We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location (we stayed in The Chalet).”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whispering Pine Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful location (we stayed in The Chalet).”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay with Whispering Pine Cabins, although we were in a different cabin this time. The only gripe we had was that the cabin we got had no A/C, but the 80 degree mountain air with cool breezes and chilly nights was a much welcome change from the desert of El Paso. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I would absolutely recommend these accommodations and look forward to staying there again. (And FYI, we were told that The Chalet will be getting an A/C. Even in the summer, though, we were comfortable without one).

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thanks for the great review. We appreciate your feedback on A/C which we have in 99% of our 65 rooms and cabins and are working to get it into Chalet. Fortunately the temps here are so cool that usually the fireplace is the preferred environmental controller. ;-) Come again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    62
    15
    8
    21
See reviews for
117
70
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Had a great weekend at the Whispering Pine cabins. Very clean cabins and grounds. Extremely friendly staff and management. Will stay here every visit to Sacramento Mountains. Had deer off the back porch every dusk/dawn. Had a bathroom light go out, was fixed immediately. Located in upper canyon of Ruidoso, makes it the perfect distance to mountain and downtown.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thanks for the kind words. We are always pleased when folks enjoy our lodge and the area in general. Come again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine,
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is our second time staying with Whispering Pines. We have stayed in River Way and Blue Spruce both cabins are great. Love love love going to Ruidoso and the cabin is always a welcome!! The River Way cabin is 2 bedroom and was perfect for me and my family. The Blue Spruce cabin is perfect for 2. My husband and I were the only ones at the Blue Spruce and it was great!!! And oh Whispering Pines are also pet friendly yay!!! Very clean and just great!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mklinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thanks for the great review. We have been hard at work preparing for the summer rush and reviews like this tell us that we are on the right track. Come again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We just returned from our stay at the Hughes Cabin in Ruidoso. When we first arrived, we noticed that the cabin was really warm but the area was experiencing a heat wave so we thought maybe it was just going to take a while for the cabin's air conditioner to cool it down especially since it was in the middle of the afternoon. It did not get better and we ended up calling to report the problem. We were told that someone would be by to come check on it. We didn't see anyone that evening and ended up sleeping with the windows open that night. We left the next morning to go on a hike and returned to find the air conditioner back on (we had turned it off) but still really warm. We assumed someone had come by to check on it. At this point, we're thinking we may need to switch to a different cabin. A little bit later,a nice man shows up and explains to us what the problem is and that he is going to get his electrician to fix it. Not too long after that, they both showed back up and had the air conditioner working! And for our inconvenience, they adjusted our bill a little bit! From that point on, our stay was wonderful.
Overall, we were very pleased. We loved the location of the cabin. It has a beautiful view and the open layout really suited our family. We enjoyed cooking all of our own meals in the well appointed kitchen or grilling out on the deck. The only complaint I have is that there were only 4 forks which wasn't enough for the six of us. :) I would recommend asking for some additional silverware if you need it. You are close by to everything Ruidoso has to offer--recreational, restaurants, and shopping.
I can't wait to return with our family!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for the kind review. Our Hughes cabin is a gem. Turns out that there were more forks in the cabin, but apparently they were not obvious. In Ruidoso there is only one A/C repair company and we were unable to get them out as quickly as we wanted, despite numerous phone calls. Sorry for the delay, it is not what we hope for when trouble arises. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Lofty Pines Cabin was set apart, and perfect for the four kids and the dog. It was clean, had a nice private hot tub that fit 6 comfortably and was close enough to town, yet just far away for wonderful star gazing nights!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJSCARPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed Lofty Pine. We strive to keep this historic cabins ambiance intact, while offering all the comforts and amenities that compliment any stay. Thank you and come again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Whispering Pines Cabins over the Memorial Day weekend.
We arrived around 6:30 in the evening after a long 9 hour drive but it was well worth the trip. Ruidoso is such a pretty little town in a mountain environment, lots of neat restaurants and shops to browse, outdoor adventures, and a couple of casinos very close by for those interested in that scene. We were greeted warmly at the office even though we arrived late in the day and all our questions were answered by a very nice young woman. The cabin we choose was Deer Run and we absolutely loved the cabin! I highly recommend this cabin if you are looking for a one or two bedroom cabin. The photos do not do it justice as it has new furnishings since the photos were taken for the website. The owners have decorated in good taste and have made it very comfy and homey feeling. The master bedroom is lovely with a mantled gas fireplace and huge bathroom with a large jetted tub. The 2nd bedroom though small is sufficient for children or another couple. The 2nd bathroom was a good size and has an oversized shower with a skylight (very nice). The dining area and living room have been decorated with a southwest flair. Dining table quite large and 2 sofas in the living room look new and are extremely comfortable. Kitchen was well stocked with utensils, pots & pans, bowls, nice set of dishes, wine glasses etc.. We loved the large deck and spent quite a bit of time out there. I filled the hummingbird feeder when we arrived and we had little hummers visit us the entire time there. Also there is a family of deer that came to graze and it was a pleasure to look forward to seeing them each day sometimes throughout the day. The cabin is set off the road on a small side street and although other cabins are on this dead end road the other cabins are set off to the side at a distance not tight together. There is ample privacy when sitting on the deck. The cabin was very clean, had plenty of towels, soap, dish towels, very well equipped. We would stay at Whispering Pines again without a doubt and choose Deer Run for sure. We thank Whispering Pines and the owners of Deer Run for such a lovely stay. I only wish it wasn't such a long distance away but I am certain we will return again.

Room Tip: Deer Run Cabin cabin we highly recommend as per our review. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Talula0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the cabin. We work very hard to make each stay memorable and enjoyable and so are pleased that we met that standard. Come again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful cabin and super spacious!! Owners were wonderful in assisting us in what we needed...very highly recommended!! Can't wait to go back!! You guys just gained new customers!! Thank you for everything and how to see you very soon!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
So glad that you stayed with us and found what we have to offer to your liking. Cabin stays are always so much more fulfilling than crowding everyone into a couple of motel rooms, so it is always nice to hear that we have made new friends! Come again anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
0.4 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
2.3 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
#2 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Upper Canyon Inn and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pine Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pine Cabins

Property: Whispering Pine Cabins
Address: 422 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345-7604
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruidoso New Mexico's Favorite Cabin Rentals Located in the Upper Canyon of Ruidoso in the tall Ponderosa Pine trees. Pet Friendly - King Beds - Hot Tubs - Whirlpools - Fireplaces - Ski Packages - Best Rates in Ruidoso. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whispering Pine Cabins Hotel Ruidoso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing