We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Howe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed January 20, 2008

My family and I stayed at the Sitzmark Chalet over the christmas holiday and I can honestly say that we can find nothing to complain about.

The rooms were very affordable, exceptionaly clean, and I love the fireplaces and homemade wooden headboards. They have everything you would need , ice machine, pop and snack machine out side and microwaves, fridges, and coffee pots in the rooms.

The owners, (Lori and Todd) are very friendly and will do anything that they can to make your stay enjoyable.

We used the grills in the front yard several times and sat around the picnic tables for a family visit almost every night. It was a very nice holiday getaway for us all.

We highly recommend this place for your next visit to Ruidoso. I won't stay anywhere else.

  • Liked — Clean rooms, friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RMcmenamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    58
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
75
93
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2008

We've stayed at the Sitzmark at least twice a year for the last 8 years or so, and it's our favorite place to relax in Ruidoso. If you're looking for fancy, the Sitzmark isn't for you! But if you're looking for wonderful people to hang out with, clean and comfortable rooms, and a nice all-around vibe, then I suggest you check out the Sitzmark. It can be a little noisy at times because of the proximity to Ruidoso's main drag, but it's the little things that more than make up for any inconveniences - picnic tables on the lawn to relax at, gas grills available so you can burn your own steak if you'd like, and hanging out with like-minded folks who've also discovered the Sitzmark. The owners go out of their way to make you feel welcome and to accomodate any special needs, and they're also a lot of fun to hang out with. The rates are more than reasonable, the water in the shower is always hot, and it's just a nice place to hang your hat for a couple of days that doesn't have that sterile "hotel chain" feel to it. We really enjoy spending time at the Sitzmark and plan to continue staying there in the future.

Bob & Jean
El Paso, Texas

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bobharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2008

This is the best kept secret in Ruidoso! The owners are fun loving, kind and very hospitable. The rooms are clean, roomy....makes you want to stay for awhile! The rates are affordable and below everyone else in town. We have stayed here for several years and would recommend The Sitzmark without blinking an eye!

Paul and Donna

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Woman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2008

My family and I really enjoyed our time in Ruidoso and we were even more impressed with the Sitzmark Chalet! When we first arrived we were greated by the friendliest people (who we found out owned the hotel) and then we went into the room and it was so CLEAN! I can tell they take great pride in their hotel! We all enjoyed using their hot tub and they even had outdoor grills and tables to cook our steaks and hotdogs on! I was so impressed! I can't wait until we return to Ruidoso in April and we are sure to stay at the Sitzmark Chalet again!

  • Liked — the clean room
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mandmsmom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon,Tx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2005

Stayed here four nights over the labor day weekend. This motel is very clean and in a good location. The walls are very thin and the noise level is high. The rates are good and the room was always cleaned very quickly. I'm just not sure I would stay again because of the noise. You can hear everything in the rooms next to you and doors slamming everytime someone goes in or out. Mornings were very bad, due to people coming and going and showers running. If the rooms were better insulated this would be an excellent rating. I'm sure the noise won't bother a lot of people. If it doesn't bother you, then this would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rockdaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 6, 2005

We (wife and I) just returned from our "annual" trip to Ruidoso and stayed at the Stizmark. We have stayed here several times before so we are kind of "experts' with regard to the Sitzmark.

The Sitzmark is a small (cozy) locally owned and operated motel that provides all that one could want in comforts for a short stay in Ruidoso. The rooms are not large, but we are there only to sleep and shower so a large expansive room in not necessay for us.

Ammenities provided in each room are: air conditioning for those rare warm days in Ruidoso, coffee pot, small refridgerator and cable tv. The rooms are cleaned early each day, so after you return from breakfast, your room in spotless. Wireless internet is also available.

The grounds are always neat and tidy and Todd and Lori (owners) seem to go out of their way to help in any way possible. The Sitzmark is a refreshing change from the chain motels in that it is clean, comfortable and has a special character all its own. On top of that, the price is more than reasonable for this tourist town.

In the past, we have stayed at other motels in Ruidoso, but the Sitzmark is a "best buy" as far as we are concerned.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2005

This small inn near midtown Ruidoso probably doesn't garner much attention because of its size (only 17 rooms), but its price, features and location make it a nice alternative to the "budget" chains that usually cost a little more for this tourist town. The motel unabashedly caters to Texans, as evident by the Lone Star flag in the parking lot and the Longhorns cap worn by the front desk clerk, and in particular to skiers, given the "chalet" reference (which it's really not) and a big outdoor marker board that listed the current day's slope conditions.

Spending a night there during a recent weekend trip to nearby Ski Apache, we found the staff friendly, the accomodations more than adequate, and the price tough to beat. Our room, with a king bed, was bigger than normal and included a mini-fridge, microwave and in-room coffee maker. The room was clean, warm, comfortable and inviting. We were told they also had king rooms with fireplaces for an extra $10/night.

Our only complaint was that the walls seemed fairly thin as we could hear our neighbors talking and TV playing. The management does a good job, however, in making it known that loud noises are not acceptable after 10 a.m. We could also hear noises early in the morning, but if you're there to ski, you're probably going to want to be awake then as well.

Since the motel is right on the main drag going through Ruidoso, you also get some traffic noise. We just switched on the fan on the air conditioner, which drowned everything out for a good night's sleep.

To me, one of the best things about staying here was free use of a very nice hot tub, which is enclosed in a patio which extends out in one edge of the small parking lot. With only 17 rooms, there never seemed to be a crowd to fight for hot tub time. Granted, sitting in the hot tub with traffic zooming by about 50 yards away wasn't the most relaxing audio environment you could ask for, but the soak certainly felt good after a day on the slopes!

The best "walking" shops of midtown are a very short drive up the street and Ski Apache, which is atop the nearby mountain, is about 30 minutes away.

In all, if you don't mind traffic noise, the Sitzmark is a nice, cozy place to park your skis for the night.

Helpful?
5 Thank SFcatamount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
2.3 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
2.4 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
209 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 23 in Ruidoso
99 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#3 of 23 in Ruidoso
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sitzmark Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitzmark Chalet Inn

Property: Sitzmark Chalet Inn
Address: 627 Sudderth Drive, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sitzmark Chalet Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sitzmark Chalet is nestled under the tall pines of Ruidoso, NM. Our charming 17 unit inn offers the distinct personal attention that every traveler desires for a relaxing mountain get-a-way. Our classic regard to detail and customer service is something that you just can't acquire in today's cookie-cutter chain lodging atmosphere. We are located in the heart of Ruidoso close to restaurants, shopping, and nightlife. With a wonderful central location, you are close to all of the vacation activities you have been looking for. Relax on the front lawn during a summer evening on a porch swing while watching the hummingbirds, or unwind after a day on the slopes in our steam sauna. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sitzmark Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sitzmark Chalet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing