We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning Customer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whispering Pine Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have been going to Ruidoso for several years and a few years ago we decided to try Whispering Pines cabins and have been staying there ever since. We have stayed at the cabins by Main, which is convenient to town, nice cabins, clean, spacious plus they allow pets. Although we were happy they allow pets we were also apprehensive about it but the cabins have always been very clean, no pet smell or anything. We have just recently stayed at the Chalet and it was amazing! The cabin is extremely spacious, very "homey" feel with stunning views, please be sure to have chains if the roads are icy(since it is on a very "hilly" road). Overall we have loved our stay at each of the cabins we have been in and we really enjoy the service from the owners/staff, they are a huge part of why we return to them each year as well. I have recommended Whispering Pines to everyone :)

Room Tip: The Chalet has stunning views and extremely large, perfect for multiple families but take chains if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

So glad you enjoyed the Chalet. It is one of our premium properties and we also love it. Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 247 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Hughes Cabin Jan. 1-5. The cabin was just beautiful, roomy, comfortable, and very clean. The owners were extremely helpful when we had trouble finding the cabin. They came out at night and drove us to the cabin.
The only regret is that I didn't know how isolated we would be. The website says it's just a mile from downtown, and it is, but that mile is quite difficult...a very steep hill. We had to have chains to get up and down it, and the thought of driving down it on ice was terrifying. It snowed all day one of the days we were there, and we were trapped in the cabin because we didn't think we could drive down the icy hill. It wasn't bad being snowed in, but two days of it, and we would have considered our vacation a waste. We could only go skiing one day instead of two.
We also couldn't walk around Ruidoso at night and see the beautiful Christmas lights, ride the horse-drawn sleigh, go out to dinner, etc., because we were afraid we wouldn't be able to get back to the cabin if we stayed out after dark.
I would recommend Hughes if you have a 4-wheel drive vehicle and like isolation. If you want easy access to the town, stay in a cabin on Main!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VBigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thanks for staying with us. The Hugh's cabin is a spectacular place, but your right, the trade off is the hill one has to navigate to get there. If we did not advise the need for chains then we apologize. It is our policy to inform all guests of the need to be prepared for the weather here, especially in the winter. If we neglected to do that then we are truly sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed in Moutain View Cabin. It was a pretty spacy cabin and actually very clean. I had a great experience over there. The only complain I may have are in the sofa beds where felt the spings all night. Everything else was just fine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRLozano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Mountain View Cabin. I am sorry you didn't use the auto inflating air mattresses to top the sleeper sofas. They are stored in the large open closet off the master bedroom. We hope to see you on your next visit to Ruidoso!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend, we usually like making eggs in the morning, However the small cabin we stayed at wasn't equipped with a hot plate... The staff went out of their way to go buy us one and deliver it promptly before our first morning there... It was a wonderful surprise! Clean and equipped with basics, firewood was a little far to get to, but not a problem at all. Great weather while we were there and beautiful wild life!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viridiana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Great to hear from guests like you who appreciate the level of service that we endeavor to attain. So glad that you enjoyed your stay. Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My family and I stay at Whispering Pine Cabins a couple of times a year. We absolutely love it there. We have rented most of the cabins that they have to offer, as we have also held family reunions there. We especially love how all of the cabins have a rustic feeling to them, and actually feel like a cabin and not a house or a hotel. We have always been treated very well at Whispering Pine Cabins, and have always had all of our needs satisfied. We have had a couple of incidents where the coffee maker and hair dryer quit working, but within 10 mins we had a brand new one brought to our cabin. We have also been there when the power has been out, and when approached the managers had already called the utility company so they could let their guests know what to expect. Being a little further up in the Upper Canyon we get the joy of seeing bears as well as the deer walk right in front of our cabin. They also have a nice gazebo next to the office that you can go sit and relax in, as well as a hot tub.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for the kind words! Repeat guests are a testament to how cool Whispering Pine Cabins really is. We love it here and are not surprised when others share our appreciation of the Upper Canyon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Gail and I have stayed at Whispering Pines for "many moons" and we have always enjoyed our sleep overs! This year we celebrated our wedding anniversary in May 2012 at the WP.

Then in October 2012 we divided our time between the WP and Shadow Mountain. We had loads of fun at both places!!

At WP, we soaked up rustic seclusion and mountain atmosphere. At SM, we enjoyed the evening "wine tasting" and quiet walks along the Rio Ruidoso.The weather was perfect and so were the rooms/cabins.

Thank You Chuck & Marilyn!!

New Mexico's Best Innkeepers!!

Room Tip: Ask for the walking map along The Rio Ruidoso!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelRio_TexasBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Great guests become great friends! We love this business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent 3 days in the cabin Aspen. The beds were comfortable and clean. It is a one room effeciency with small fridge and microwave. All kitchen utensils were provided. I has a small deck on the back that is private and the deer come close enough you can touch them. We hand fed a doe and 3 of her babies in front of the cabin. That was just unbelievable. We were there 10-23rd- Off season .We payed for two nights and got the third night free which was a treat!! We cooked steaks out on the grill one night. We ate outside on the picnic table as there is no table to eat on in the cabin. We took our 2 small dogs with us and they loved smelling around all of the grounds. We have not complaints and will definately go back next time we go to Ruidoso.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littlered4435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

We are so glad that you experience the Upper Canyon the way it is meant to be experienced. We recently renovated our cabins and are very glad when folks like you stay with us and appreciate everything Whispering Pine has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
0.4 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
231 reviews
2.3 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Village Lodge
Village Lodge
#11 of 23 in Ruidoso
28 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apache Village Cabins
Apache Village Cabins
#30 of 42 in Ruidoso
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Upper Canyon Inn and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pine Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pine Cabins

Address: 422 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345-7604
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Ruidoso
Price Range: $169 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whispering Pine Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruidoso New Mexico's Favorite Cabin Rentals Located in the Upper Canyon of Ruidoso in the tall Ponderosa Pine trees. Pet Friendly - King Beds - Hot Tubs - Whirlpools - Fireplaces - Ski Packages - Best Rates in Ruidoso. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Whispering Pine Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Pine Cabins Hotel Ruidoso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing