We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

For the price, there is nothing wrong with the Sitzmark. It's a non-smoking motel with off-street parking right on the main drag. The rooms are small, comfortable, and clean. The bed in our room was very firm, too hard for me to sleep comfortably. The Sitzmark is not real convenient to restaurants, few within walking distance. There is a fair amount of traffic noise that filters into the rooms. We had to run the room fan to drown it out. It's tough to beat the price here, however, so for a night or two, the Sitzmark is O.K.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gentlemanhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitzmarkRuidoso, Owner at Sitzmark Chalet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are happy you were pleased with your accomodations. We strive to provide a quality room at a fair price. We agree that we are on one of the main thoroughfares in town...only 1 mile from the midtown entertainment district...so if you are not used to some traffic noise, you may sometimes be able to hear it. The trade off to that is that you are conveniently located to all that Ruidoso has to offer. Being a tourist town, naturally some dates are going to be a bit busier than others. Again, we appreciate that you took the time to review our lodging facility and hope to have you back as a return guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Sitzmark Chalet Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 233 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We go to Ruidoso 2-3 times a year but hasn't stayed here in many years, decided to give it a try since we were just passing thru and just needed an overnight stopover. What a pleasant surprise this place was. Even though this is an older property, it is very well maintained and updated, the rooms and grounds are spotless. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and the outdoor sauna and seating areas are an added bonus. Delicious homemade muffins and fresh coffee is provided in the foyer near the office each morning. Sitzmark is located at the far eastern end of the main downtown area so a bit too far to walk. Overall, a great value for your money.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitzmarkRuidoso, Owner at Sitzmark Chalet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to review our Inn! We always appreciate when guests take the time to share their positive experience with others :) As a small family owned Inn, we take pride in providing guests with an enjoyable stay at a fair price. The sauna is new to our property, so were happy to hear that you liked it!! Thank you again for your review and we hope to have you again in the future as a repeat customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We recently stayed at Sitzmark during our road trip from Kansas to Arizona. We had made reservations there based on the wonderful reviews here on Trip Advisor.
So, after a 14 hour day in the car what a wonderful place to stop, relax and rest. The lady in the office (I am assuming she was the owner) was very nice and friendly and knew or length of stay as soon as I gave our name.
The rooms are very large, beautifully furnished and very clean. What a wonderful surprise when I noticed the brightly colored towels and washclothes in the bathroom, just like home. The beds were very comfortable and I love the fact that each bed had four pillows instead of the normal two.
I was very upset that we were unable to try the fresh muffins the next morning as we had to leave very early. But since we plan on making this our regular hotel in Rudioso I am sure I will try them eventually.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitzmarkRuidoso, Owner at Sitzmark Chalet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your pleasant review! It brings a smile to our face when we see that a guest enjoyed their relaxing stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed our little touches such as the colored towels...because we are a small family owned Inn, our goal is to personalize your stay with us. Don't worry, we will have a fresh batch of muffins for you to try the next time you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

First off, this is an older motel, certainly not the "newest" in Ruidoso. Having said that, it is spotlessly clean, impecciably maintained, and very comfortable! We were also very surprised at how quiet it was, even with our room just a scant 100 feet off of Sudderth. Even while the inn was completely occupied, we also couldn't hear other quests. I can't say the same about the noise level in the newer places that we have stayed in!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2003lobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitzmarkRuidoso, Owner at Sitzmark Chalet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed our stay with us and got a good nights rest! That means we did our job :) We strive to provide a quality room in a relaxing atmosphere at a fair price. Hopefully you will return to be our guest the next time you are visiting the Ruidoso area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had originally planned to stay in Cloudcroft, but getting information and reviews on their facilities was a pain in the rear. We decided to go on to Ruidoso for the night's lodging.

This small motel on Sudderth Drive in Ruidoso is really very good. The room was clean, quiet, and cozy. The bathroom was also very clean. The wifi internet connection was the best I've seen on this trip around New Mexico. All this and at a rate less than the national brand motels. Why can't the national brands learn a few things about their business from places like the Sitzmark Chalet? It is not a new facility but both the exterior, the grounds, and the rooms are well done and well maintained.

Thanks Sitmark Chalet for doing business the way everyone should do it!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldArmySoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitzmarkRuidoso, Owner at Sitzmark Chalet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you so much for your recent review. We appreciate that you took the time to let others know about your stay with us. We are happy that you were so pleased with your accomodations. We take pride in making sure that our rooms meet the same standards that we look for when we travel...clean rooms, nice curbside appeal, and all ammenities in proper working order. We hope that when you are in the Ruidoso area again, we have the pleasure of having you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The room was clean, comfortable and everything worked. Staff very accomodating, especially since we checked in around 12:30 am. The outside of the hotel is very cool looking with the ski lift.

Staff very friendly the next morning when I paid for the room... wish they had coffe in the lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigtexchevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitzmarkRuidoso, Owner at Sitzmark Chalet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for review of your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our rooms and found them clean and comfortable. Since we live on property, we are always happy to make accomodating check-in for our late arriving guests. We are looking into expanding the size of our office so that we can provide a few extra ammenities for our guests...we will definitely be providing coffee in the lobby to compliment coffee service in your room in the near future. We hope to have you as our guest again on future trips to Ruidoso. Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here only one night, and I wish we had allowed more time! This little motel was so cute and full of personality! Lots of kitschy, nostalgic items decorating the grounds. Clean and comfortable. Loved the colored towels--a nice change. This place is amazingly affordable, too! Hope we return to Ruidoso some day so we can stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katmcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitzmarkRuidoso, Owner at Sitzmark Chalet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you so much for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us...and appreciated our taste for unique and nostalgic decor :) We aim to provide our guests with a comfortable and memorable experience while staying with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your pleasant experience. ...And we are glad you appreciated the kitschy colored towels...they make us smile too and bring in a lot of feedback! Hope to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
2.3 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
2.4 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
202 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites - Ruidoso Hwy 70
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sitzmark Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitzmark Chalet Inn

Address: 627 Sudderth Drive, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range: $65 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sitzmark Chalet Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sitzmark Chalet is nestled under the tall pines of Ruidoso, NM. Our charming 17 unit inn offers the distinct personal attention that every traveler desires for a relaxing mountain get-a-way. Our classic regard to detail and customer service is something that you just can't acquire in today's cookie-cutter chain lodging atmosphere. We are located in the heart of Ruidoso close to restaurants, shopping, and nightlife. With a wonderful central location, you are close to all of the vacation activities you have been looking for. Relax on the front lawn during a summer evening on a porch swing while watching the hummingbirds, or unwind after a day on the slopes in our steam sauna. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sitzmark Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sitzmark Chalet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing