We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian Food Around”

Michael J's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 90 Restaurants in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Michael J's is a collaborative effort between many friends and food lovers from around the globe. We can say that because we appreciate so many sources and learn all the time about what makes a restaurant truly successful. We strive to serve excellent food accompanied by fine wine to go with our offerings. We do NOT serve PIZZA!
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We spent the weekend catching a little R & R. Some friends of ours live in Ruidoso and took us here on Thursday night. They highly recommend getting reservations and that is probably the smart move anyway. We had a party of 8 and were seated as we did have reservations. We had some our drinks and snacked on the bread they serve while waiting on others to arrive. I ordered the special which was the Ravioli. It was three cheese with basil and spinach and it was just awesome. My wife ordered the Chicken Parmigiana and it came with two very large chicken breasts instead of just one. She had a great house salad and I had a cup of minestrone soup instead of the salad. The salad and the soup were excellent. We tried the scallops that someone else had ordered and they were also great. We were also able to sample the risotto and it was just perfect. We will be back every time we are in town for this great Italian food. Give it a try, you will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ringman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 219 of 272 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

Went to dinner with a large family and was expecting a good restaurant because of the many good reviews. But when we went to the restaurant they did not seem happy to see us even though we made reservations. The portions were small, expensive, and most of the group did not like the food. For the price one would expect that the tables were in nice order, but we seemed to get the tables that moved all over the place with the slightest touch. The waitress was also very inattentive, and we were left for long periods when we did need something. Overall experience was disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusannaJade, General Manager at Michael J's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

It just goes to show, you can't please all of the people all of the time. We do our best to make each and every guest happy and appreciated. We are sorry you did not have this experience. Best to you...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our second time eating here and without a question one of our favorite in Ruidoso. Of course there are still a number of restaurants here we have not yet tried. We had made a reservation so were seated almost immediately. Our waitress Nina was very very friendly and gave us excellent service. I had the house special Lasagna $15.95 and my spouse had the Pork Medallions $18.95. Both meals were excellent and well prepared/presented. We ordered a bottle of red wine which they were out of and they provided us a more expensive bottle at the lower price. The restaurant has a vey nice casual atmosphere and pleasant outdoor seating. There is free parking available but the lot is small and you may have to park on the street with a short walk.

Recommend make a reservation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CDM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I ate on a Saturday night, the weather was perfect to eat on the patio, which has great lighting and atmosphere. Pretty standard Italian fare, but was prepared wonderfully. Good wine and beer list, but no liquor. Excellent service. The manager/owner was making rounds, picking up plates, etc. - says a lot about them. Will return!

Thank kkuriyama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

My family has a house in Ruidoso, and we visit often. We have loved this restaurant in the past and try to eat here when we are in town. We stopped in for dinner and drinks and noticed a table available on the patio. We asked if we could sit there since there was no one waiting in front of us. The owner said we could have it if the person who came in AFTER us turned it down. He called this customer by name. I was offended to say the least. All he had to say was that it was reserved. How rude to phrase it in that way. He made his point that we were not important customers to him. We took our business elsewhere, which I'm sure he doesn't care about. I would strongly suggest trying a different restaurant if you are not a local.

4  Thank Tys0n2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusannaJade, Owner at Michael J's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Offended. We are sorry you feel this way. We did offer you the table if the reservation decided not to take it, but our words were misunderstood evidently. We are a small restaurant with limited seating so we save tables for the reservations first then we can give other tables to other guests after that. As it turned out the reservation decided not to take that outdoor table and within minutes you could have sat there for your drinks and dinner. We apologize for the confusion and that we offended you with our explanation. Best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Michael J's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing