We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whispering Pine Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a great time staying in the Whispering Pine Cabins. We stayed in Riverway. Very clean and had everything we needed. The office is right across the street, so if you need anything, you can just pop right on over. Brad and his wife couldn't have been any nicer. You should know that this area is more like a suburb of cabins, as opposed to a cabin in the middle of the woods. One suggestion, if you have someone who will be sleeping on the pull out couch, bring an air mattress to place on top of the mattress as it is very uncomfortable (as are most couch bed mattresses). The mattresses in the actual bedrooms were great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tricia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for the kind words. We wish someone would invent a pull out for adults. They are great for the tiny people in our lives, but just not enough support for the rest of us. Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 250 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I went on a holiday to partake in the May bike rally. We chose to stay at whispering pine cabins because we really liked how all of their cabins looked. We stayed in the Lofty Pines cabin as it had a private hot tub, and boy was it great after a long day of riding. The cabin was perfect. It gave us the rustic cabin feeling we were looking for as so many places are like being in your own home anymore. The kitchen was a little on the smaller side, but was perfect for the two of us. Everything needed for cooking and eating is provided as well as plenty of towels and wash cloths. The managers were very nice and helpful and provided us with all the Information we needed to get around. We also loved sitting outside to enjoy the wildlife, we can't wait to go back next May.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thanks for the kind words. Lofty PIne is one of several truly classic cabins that we offer. The wonderfully "Rustic" appeal brings back memories of grandmas cabin, except for the beautiful hot tub, Wi-Fi, flat screen tv and gas grill! ;-) We look forward to seeing you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at Coronado cabin with our daughter and grandchildren from Alamorgrdo whilst on a visit from the UK.The cabin is in a great position high above Ruidoso but could benefit from a deep clean and the decking was becoming unsafe in places which was not ideal with small children and the deck furniture was also in need of a good clean before you could sit on it !!This is a shame as the cabin has a good internal layout and a fantastic view!!I understand the cabins are being upgraded so hopefully Coronado will soon be on the list.This said we had a lovely few days at Whispering Pine!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank dodgecat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thanks for the review. We took out time responding as we were concerned about your issues and wanted to review them completely. The cabin was recently deep cleaned and is being renovated. Some of the things needed have already been done, but you would not have known that. It's not always what you see, often it's what you don't. The deck does have a couple of springy boards, which we have reinforced. Thanks for the feedback there. You are right, overall the cabin is awesome, but upkeep is an ongoing exercise. Have a safe trip home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Its was are first time to ruidoso , We stayed in the Coyote Cabin , Was Very Nice and Clean , Staff was Nice , I would Highly Recommend Whispering Pines Canibs, Was such a Great Stay cant wait to come back :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 505Zia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for the kind words. We just finished renovating the kitchen and building the new deck so are glad to hear that you loved it. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We went visiting for Memorial Day and it was great. The room had a skunk intruder two days before our arrival. The staff took us into the cabin to make sure everything smelled allright. My wife and I couldn't even smell the skunk. The cabin was extremely clean, and the staff was fantastic. They are great about allowing your pets to stay with you. My cabin came with a two person whirlpool, and it's own propane grill, not to mention our own little grassy area with a small gazebo. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a nice place to relax for a few days.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. Our management team was very concerned that the odorous visitor may have spoiled the day, but clearly their efforts to clear the cabin of all woodsy smells was successful. We are so happy that you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to seeing you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My family and I stayed at Whispering Pines a few weekends ago and rented Cabin Fever. It was AMAZING! Seriously. Just nice inside. The bed was nice and comfy and it has a pull out couch which was perfect for our 4 year old. The cabin was spotless and had a very nice atmostophere. The kitchen was awesome to cook in, also. This cabin is perfect for small families. It was so conveneint that it was literally a minute walk to the river and a very short uphill walk to midtown. The managers were extremeley friendly and made sure if we had any problems to contact them. We had zero problems though. It was a very good stay and I'm positive we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. Our managers have been working extremely hard to make each and every stay as perfect as possible and we are so glad that they succeeded. We have recently reinvested heavily in cabin upgrades and staff training and it is paying off. We very much look forward to having you return to our little mountain paradise! .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a few days there for our annivesary. Not only was the room perfect, the managers were great. She went out of her way to make it even more romantic and special for us. The bed was so comfortable, we didnt want to leave....we have decided to stay there every year. This time we stayed in the "pinecone" it was perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scorpionstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you SO much for this wonderful review. This perfectly encapsulates how our new management is responding to our guests and how our renovations have impacted stays. We look forward to your return visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
0.4 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
2.3 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
3.8 mi away
Pinecliff Village
Pinecliff Village
#16 of 23 in Ruidoso
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Village Lodge
Village Lodge
#12 of 23 in Ruidoso
28 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#8 of 23 in Ruidoso
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Upper Canyon Inn and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pine Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pine Cabins

Address: 422 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345-7604
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Ruidoso
Price Range: $112 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whispering Pine Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruidoso New Mexico's Favorite Cabin Rentals Located in the Upper Canyon of Ruidoso in the tall Ponderosa Pine trees. Pet Friendly - King Beds - Hot Tubs - Whirlpools - Fireplaces - Ski Packages - Best Rates in Ruidoso. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Whispering Pine Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Pine Cabins Hotel Ruidoso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing