We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Retro on the River - you'll love it”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
ruidoso cabins for rent
ruidoso lodge cabins
Dining room and Kitchen
Living Room
Living room and dining
Master Bedroom
Log Cabin in Ruidoso
Lodge Cabin Ruidoso
Vacation Cabin with Hot tub
back deck off Master Bedroom
Retro Stove
Kitchen
Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Back Deck off Master
Living Room
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
bathroom
TV with Fireplace like heater
Hot tub
New Hot Tub being installed
New Hot Tub
New Hot tub going in place
FiFi loves the cabin
log cabin
Lodge cabin
vacation cabin in Ruidoso
Hot Tub
authentic log cabin
Guests at dinner across the street
FiFi says 'this is the place!'
Midtown (next street over)
Aspenfest Parade on Sudderth
Aspenfest Parade on Sudderth
Aspenfest Parade on Sudderth
Aspenfest Parade on Sudderth
Bear Carving
Carved Bears
Christmas Parade
Wine Festival at IOMG
Jake says 'I like it here'
Deck down by river
The cabin is furnished with a racoon!
Deer in the river are visible from the porch
Deer in the river are visible from the porch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ruidoso, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rich11154...
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Retro on the River - you'll love it”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our second trip to this fabulous Cabin was better than the first. The Cabin is kept in immaculate condition for its age and has everything you need for a great retreat. We pick the first weekend of October mainly for the cool weather and we were not disappointed. Even when it rains it is great in Ruidoso – especially if you are sitting on the upper deck at the Retro on the River. It does not get more relaxing or peaceful than that.
Our Small Dogs (Gumbo and Sassy) love the yard and spend hours exploring it looking for Deer. They did not find any but they remember last year and thought they would see them again.
I highly recommend the Retro on the River for any couple or small family. This comfy cabin within walking distance of funky shops and great restaurants can’t be beat. If you are looking to get away this is the place – even though it’s close to everything it quiet and peaceful. Can’t wait for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The convenience while providing lots of relaxation
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
73Love2Tr...
Graham, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

3 nights just weren't enough. I can not get enough of this AMAZING property. The vintage style adds to the beauty and uniqueness of this little piece of paradise. I don't even know where to start.
That back porch. Oh my. It is the best I have seen anywhere in Mid-Town (when I say Mid-Town I mean right smack dab in the middle of everything you could need.) Walk where you want. Shops, bars, cafes, the c-stores and galleries. We walk to breakfast. We walk to dinner. The kitchen is fully stocked--just bring your groceries. We LOVE this cabin. You can hear the Rio Ruidoso rushing from the back porch and the bedroom at night. The cabin has all the modern amenities you could need. The views are amazing. I personally enjoy watching the hummingbirds and deer. I sit on the back porch the majority of the time. LOVE IT!! The nice benches at the river add to the peacefulness of this place. My husband drinks coffee down there and I just sit, relax and day dream. Don't 2nd guess yourself when booking this place. It is everything you could ask for and more!! The owner takes great pride in this property and it shows. Every time we go, there has been something updated. I noticed a band new hot-tub and the lower deck is getting bigger. There are a/c units (we didn't need them).
The neatest electric fireplace is a perfect touch. Everything is comfortable and well kept.
We will book again as soon as possible. The owner is great to work with.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAHenry
El Paso, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool and Relaxing time away from home”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This year, we did not have much time for a vacation, but we still wanted to be able to get away for a few days. We stayed at Retro on the River and loved it. Our main goal was to just be able to relax and enjoy the cooler weather. This cabin has a wonderful porch right outside the master bedroom. This is where I spent most of my time. We did do a little shopping and at night enjoyed some of the restaurants in town. I will say that if you have difficulty walking down stairs, this would probably not be a good place for you.

The cabin is equipped with everything you need. There is a 12 cup coffee maker, stove, microwave, fridge, dishes and utensils. There are even a few spices in the cupboard. If you will be there for an extended time, there is even a washer and dryer located off the downstairs bedroom. There is a grill on the back porch. This is a great home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: My favorite place was the back porch.
Liked least: Honestly, I did not find anything to dislike.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2015
Thanks for the lovely review. It really is a great place. It makes you feel like you really are back in time in a log cabin. There are some steps. From the street to the main door there are 5. From the main door to the hot tub / bunkhouse level there are about 12. If you go from there down to the Rio Ruidoso there are a bunch more. If you can't navigate stairs, I have a rental next door that has no stairs. It sleeps 3 and has all the advantages of this wonderful location.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C
Lubbock, Texas
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Really loved the locaion of this cabin. It had everything we needed for the stay. We did not have to drive much could walk where we needed. They have a notebook of all thw locations to do stuff.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: how you have to get to down stairs bedroom
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
“Fantastic Place with a fantastic price”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We arrived to the Retro on the River on July 3rd with excitement! My husband, our three boys and I were all so thrilled with what we saw upon our arrival to the cabin. It was very true to the photos and description of the place. You will have everything you need to cook, sleep with great comfort, relax while watching tv, play games or sit outside on the deck in the peace and quite of nature. I thought it might be a little noisy outside since it is so close to town, but I was wrong. You can hear the lulls of the creek bed down below while resting on the elevated deck off the master bedroom. I love the special touch of the curtains around the hot tub for privacy. It gives you that feeling of being pampered while unwinding in the hot tub. Also, loved the free wifi and many choices of cable tv channels. The weather was perfect while we were there, but on the last night, it rained and we got to experience the sound of rain on the metal roof which made for us the perfect get away place. We will for sure be returning in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normandut...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming Getaway with All the Amenities”
Reviewed May 2, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We only booked this cabin, called "Retro on the River," for a short stay of two nights, but we wish it had been longer. Lived up to all the advance word on the place. A very charming and totally renovated cabin literally one minute away from the main drag of Ruidoso, NM with all its shops, galleries, and restaurants. Yet, very secluded, with a real mountain getaway ambiance. The small property is totally fenced in, so our two dogs could play outside safely. A wonderful porch/deck comfortably furnished with rattan chairs is a perfect place to socialize or just absorb nature. Grill is there as well, although we didn't use it. Hot tub also on another deck, but again we didn't use it. The interior of the cabin is beautifully furnished with a very retro theme. Flat screen TV, wifi, all kitchen appliances - everything you would want. A really terrific place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You won't regret it!”
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

While I was looking on the Internet for cabins in Ruidoso, this one caught my eye right away! Everything I read, the reviews, and pictures of this cabin, was very intriguing, and we knew we just had to stay here. Of course, the number one reason was the location! Just a block away from Mid-Town, there was no need to get a cabin elsewhere. Everything was in walking distance: shops, restaurants, and bars! And yes the neighborhood is a safe place to leave your car parked right next to the cabin.

The inside was nice and cozy. The main room had an air/heater unit as did the main bedroom. This was perfect since it was cold several nights we were there and if that wasn't good enough, blankets are provided. Talking about things provided, this cabin has everything and better than a hotel. The kitchen was fully equipped with dishes, pots, pans, untensils, even salt and pepper! I enjoyed the fact that we were able to cook our breakfast there and grill our dinner out in the back deck/patio. I even ate several times outside, just to enjoy the view and hear the river below us. Yes this cabin is above the river, all you need to do is go to the backyard and take several stairs down, the river is just below another deck and I liked that there was a bench on that lower deck, where you could just sit, relax, and enjoy the river.

Yes there is a TV, Internet, and Dish Network for those who need that entertainment. There is also a hot tub outback for your enjoyment. If you have other people staying with you, then there are 2 extra beds down below the house, and laudry facilities. There is also a shower/tub combo in the restroom and towels are provided. I surely would stay here again and the owner does a great job keeping the cabin nice!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: I liked everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing