We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, great value”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I found this charming chalet on tripadvisor and I was extrmemely pleased to find that all the good things are true! We stayed in the family room with the bunk bed (which my daughter loved!) and we all loved the entire place. Plenty of space, extremely clean and comfortable. And very charming. Oh, and a GREAT value! We only wish we could stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WooHooTavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    62
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
75
97
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We just returned from a trip through New Mexico and stayed one night in this charming inn. It is often difficult to find a good room for a family of five, but the Sitzmark Chalet has a family suite available. We had two queen-sized beds along with a fold-down futon with a single loft bed above that--in other words a family of six could sleep comfortably! This included a small kitchenette--table, small fridge, and microwave. All this--plus impeccable cleanliness--for just $71/night for our family of five! We've never found such a travel bargain! Plus, our kids really enjoyed the outdoor hot tub and well-kept grounds.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank we5mills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Very hip, very clean hotel. Owners take great pride in the property.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tthib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed here with our three school-aged children (one slept on the floor). The room was spotless, the shower was great, the managers (owners?) are friendly, the price was good. However, we got a room with a fireplace and even though we never used it, the room smelled strongly of smoke (good smoke, like a campfire). It wasn't horrible, but my husband, son, and I all had reactions to being in the room like stuffy noses and itchy eyes.

The only other problem we had is that they have a window air conditioning unit and a separate heater attached to a thermostat. We started the air conditioner after we were in bed and didn't even notice the heater. In the morning, we discovered that we had had both the heater and the air conditioner on during the night.

We would stay here again, but only if we could get a room without a fireplace.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
From CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Had never stayed in Ruidoso and based our stay here solely on TripAdvisor reviews. Used to chain hotels so we were a little curious about staying here. Motel is right on Sudderth so was easy to find. Checked in at the little office with no problems with I assume the owner/operator. Stayed in a two queen room (family of four with two young kids). All rooms are in an interior corridor but there are no rooms on each side, just down one side...there is a wall of windows on the other side. Able to park right in front of our room which made it easy to unload.

The room was very good sized and clean. No flat screen TV, but microwave and fridge and TV is 32" with DirectTV (which actually gives you more channels than a chain hotel). Small sink closet area and bath/toilet area is generous in size. Bathroom was very clean with a nice collection of multi-colored towels. Beds were comfortable and there is a room dedicated heater (we left the heater on all night which led to being a little too warm-adjusted that the next night). Considering the motel is right next to Sudderth and there is a parking lot right there, it was very quiet overall.

Kids loved it and have designated it as our go to motel in Ruidoso. Walgreens and fast food are only a short drive away and downtown is a short drive away. Good rates and good value for what you pay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeltaCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

All of these reviews are spot on! This cute, quaint hotel was exactly what my girlfriend and I were looking for when we wanted to stay in Ruidoso an extra night. The owners/staff are extremely nice and accommodating. We were able to get a king room with fireplace, on a Friday morning, well before check-in for approx. $70. The room was spacious and extremely clean. If we ever make it back to Ruidoso, the Sitzmark is where we will stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OleTex05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We found this bargain on tripadvisor.com and so glad we did. The reviews are right on the money: Very comfortable and clean, located in the heart of town near everything, and the owners couldn't be nicer. If you insist on a 5-star hotel experience, go elsewhere. There is no pool, the towels are not soft, and the owners are not available 24-7, but we were happy to return to our comfy room at day's end. There is a hot tub on site to ease sore muscles after a day hiking. Todd made some excellent dining suggestions--the Magic Forest restaurant was a great tip!--and helped us with directions.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TXAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
2.3 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
2.4 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#3 of 23 in Ruidoso
190 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites - Ruidoso Hwy 70
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sitzmark Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitzmark Chalet Inn

Property: Sitzmark Chalet Inn
Address: 627 Sudderth Drive, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sitzmark Chalet Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sitzmark Chalet is nestled under the tall pines of Ruidoso, NM. Our charming 17 unit inn offers the distinct personal attention that every traveler desires for a relaxing mountain get-a-way. Our classic regard to detail and customer service is something that you just can't acquire in today's cookie-cutter chain lodging atmosphere. We are located in the heart of Ruidoso close to restaurants, shopping, and nightlife. With a wonderful central location, you are close to all of the vacation activities you have been looking for. Relax on the front lawn during a summer evening on a porch swing while watching the hummingbirds, or unwind after a day on the slopes in our steam sauna. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sitzmark Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sitzmark Chalet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing