 ski lift discount. Cabin itself appeared initially very clean and cozy. TV was small and remote did not work for all functions but that was not a big deal. They do have satellite TV. Gas fireplace was nice and helped to heat the living area. Nice pictures on walls.

Bed was comfortable and it was nice that there is a fire pit outside but we did not use it. This cabin is not the most secluded in the area but it is close to everything and the $90 per night rate plus tax seemed reasonable, and it was quiet and clean. With that being said, there were some small ants in the kitchen area- it seems the area behind range, next to trash can, needs scrubbing and maybe prior guests had left food out. The packets of hot chocolate are a nice touch.

The bathroom and especially the shower stall is extremely small. Stall is like 2 by 3 foot and there were two longish hairs on one of the walls which certainly weren't ours. there was a bit of mold on the caulking of the shower stall and on the curtain at the bottom but nothing major. Just seems close to needing re-caulked, a new curtain and Tilex. Bring your own soap and shampoo because there is none provided. Overall, a great place to stay for a night or two-- also the sofa is a futon so you can fold it out for more sleeping space or if you want to watch a movie or TV at night.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank matt787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

"I had an unfortunate experience with a rented vacation house in Cloudcroft. None of the beds were comfortable, and there was only a futon to sit on in the living room. Forced to flee the (fiddleback?) spiders and assorted moths, we left early and went ot Ruidoso. Found Cozy Bear by just driving around. The cabin was small, but comfortable and very cute. Reception was friendly and it all made up for the 2 prior days.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank telliott10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

We stayed in cabin 4 and cabin 7 due a mix up (my fault) with reservations. Cabin 4 was actually much 'cozier' as it's a studio set-up and feels very much like a cabin. Cabin 7 feels more like a little house. Both have nice fireplaces and they were both very clean. In cabin 4 the fireplace is for heat whereas it's more for show in cabin 7. We had a small herd of deer come right through the cabin which the kids loved.
My biggest complaint is nothing that can be changed, but the size of the showers are miniscule! We are NOT big people, but you literally could not bend over to pick up a dropped bar of soap. We also had lousy internet/cell phone reception- but it's the mountains I guess.
Linda was a pleasant and helpful host.
These cabins are in a great location! Less than 1/4mile to all the cute shops. I'd recommend them with no problems.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aegault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

We enjoyed our stay at these cabins. We found them clean. Its an older facility but comfortably remodeled. Our unit had a nice elevated deck and we enjoyed sitting on the deck in the breeze, under the pine trees. There were deer in the yard often despite the fact that its right in town. The weather was just perfect as well! (I'm sure that they were responsible for that, too!)

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Jayne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
0.5 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apache Village Cabins
Apache Village Cabins
#29 of 42 in Ruidoso
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Upper Canyon Inn and Cabins
0.9 mi away
Canyon Cabins
Canyon Cabins
#23 of 42 in Ruidoso
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozy Bear Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozy Bear Cabins

Address: 103 5th St, P.O. Box 94, Ruidoso, NM 88345-7556
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Ruidoso
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Cozy Bear Cabins Hotel Ruidoso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing