We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but pricey ”

Michael J's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 88 Restaurants in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Michael J's is a collaborative effort between many friends and food lovers from around the globe. We can say that because we appreciate so many sources and learn all the time about what makes a restaurant truly successful. We strive to serve excellent food accompanied by fine wine to go with our offerings. We do NOT serve PIZZA!
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey ”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I ate here for dinner and although the food was good & the staff was friendly, the food was a bit pricey. We agreed that our meals were over priced for what we received. The restaurant itself was very nice inside and clean.

Helpful?
3 Thank Villanuevabunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    41
    17
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherman, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Italian find!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stumbled upon Michael's last July when we were in Ruidoso. My husband had lived here years ago and used to get his hair cut at this location. We were starving and our party of 5 could all agree on Italian food. The food was absolutely delicious! The atmosphere was cozy and we were very pleasantly surprised at the service, food, and ambiance! We are so hoping it is still there when we go back to Ruidoso in July 2014!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kayhugghins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, atmosphere”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We ate at Michael J's based on the good reviews on Trip Advisor, and we were NOT disappointed! I absolutely loved the look of the restaurant inside, and the food was so good, our entire family of 4 ate every single bite of everything we had. The Caesar salad dressing is awesome and the marinara sauce (assuming it is the same on each) on the lasagna, kid spaghetti, and chicken Parmesan was very flavorful and tasty. We shared the chocolate torte for dessert, and that was awesome as well. I would eat there again in a heartbeat and will recommend to family members that lives nearby.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rford5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow...just wow!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Everybody, try this restaurant. I have traveled a lot and dined in some of the best restaurants, and this one ranks close to the top of my top 10. Superb menu, try the veal marsala...to die for! An excellent selection of wines from around the globe adds a terrific complement to any meal. End the dinner with a cannoli or chocolate tort, married with a fine port and you will leave feeling well-fed, well-served and very, very relaxed. Owner Michael J greeted us at the podium and personally checked every table to ensure customer satisfaction. Now THAT is how you run a successful restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loud”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The food was tasty and the service excellent both times came with friends
But, both times we were yelling at each other to hear each other.
Sadly we did not get to visit with our friends.
Please do something about your sound problem before I will come back
We live Joey at the bar!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BSM56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael J's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Michael J's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing