We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

Lucy's Mexicali Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 88 Restaurants in Ruidoso
Restaurant details
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I went to Lucy's last week for lunch excited to have a margarita. I discovered Lucy's about 4 years ago but it was not at all like it was a few years ago. The prices are sky high and the service was terrible. We were disappointed :(
The flavored margarita list has changed and does not have as many options as it did in the beginning but the Pink Cadillac was still a very good choice. Just understand the sign out front that says $5 margaritas really doesn't mean all the margaritas just one margarita they just don't mention that. We placed our order for 2 margaritas and 3 burgers. We decided to start with some queso, it took a long time for the chips and hot sauce to make it to the table and we had given up on the queso when it finally arrived. The queso really seemed to be cheddar cheese and green chili's, no flavor. The hot sauce was more tomato pasty and quite hot, not very good. The burgers were good however they just took forever to get to the table. We spent a couple of hours in there mainly waiting on service. When the bill came we were again disappointed, 2 margaritas, 3 burgers and a cup of queso cost $60. A little too much in my mind for some hamburgers. We won't be going back. This used to be a great place to eat but not anymore.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bapplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    17
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Good service! Excellent food! Best green chile you can get! Cold drinks! What else can you ask for?!?!?!?!

Helpful?
Thank texas79119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“MARGARITAS”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

YUMMY. That's all I have to say is yummy. Authentic food--good and friendly staff and fully stocked bar.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 73Love2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love Green Chili!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The original Lucy's in Carsbad is better. However, they have good SW New Mexican cuisine don't expect TexMex. Try anything with the green chili and you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulverde, Tx
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Waste of Money”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This place serves frozen, nuked crappy versions of Mexican food. It was GROSS! Do not Eat there! There are many other places to eat.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rgvshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucy's Mexicali Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lucy's Mexicali Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing