We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
146
65
16
9
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
146
65
16
9
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river ponderosa cabin hot tub great cabin great vacation get away hughes bedroom deck yard kitchen grill roomy propane snow
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 258 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2017 via mobile

Wow! Just wow! Very run down, unsafe, dirty and they don't even care! Our visit started off good but quickly changed. First thing we noticed was the torn screen at the front door, no biggie right?! Not! Next we were greeted with a stale old fireplace scent. Proceeded into the kitchen trying to get settled in, came across rat poop on the counter. I know, we're up in the mountains, in a cabin, what should I expect! Laundry room doors wouldn't close, fireplace screen was torn, holes in the doors, the kitchen faucet! Wow! Only had cold water and no low setting, came shooting out, impossible to rinse off a dish and have your clothes stay dry! We sat down to eat dinner and again there was rat poop on 2 of the 4 chairs, not like 1 turd, seriously like 15! How does housekeeping miss this kind of stuff?! Office was already closed. Trying to relax, went out to the hot tub, almost fell, steep old stairs with no hand rails. Certainly not up to code. I will say the hot tub was nice. So first thing in the morning we went to share our experience with the front desk and check out. We DID NOT even get an I'm sorry, or were working out it or anything!!!!!! Would definitely NOT recommend!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. That you embellished your review is unfortunate. Yes, the screen was torn and our staff should have caught that and yes the faucet was leaking, however, it was not leaking prior to your checking in. We have very hard water here in the mountains and this is one of the side effects. We would have immediately replaced the faucet had you advised us of any of these things prior to now. Had you made us aware of your disappointment in the cabin we would have happily upgraded you or given you a refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2017

My son and I stayed here for a week on a recent fishing trip. I almost didn't want to leave the cabin and head to the rivers and lakes. The cabin was fantastic. Such a beautiful setting...trees, birds, river, walking trails and even grills outside each cabin. Close to restaurants and shops. Good staff. Truly an amazingly good stay.

Room tip: The setting is fantastic!!!
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2017

So happy that your trip was such a success. Thanks for the kind words about our facility and staff. We work very hard to make every stay memorable. Come again anytime the fish are biting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2017

Our cabin perfectly named "Riverwalk" -- just step out our front door to the river and enjoy a nice walk along the river.
Private dead end street location, but an easy 3 block walk across the bridge and up the hill to the village.
Very comfy cabin -- king size bed, nicely furnished kitchen, great 48" HD TV, great for the ball game. Two excellent decks -- side deck with bar-b-que grill and forest view, front deck with river view. Central air and heat and everything you could want for a great vacation home. We did not want to leave, but will DEFINETLY return.

Room tip: Ask for the Riverwalk cabin
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2017

So happy that you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2016

I stayed at Whispering Pines for 5 days and it was overall a very good experience. The cabins are located in a beautiful setting, right on the side of a mountain, but everything is built on a mountain here. Cabin rentals are very popular in this area and they are everywhere but you do not feel crowded.

My cabin was the salmon run, it was a large studio type room with a kitchenette, one full bathroom. There was a queen or king sized bed, I can't remember and a sleeper sofa in the sitting area. There was also a fireplace which I used in June, it gets chilly at that elevation(about 6,000ft). There is a propane grill on the deck of each cabin, I grilled several times while here. The cabin was great and well taken care of, nothing super fancy but it never claims to be. Every type of accommodation is available in Ruidoso from luxury to campground.

The Whispering pine cabins are located adjacent to many hiking opportunities, a few minuets in the car will get you to several trailheads. There are a few hikes on well established trails a 10 min walk from the cabins. I can't remember the closest trailheads names but they were great hikes in the mountains and forest.

The city of Ruidoso is a tourist type small city with the commercial district running along two main roads, it is easy to get around with a car. There are many places to eat and shop all along the two main stretches, shouldn't be a problem finding anything you will need. The Mexican food is excellent, try anything with green chili.

I am from the east coast so I was blown away by the scenery of this area, totally unlike anything we have out east. It is an outdoorsy type of area catering to those type of activities. There is a huge casino about 15min away from Ruidoso if the weather is bad and you want to gamble.

Have Fun!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Andrewsyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2016

WOW! Great review. You really nailed who we are and what Ruidoso is about. Cabin living is indeed hard to find anymore, except in Ruidoso where it is thriving. All of our beds are kIngs as comfort is what we strive for. The full kitchens and kitchenettes also add to the overall cabin experience. Glad you used the grill. They are very popular year round. Thank you for finding us and if you are ever back this way please drop by!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2016

When we got to the cabin, it was in overall good shape, but we did notice one of the blinds were broken. Since the cabin was clean, we figured they knew about it, but a few days after we left they charged us $70 for something we did not do. We called them on the phone to sort the issue out, but they would not listen to us. They were rude, unreasonable, unprofessional, and even childish. They cussed us out and hung up on us. We will never give them our business, again, and we advise others to use caution if you chose to deal with them. Parking is also difficult. We stayed in the cabin called Coyote.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2016

It is unfortunate when folks with pets do not take responsibility for them when they do something unexpected. The fact that the custom wood blinds were JUST installed and that the chewed piece was still on the table and that you had a dog with you we had no choice but to charge for the blind. We travel with our dog constantly and once had to confess to the front desk that he chewed a stuffed animal they had in the room for a charity promotion. They thanked us for our honesty and did not charge us the $25 they were selling them for. We donated $25 to the charity. As for the remarks about how our staff spoke to you, you and we both know that there was foul language but not at any time from our side of the conversation. We never use profanity with anyone...ever. We have to chalk this up to the fact that we cannot make every single guest happy and after fifteen years and hundreds of thousands of guests this review will just have to be in that category.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews